We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ganpati Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ganpati Guest House
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2007

I was unimpressed to find that the room wthich I had booked with Ganges view didn't in fact have a window. When I showed the email showing the booking referring specifically to Ganges view and the agreed price, it made no difference, and the guy couldn't have cared less, and even got aggressive. A couple who arrived shortly afterwards were also told that their room with river view didn't have a window. They were eventually "upgraded" to a room with window at extra cost. The room which I was shown was grotty and characterless (as well as dark!), and not what I was expecting (even if there had been a window). One problem I found was that the road ends at least half a kilometer from the river, and I wouldn't have been able to get my case back through the maze of alleyways and past the cows, goats, cowpats etc to get back to the main stretch. Because of this, I ended up staying at the Alka next door. The Alka was not what I would call comfortable, although it had a great location, the room had a window, and the staff couldn't have been nicer. I loved Varanasi and am pleased I went, but if I return I would definitely stay at one of the more comfortable hotels a little further from the river.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
Helpful?
2 Thank H0llyDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    742
    135
    39
    42
See reviews for
200
762
323
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2007

Ganpati Guest House was a great place to stay. It is located on Mir Ghat, directly over the steps leading into the Ganges. The room that I had (for 6 days) was basic, but clean and comfortable.
The in-house cafe had very good and clean food. It is VERY inexpensive; for 6 nights with a room that had a private bathroom-shower, private balcony overlooking the Ganges, and almost all my meals, soft drinks and bottled water, the total bill came out to the equivalent of $152.00USD!!
If you want a place to sit on the balcony or roof, relax, read, and/or just stare at the great river flowing off into Infinity, Ganpati can't be beat. Recommended.
Esteban Robles
U.S.A.

Helpful?
6 Thank Bachguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2007

This was our favourite hotel in India. It was clean, had friendly staff, good facilities, good food, great views and a superb location, very close to the main ghat.

There was a really nice ambience about the place too. We got a double room with balcony and ganges view for around Rs 650 and booked through hostelworld.com.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank melf31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2007

This guest house was a quirk in what it offered. A washed out mansion look with a great rooftop view. The staff were friendly making us feel relaxed. The food was top of the class and there were great chances to interact with guests. We really loved it here.

  • Liked — Staff were good.
  • Disliked — No real complaints.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Der-minator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sendai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

GOOD! 
good location, good staff, good foods. all people who works in there are kind so much! i wanna come again for sure.and its very beautiful Ganger View! ! check it out!

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tomoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

We have switched different guesthouses in the tripbook and this is THE BEST. Has the best view, best location over looking Ganga and also close to mot of the places u want go in varanasi.

This places has a persernal touch to it with a freidnly owner.

You cannot miss this place when u visit!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raydesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
2.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
0.3 mi away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#20 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganpati Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganpati Guest House

Property: Ganpati Guest House
Address: D 3/24 Meer Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganpati Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Ganpati Guest House - if you stay here, we are sure that you will have a good time in Varanasi. Of course the view of the beautiful river Ganges is amazing and exotic. Many people who come to Varanasi stay with us in the Ganpati Guest House. The staff are very kind and have a good spirit. We look forward to meeting you and hope beautiful time in Varanasi. The history of Ganpati Guest House: The Ganpati is located at the east end of the Mother Ganges in Varanasi, makes its presence known throughout the riverbanks not only by shining the world's oldest culture as well as oldest city. A city of light...but also by offering cutting-edge restaurants, renowned facilities, amazing view and comfortable accommodations. This 3-story Redstone pyramid was built in 1905 on the river Ganges, contains so many amenities on such an enormous scale that it's becomes practically amazing vacation. Spacious rooms surrounded by the plants, which boasts your staying, dining and entertainment. The Garden, at more than 1000 square feet, is one of Varanasi's oldest existing buildings and rarely available, offering a tranquil sitting, an array of nice music, a rack of books nearby. We want to deliver inside of the property a best atmosphere. We're trying to become a little more contemporary and appeal to all age crowds with holy feelings. We want to offer the best entertainment, dining, staying and relax without insulting the worth of your damage. That's not to say that "The city of Light" will be memorable entire the life. It is, after all, still a part of what makes the property unique, and explained that the hotel is prepared to keep the better executed elements of the riverbank-culture theme. Kind regards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Ganpati Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganpati Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing