We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“personal impressions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed July 18, 2013

In February, 2013 my wife and I stayed for four days as part of Craig Bell's group Tour to Varanasi and the Kumbh Mela in Allahbad. The staff was warm and inviting, understood English well, and was responsive to our every need!! This is one good place to stay when you are tired and need to have some comfort and quiet!! The room was comfortable and the hot water shower worked very well.
It is right on the Ganges River, and it affords a beautiful view,especially from the
Rooftop, where you can eat in comfort. It is like being in a little oasis on the River!

Room Tip: Rooms tend to be a little small, and larger ones are more expensive, but if you don't need a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_j_bess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 718 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had an excellent late-lunch there with great food and perfect service. The waiter-staff was so welcoming and pleasurably served us. It is located at the feet of the Ganges and has one of the best views.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s0fita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food,Great view of river Ganga from rooms !
Just love this hotel for its location.
Just 1 min walk to the Ganga.
Very well decorated and furnished rooms,it has very good roof top restaurant with a variety of delicious food,very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeus1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

stayed here several times. Yes, rooms are small, electricity can be unreliable, there R a lot of stairs and the location is not extremely quiet but this is the standard for all accommodations along the Ganges and in the old city of Varanasi. Having said this, Rashmi provides excellent service and value for your money all things considered. You won't do better than this. The staff are extremely helpful and the food in the restaurant is very good, hygienic and service is good. If you visit Varanasi give this place a try.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zac3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A rickety fan threatens to fall on my brother and I any second. We had a tv, but no wires, cable box, nothing. Useless. The a/c, if left on, will short circuit and you have to wait 10-15 mins before turning it on again, unless you use only mild a/c. One night, my brother turned on his bed reading light and the light bulb exploded, filament out and burning hot bulb leaving a burn mark on his sheets. Fortunately, he was up when it exploded, not on his bed where serious injury could have occurred. Hot water heater didn't work, but luckily we were there during the monsoon season so it didn't matter much anyways. The faucet handles are turned different ways to reach full blast or off, and it also needs to be turned further than expected --after washing my clothes in the faucet I figured the couple of drips would soon go off as they were slowly subsiding. Well, I was wrong because it kept dripping while I ate dinner and flooded the bathroom. After asking the front desk for Wi-fi, we were told they were fixing it, or something like that. No in-room wifi but it works if you sit next to the front desk all the way on the ground floor. I know the afore seem like good enough reasons to avoid it, but there's more. Right next door is a unesco world heritage site containing astronomical instruments, sundials, etc. created in the mid 1600's. Unfortunately, most instruments have been deemed useless by the inappropriate guesthouse. The ones that do work only work at certain times of day when the bulky rashmi guesthouse's shadow is not cast over it. One reason the hotel was built and has not yet been destroyed is because it is owned by and funds the local mafia. I don't usually write reviews, but I wanted to spread the word and tear down this structure by lowering it's review score so that it will suffer financially, and hopefully go bankrupt.

Thank you.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Harcourt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I enjoyed staying at the Rashmi Guest House -- the room was small but clean, and the bathroom was OK, nothing special. Despite its claims, it had no WiFi, and I didn't want to pay to use the (probably virus-infested) PC's. However, the upside to being offline was that I could immerse myself in all that was marvelous and magical about being in the holy city of Varanasi. Through the air vents, I could hear the bells and chants give way to the adhan (Islamic call to prayer) before dawn, and then in reverse at dusk. It was a bit of a trudge to get up and down the stairs, but the view of the Ganges from my window was incomparable. On the rooftop restaurant, the view was even more spectacular, as you could see the boats on the river, the faithful doing their morning ablutions, the activity at the ghats, and hear but not see the din of the traffic beyond the narrow shop-lined streets of this most ancient of cities. Indian breakfasts (coffee, poori with aloo bhaji) were delicious; dinners were good, too. Location was excellent -- very close to the main Dashashwamegh ghat where the spectacular nightly pooja ceremonies are held. All things considered, I think this was a good value, and very much in keeping with the spirit of this place, which eschews luxury and modernity out of respect for the history and spiritual significance of one of the world's most ancient living cities.

Room Tip: Must get a room facing the River Ganges -- priceless view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehk04107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Because this was my first time in India, I did not know how to find another hotel, get my money back for the other nights, etc. There are open wires hanging out below the mirror in the bathrooms, tvs useless- with no cable to even attach to the wall, an exploding light bulb above our bed and a faucet in the bathroom that occasionally loosened causing water to flow. We heard that the building was built through bribes as it is an illegal location; It overshadows an ancient astronomical observatory, thus rendering it useless. Also, the power goes out regularly and the wifi is intermittent. I did not know that you could reset the a/c yourself so spent a long sweaty night there. The kitchen for the restaurant was between the stairs and the diners; it was a bit disconcerting as you saw flames shooting up and hoped they could douse them. I could not wait to get out of this place.

Room Tip: my tip is don't go here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.1 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 87 in Varanasi
2,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 87 in Varanasi
1,251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#12 of 87 in Varanasi
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#18 of 87 in Varanasi
320 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 87 in Varanasi
542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel East View
Hotel East View
#35 of 87 in Varanasi
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House

Address: D A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House 16/28 - A | Dasaswamedh, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: $35 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Palace on River (Rashmi Guest House) is a newly opened hotel on the edge of the River Ganges. We are located at Manmandir Ghatt, Varanasi adjacent to Raja Mansingh's Observatory. Although it is a guest house , we try our level best to provide the services at par with that of five star hotels in Varanasi . It is the only guest house in Varanasi which is run by a competent 3 year Diploma Holder in Hotel Management , catering and applied Nutrition ( Ramesh Verma). This hotel has got a team of well qualified and experienced professionals.We leave no stone unturned in making the guest feel comfortable , their home baway from home . As for the restaurant , we serve a wide variety of dishes catering to all shorts of individuals. Overall we believe in better and better services from each and every stand point ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Palace On The River, Rashmi Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing