We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, once you get there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ganpati Guest House
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A great hotel, nice clean rooms. Bathrooms a bit cramped, though. Rooftop restaurant is beautiful and most food fairly good, but not great. Very helpful staff.

The only caveat is getting there as no cars are allowed past a certain point and no cycle rickshaws either. So it is a bit of a walk (about 10 minutes). The hotel staff are helpful with luggage, etc.

In the early AM (the time we arrived) you have to pick your way through cow dung and garbage from the night before. I live in India, so I'm used to it, but for a new visitor it can be a bit off-putting.

Still, once you arrive it is very nice.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and you can get a Ganga view room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sraisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,103)
There are newer reviews for Ganpati Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

992 - 998 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very good service, excellent location, nice and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms (stayed in homestay just 1 minute walk from Guesthouse). good restaurant. The only cons - not the cheapest in India.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarolinaKatarzyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very well located with an access to the ghats and the old city. Very colourfull and clean. People are very nice and you can enjoy a breackfast on the rooftop. My room had a view on the river and the south of the city. The only desavantage is that you can hear the conversation from the room nextdoor.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Metissababou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Ideally located between Dashaswamedh Ghat (main action) and Manikarnika Ghat (cremations), Ganpati Guest House boasts a nice rooftop with perfect views, welcoming and helpful staff, spacious and clean rooms, alongside with good food and portions (restaurant on the rooftop!). There is plenty of space if you want to hang out in the patio, relax on the rooftop and enjoy the view, or meet other backpackers (there are balconies that go all around the building on 2 floors with direct view on River Ganga, you can access them anytime). Rooms with river views recommended, good value for a little more space and shower, well decorated. Staff is always here to accommodate your needs with a smile (pickup from airport, dropoff at station, car to Sarnath, boat in the morning...).
To be noted, when you arrive you in Varanasi you will probably have to walk a good 10mins from the closest drop-off point (if you come by car) to the final destination to the Ghat - cars/tuk-tuks not allowed after a certain point - in any case someone will be there to welcome you and help with bags if needed.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view (10,12,19...)
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveloliv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place is very popular among trotters. And I understand why, it's a very clean place with nice rooms. The view from the rooftop restaurant is amazing. The staff is very friendly as well, especially the people that work at the reception. They help you with all kinds of things (to find a way to reach your next destination, to find a place to stay in an other city, to find a nice yoga place...). The food was good and hygienic but not that special.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lievedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We ate most of our meals on the rooftop restaurant - you can't beat those views! It was a cool place with a lot of personality and a good value for the cheap price. Our only complaint was the noise - we were on the ground floor and you could hear everything in the courtyard. We enjoyed our stay though and i'll go back if I ever find myself in Varanasi again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I think you can tell the quality of a place by 1) the amount of repeat customers & 2) how clean the place is. Judging by how many people stay here year after year, and how spotless this place is... I think it's a very good indicator of the quality. I think Ganpati Guest House is Excellent.
My bedroom was the best room i've ever stayed at- beautiful blue walls with carved wooden shutters and a priceless view over the Ganges as the sun rises. I could lie in bed and just watch the Ganges all day. Fabulous value at 700R.
Staff are great, friendly, accommodating; the place is spotless and being constantly cleaned.
And I met people who come back here time and time again. As will I. Thankyou Ganpati for a great stay in Varanasi.

Room Tip: Ganges view!!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
306 reviews
1.0 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
0.6 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#16 of 79 in Varanasi
256 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#15 of 79 in Varanasi
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganpati Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganpati Guest House

Address: D 3/24 Meer Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: $24 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganpati Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Ganpati Guest House - if you stay here, we are sure that you will have a good time in Varanasi. Of course the view of the beautiful river Ganges is amazing and exotic. Many people who come to Varanasi stay with us in the Ganpati Guest House. The staff are very kind and have a good spirit. We look forward to meeting you and hope beautiful time in Varanasi. The history of Ganpati Guest House: The Ganpati is located at the east end of the Mother Ganges in Varanasi, makes its presence known throughout the riverbanks not only by shining the world's oldest culture as well as oldest city. A city of light...but also by offering cutting-edge restaurants, renowned facilities, amazing view and comfortable accommodations. This 3-story Redstone pyramid was built in 1905 on the river Ganges, contains so many amenities on such an enormous scale that it's becomes practically amazing vacation. Spacious rooms surrounded by the plants, which boasts your staying, dining and entertainment. The Garden, at more than 1000 square feet, is one of Varanasi's oldest existing buildings and rarely available, offering a tranquil sitting, an array of nice music, a rack of books nearby. We want to deliver inside of the property a best atmosphere. We're trying to become a little more contemporary and appeal to all age crowds with holy feelings. We want to offer the best entertainment, dining, staying and relax without insulting the worth of your damage. That's not to say that "The city of Light" will be memorable entire the life. It is, after all, still a part of what makes the property unique, and explained that the hotel is prepared to keep the better executed elements of the riverbank-culture theme. Kind regards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ganpati Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganpati Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing