We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel at very affordable prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Away from the noise and dust of city, all modern aminities and excellent dinner at restaurents. Worth value for money. A mall just close by can give you light food and an option to pass leisure time. Pool is maintained well. It is advisable to take a auto rikshaw to travel thru the city while hire a cab for Sarnath.

Room Tip: upper floors facing pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjeev_sharma68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

First of all. In varanasi, after a dirty day, after chaos, you need a relaxing western standard hotel.
Ramada has western standard rooms but also some negative points.

Negative points.

1)Reception staff is absolutely rude and unable to understand you.

Listen to me, in varanasi you need somebody able to speak your language.

We asked for a taxi reservation. They confirmed. But didn't do it.
We asked for late check out.
They confirmed. They asked us standard check out.
We asked for a car at 5,50.
They understood wake up alarm at 5,50.

2)Restaurant higiene standard is really low. I had food in both restaurant, the continental and the chinese. Chinese is ok.
But in the Continental they put fork&knife over the dirty table.
No table mat.

Important tip.
Te Hotel provides car service. It costs more than 1000 rupies for a driver at your disposal for 3/4 hours. If you just walk outside the hotel, you'll get the same service for 500 rupies and he can drive you to the airport.

Resumig; at this price there are better solutions than this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcoferra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel was a blessing after we survived the crowd, sound, smell and dust of Varanasi. The ambiance was pleasant and with such a vast foyer the hotel was indeed inviting. Food was not great at the buffet but the 2 other restaurants served excellent food on ala-carte

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front garden and swimming pool are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravi311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is located on a large property away from the noise of cars. Next to the hotel is a mall that is a very small version of western malls and contains a few active retailers as well as McDonalds (no beef items are served of course). It is easy to get a tuk-tuk or rickshaw on the street in front of the hotel property if you are doing some independent touring.
The hotel lobby is modern and nicely decorated, but a little dark. As usual, we were greeted with a beverage - this time it was room temperature Coca Cola! Our room was not ready when we arrived, which was about 1pm, so we went and sat by the pool. The pool is small but clean with comfortable lounging chairs. In this same area is the gym, which we didn't try out. The only draw back to the pool is that next door is a construction site. Next we checked out the lunch buffet which appeared quite popular, but was one of the worst meals we had during our holiday. The lunch buffet offered mainly Indian dishes which was okay because we were into trying the local cuisine. The main problems were the food was only luke warm and not very tasty. The one Western dish that we tried was Linguine which was visibly drying out and was barely luke warm. Not a lunch restaurant option we were willing to give a second try. The breakfast buffet was included with our room and was at the same restaurant. Again, the meal was not great - there were dry pastry items, the pancakes were not hot and the maple syrup was not replenished even when the request was made! The hotel restaurant that we did enjoy was the one with Chinese food - the food was hot and tasty with a little Indian spice twist!! Service was slow, but we weren't in a rush.
We had two rooms on the Club floor which were nicely decorated and had comfortable mattresses and pillows. The bathroom was well supplied with clean white towels and the usual small toiletries. We are not sure why the 5th floor is called a Club floor as there was never anyone sitting at the Club desk and no Happy Hour appetizers in the Club Lounge. The Club Lounge was an uninviting room with chairs and a TV. The only reason anyone would ever venture in there was to access the free Wi-fi - which did not work well. The interesting twist to our stay on the "Club Floor" was that on return from a morning of touring we were greeted by about 5 armed guards dressed in military garb standing two steps away from our doors. After making an inquiring phone call to the front desk we found out that there was a government minister staying on our wing for the day! We kind of felt abandoned at the end of the day when they left (LOL) but it would have been nice if the hotel would have given us a heads up, especially since they had guns!!
The Toxic Lounge on the main floor was unremarkable - a little too dark for me as an afternoon spot to relax.
There are shops in the main lobby that carry pashminas, rugs, as well as small gift items.

Room Tip: Don't expect any extras if you stay on the Club Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnotherAdventure_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I accompanied my mother on her pilgrimage to Varanasi in October, 2012. We stayed at Ramada. The hotel is clean and beautiful and the staff is professional. My mom had several dietary preferences and restrictions and the Chef and the service staff at the India restaurant , Tadka, did not hesitate to accommodate our requests. The food was healthy and non-greasy. I am not so sure I trust their travel office though.

But overall, in a city of grime, filth and the least spiritual pan chewing priests who fleece you for 'dakshina' , this place offers solace. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sun_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is typical of large hotel chains, in that there is not much charm about it, but having said that it was comfortable and the service was good. It is also close to all the areas that one would want to visit, so from that point of view very convenient. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tayjers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

As with most big chain hotels, there is not much charm to the Ramada in Varanasi but the hotel is nice enough, especially comparing to other places. Our room was spacious and very nice and also they offered complimentary laundry on four pieces. Breakfast was included and the selection was nice. The pool area is ok enough and the gym is decent. Food in the restaurant is not the best but better than average for Varanasi. I think the hotel is decent for the price that it is, it is clean and very confortable. The location is on the cantonment, where most hotels are (as opposed to guest houses in the Ganges area) so if you chose to stay in a hotel, there is no way to escape the cantonment really. And it is not a bad idea given how hectic the city is (we were two girls travelling). I saw other hotels in Varanasi (had to stay one night at the Gateway) and I thought the Ramada compares favourably. On the downside, the wifi internet is a joke, even in the Club Lounge, sitting right under the router, it would not work properly. We tried to get a guide using the hotel, and the tour desk is a joke, a complete rip off.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sissi2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 80 in Varanasi
1,507 reviews
3 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 80 in Varanasi
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#7 of 80 in Varanasi
684 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#10 of 80 in Varanasi
513 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi

Address: JHV Mall Complex, The Mall Road | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Varanasi
#3 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range: $76 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza JHV, a luxury hotel in Varanasi redefines hospitality beyond boundaries. Stylish spaces coupled with discreet luxury and impeccable service renders this Varanasi hotel a unique flavor. Lined with handpicked contemporary art throughout the public and private spaces and natural surroundings ensures a seamless blend of the rich culture of this rustic yet vibrant city with elevated standard of style, design and decor. State-of-the-art technology and amenities for commerce, leisure and relaxation makes the Ramada Plaza JHV hotel an ideal choice for guests seeking accommodation in Varanasi. The luxury rooms & suites are models of personal touch and superior amenities and services. Access to indulgent restaurants with world cuisine and Indian speciality restaurant, a day gym, spa and salon and spacious banquet rooms guarantee a gamut of innovative and inspired moments of celebration. The adjoining JHV shopping mall extends the freedom of options to multiplex, shopping & dine out with all time favourites like McDonald's & Pizza Hut. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Jhv Varanasi Hotel Varanasi
Ramada Hotel Varanasi
Ramada Varanasi
Varanasi Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing