We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, easy to reach by car, what is of great value in Varansi if you want to stay on Ganges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Varanasi
Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, easy to reach by car, what is of great value in Varansi if you want to stay on Ganges”
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Good hotel, with nice roof top views. The best thing about it is the location. Hotel is on the Ganges, but at the same time taxis can come quite close and you don't have to find your way in the narrow labyrinths as in Varanasi old town. It is quite far from the center, but for us it was no problem at all. We took boat rides in the morning and evening, and also rickshaws to move around. Some places of the great importance are in few minutes walk from the hotel, such like the Temple where Tulsi Das was translating Ramayana.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shiurpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    123
    39
    12
    7
See reviews for
61
72
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We stayed here for four nights and found the hotel to be in a great location with stunning views of the Ganga. The upstairs restaurant serves excellent food and commands top class Ganges views. We were particularly impressed with the quality and cleanliness of preparation and presentation of food as well as flavour and freshness. The beds were very comfortable, rooms spotless and there's a range from very affordable to luxury. Some rooms have been very recently renovated. There is morning yoga class, massage service (recommended) and resident 85 year old "local scholar" - who can talk with you about the history of Varanasi to world affairs. In particular, we would like to commend the very friendly, sincere and helpful staff of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spirity_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

I moved here after a horrible stay at another guest house in Varanasi. I looked at a few places before settling at Hotel Temple. I liked the fact that it was out of the old city which I found to be too busy and congested. Hotel Temple is located at Assi Ghat which is nice and more low key then the main ghats. Hotel Temple has really nice views, is clean, spacious and modestly but nicely decorated. The food at the restaurant was decent and I ate many meals there. The staff was friendly and helpful. If you want good value out of the chaos of old city this is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lil_shaked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

I did many visit at this hotel, and was always happy! The room are nice and with balcony with ganges view, amazing. They have good and cheap food on amazing terasse. The staff is helpful, but need alot of reminding the price they told you, sometimes an extra of 50 rupees apear! The manager is a nice person!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeevan38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

The Temple on Ganges Hotel on Assi Ghat gets all thumbs up. Very helpful staff. Suggest a room facing the river with a shared balcony. We really liked Assi Ghat as a whole, which has a great activity level without the craziness of the areas to the north.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dave_tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

This is a terrible place to stay and will spoil your entire trip. The location is good and the view is nice. Assi Ghat is very far from the centre of activities in Varanasi. So you have to spend quite a lot on transportation going up and down from your hotel. The hotel staff are terrible. The most non-cooperative I have ever come across. I was promised a river view room on booking and forced into a stable view one on arrival. The food is horrible. The hotel gets a lot of foreigners and they happily put up to all the trash, may be taking them as Indian mysticism. I had given my clothes or laundry and I had to go down and identiy mine from a heap o washed clothes. They had no way to identify which belonged to which room. Unbelievable! Do not go by the advertisements for Yoga. One of he waiters do some mumbo-jumbo in the morning which th eforeigners happily lap up. In one word- Stay away from this place if you want a good Varanasi trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShomikRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

This is a great place by Varanasi Standards. The rooms are basic but they are clean. They have clean beds, Aircon, Hot Water but no TV or Fridge. They also have windows and a balcony to sit and watch the Ganges. Compared with other hotels in Varansi this place is a gem.
Its location at Assi Ghat is great. You are at the start of the boat trips down the river so you can get up early and negotiate a good price with the boatmen down at the Ghat. Also its away from the hassle and narrow streets of the Old Town but only a 30-40 min walk to the old town along the river. And the walk is facinating passing many pilgrimes and a cremation ghat.
Staff were friendly here and do not push or try to sell. They have internet access though you wont need it as there are lots of internet cafes in the area. The big plus here is the view from the rooms and its location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JojoCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 74 in Varanasi
1,172 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 74 in Varanasi
256 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 74 in Varanasi
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 74 in Varanasi
253 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
0.4 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#13 of 74 in Varanasi
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Temple on Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Temple on Ganges

Property: Hotel Temple on Ganges
Address: Assi Ghat | Assi Ghat Road, Varanasi 221005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Temple on Ganges 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a well esteemed hotel known specially for our excellent location on the bank of river Ganges and good hospitality services.We have an excellent multicuisine Vegetarian restaurant on the terrace with panoramic view of river Ganges and ghats, Free WiFi zone,Forex desk,travels counter and at door all vehicles accessible and parking facility.There are five different categories of rooms (with and without view) available to book online and directly with us also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Temple on Ganges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing