We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, but believe the bad reviews.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scindhia Guest House
Ranked #28 of 210 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Good Location, but believe the bad reviews.”
Reviewed January 29, 2009

We booked this place due to it's location (which is pretty good).

I had decided to splurge and book a "super deluxe" room for 2400rs. On arrival we were given two options. We could stay in our booked room for 2400 (1800 for the room and 600 for service) or just 1800Rs without the service.
For the record the service (600Rs) gives breakfast for two to the value of 300Rs, bottled water (2), softdrinks (2), two hours of internet (at 100Rs per hour!!?!?!?!), soap and toilet paper (yes, if you don't get this you don't get any paper, even if you are paying 1800Rs per night!!!!)
After one night we realised this was a complete ripoff and asked to just have the room without the service. Long story short, but the manager said it was easier for HIM to just put us in a cheaper room (900Rs) than to have to "change the paperwork". Somehow canceling our booking and changing rooms was easier than removing the service charge? When I mentioned that I was happy to pay 1800 for the same room, he said he did not care and that he would not lose any money because he was on a salary. We also had a future argument over use of the interenet which he decided experied after midnight each day. His great line was that he doesn't care whether customers are happy or not because he get paid anyway.

For the record the rooms themselves are fine - in fact the 900 room was almost as good as the 1800 albiet a few stories lower.

You just need to be aware that the manager can make your stay eextremely unpleasant and really doesn't care what you do or how you feel and will tell you as much regularly.

I have no doubt there are better choices.

  • Liked — Rooms and location
  • Disliked — The manager is a tool
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank koizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    53
    25
    10
    16
See reviews for
18
61
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2008

Having just stayed at Scindia I felt compelled to write a review due to some of the negative stuff written by other travellers.

The hotel is in a difficult to reach but brilliant location, central to the old town and near to quieter ghats too. We had made sure to reconfirm our room with the manager Kush, who, contrary to others' reports, was friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We were met at the stain by a guy from the hotel, who organised our rickshaw ride into the city , then led us through the winding streets. The hotel is near the Main Burning Ghat in the old city and the rooms with balcony afford a view of Scindia Ghat and it's wierd and wonderful goings-on.

There are monkeys around the hotel yes, but we found that they avoided the balcony when we were on it - it is best not to leave anything outside though!

The room itself was clean, with a spotless bathroom and sheets. The fridge was stocked with two complimetary soft drinks and bottles of water daily. However, it is quite a climb up to the room!

I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Liked — Locations, view
  • Disliked — Stairs!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank joandjamesMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We have just returned from a two-night stay at Schindhia. It is probably the worst place I've ever stayed at anywhere in the world, but it's location is hard to beat. If in Varanasi, you'd want to be on the river, and there aren't many choices. We stayed here because the better places where full and we booked last minute.

The highs: the view over the ghat where you'll see some unforgettable things if you sit on the balcony for long enough. And the proximity to the biggest burning ghat, where ýou'll see even more unforgettable (haunting) things. It's sort of in the middle of all the ghats, so you can easily walk up and down from there, and venture into the fascinating back alleys of the old city. If a guide approaches you, take him as their knowledge is invaluable and there is absolutely no way you can navigate the back alleys by yourself. You may end up staying in Varanasi untill you die. Just agree a price beforehand, say 100 rupees an hour. We used a guy called Gopi mob 09839112519. He may want to take you to his boss's shop to buy a sari, which is when you can so no thank you. But go if you want to buy some beautiful raw silk at 350 rupees a meter.

The lows: monkeys are a problem on the balconies and they''ll steal anything you leave lying around. They run up and down the railings as if you aren't even there. Best solution - take the sweeper thing from the bathroom and threaten them with it, showing your teeth and making a hissing sound (!) They'll quickly get the message and stay away. Do not feed them at any cost.

The manager certainly has a bit of an attitude problem and probably wishes he rather ran the Taj palace hotel. But good for them that he doesn't as his American accent and inhospitable manner won't do in a posh place like that. He is only focused on money and treats his staff and guests as if they where all untouchables. Quite frankly, ignore him, book your own rickshaw and taxi and boat rides if you want to save money or be sure your rupees actually go to someone who earned it. He doesn't seem to care either way. If he suggests you take a rickshaw back to the airport, say no, you only want a rickshaw to the taxi stand. That way you only have to walk 10 minutes to the rickshaw stand, and can easily get a taxi to the airport at the taxi stand, which is further inland from the ghats. Walking from the taxi stand to the guest house and vice versa is a gruelling 25 minutes, but you'll see some interesting things on the way.

The cookie is quite the grumpy old man. Don't ask him questions, or for serviettes or come near his kitchen - he'll chase you out as if you were a monkey. DO NOT take his cups or other crockery up to the room - he'll have a fit and shout at you in front of all the guests. Change your order, or ask him about the pakoras or burgers, for instance, at your peril. And remember to write your room number on the order paper before he barks at you to do so. If he does get obnoxious, raise your voice, look him square in the eyes and repeat your question or whatever firmly and with a touch of aggression. He'll back down quickly, even crack a joke. A trick I've learnt from living in India for almost 2 years and having to deal with his kind quite often. Luckily they are a minority. A nice place to eat is Lotus Lounge, overlooking Mansarowar Ghat , about 10 minutes walk upstream.

Now for the worst low: BED BUGS!. Take a can of insect spray with you, and spray everthing before you retire. Spray way before bedtime so the chemicals can dissapate. And wash everything when you get home so you don't infest your own living quarters. Sleep with long sleeves and pajama pants so they don't bite you. The rooms are otherwise extremely basic, but would be a palace for almost anyone living around the ghats below.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bed bugs
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Biesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

we made the biggest mistake prebooking 4 days here but all was full as well....so we couldn't leave.

• The manager was extremely rude and obnoxious from the minute we arrived- he accused us of not calling to be picked up from the station and that it was impossible that we had called as there is always someone there to pick up the phone- total bullocks. we called many times before we arrive and no one picked up the phone.

• we were charged for a balcony room but we couldn't use the balcony due to the moneys. we paid 900 rupees, clearly we were ripped off.

• we had to write our own orders to get drinks and food. - it was highly annoying as we were not aware of this and all we were told was to read all the notices on the wall.... !

• the restaurant is only open 7-830 pm
• service at the restaurant is so bad, the old men are extremely rude and unhelpful and it's like being in kindergarden.
• no air in the restaurant, they do not open the windows
• jam toast is just jam and dry bread
• you have to write your own order
•if you need the doctor like we did he refused for us to use his phone, i had to go find a outside phone!!!!!!!!!!!!
• the tone of his voice is unbearable
• they refused to clean our room
• the aircon and hot water is only on at the oddest times, when you don't need it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
• you pay for toilet paper everyday
• there was a dead dog on the stairs at the front door that no one bothered to pick up for 3 days...

please do not give your money to this man. money is energy give it to the right people.
he is rude, and a control freak.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank easylivingwitheve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Honestly, if you have other options you should take them. The manager (Kush) clearly hates his job and hates budget travellers. He was short and difficult to deal with at both check in and check out.

We stayed for one night on 12/26/07. Given that we only paid 450rps for the room, I'd say we got what we paid for, but not anything else. The room was only marginally clean, we had to beg for sheets, and the toilet leaked loudly and ran all night long (we finally shut off the water). What really bothered me was that he tried to charge us more for the room than agreed upon and then also tried to charge us for food and drink when we never even saw the resturant. Also, he doubled the charge for porters to get our stuff to the autorickshaw stand and tried to charge us double the going rate for an autorickshaw (we found our own). I did not mind paying the 50rps (vis 25rps on the way in) for porters but I would have rather paid it directly to the porters, who deserved it.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susannumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2007

This is good guest house in Varanasi, the view is amazing and the location really can't be beat. However its quite a walk on foot, since no transportation can get thru this area and you'll have to carry your bags up and down a series of staircases. This is a problem for any hotel near the ghats. We stayed for two nights then moved our hotel to Cantonment so that we could get easy transport to the airport. You'll have to call the guest house for a pickup or else you'll never find it by yourself and drivers will likely take you elsewhere or just get lost with you. The guesthouse is comfortable though pretty bare. We took one of the most expensive rooms at 1200R a night I was surprised that they made you pay for toilet paper. There isn't much hot water so my husband and I needed to shower at different times of day. The restaurant is not always open making it very inconvenient if you are hungry and just arrived. The staff is fair, sometimes helpful other times disgruntled. I would recommend that you stay here for at least one night of your journey.

  • Liked — Location and view of ghats
  • Disliked — Location being far from a road
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Inkblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2007

Scindhia Guesthouse is located next to Scindhia Ghat. It's also close to the burning Manikarnika Ghat. It is quite difficult to reach as you have to walk thru small alley ways of the old city and you have to climb up a few steps. But i guess this is your option if you wanna stay in guesthouses located along the ghats.

Scindhia has rooms that face out to the river. Rooms have balconies where you can sit and see the activities of the ghats. It is very basic -- bed (hard!), few chairs and table. Bathroom is quite big and relatively clean. THey also offer morning boat rides at 120/pax but they will pack a max of 12 people in a boat. Easily, you can just hire a boat for 2 pax at 150/pax.

We didn't have a problem with the hotel except that you have to do a lot of climbing up some steps to get there. I'ts basic and no one can even help you with you luggages, you have to go out to the old city and find someone to help you get to a rickshaw with ur luggages.

If you want a hotel that's right next to the ghats, then this is an option. I don't know if there is much difference with the other guesthouses along the ghats anyway.

The restaurant in the hotel serves basic breakfast...the old man was quite rude and picked up a fight with a customer. We brought this to the attention of the guesthouse owner but he said it isn't scindhia's restaurant, but simply renting in their area.

Scindhia i guess offers reasonable price for a room with a balcony.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tambalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.2 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 77 in Varanasi
2,075 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 77 in Varanasi
256 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#15 of 77 in Varanasi
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
0.0 mi away
Treebo East View
Treebo East View
#39 of 210 in Varanasi
44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kedareswar Bed & Breakfast
Kedareswar Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 210 in Varanasi
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scindhia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scindhia Guest House

Property: Scindhia Guest House
Address: Scindhia Guest House Next To Manikarnika Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scindhia Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated ideally in the crescent on the left bank of The Holy Ganges is The Scindhia Guest House just adjacent to Manikarnika (The burning ghat) offering excellent panoramic view of the river on both the sides.Breathtaking sunrise to the scintillating evening view of the river and the ghats can be enjoyed from all the available balconies in the property. Enchanting ringing of temple bells is simply nostalgic.AC / Non-AC rooms are neatly laid with attached toilets equipped for round the clock hot and cold shower. Super-Deluxe rooms have TV, Refrigerator and intercom too.Internet is available on demand.The Roof top (river view) restaurant offers sumptuous refreshments cooked under strict supervision in very hygienic conditions.Pick-up service on request is available from the railhead as well as the airport (Payable).Medical aid is available on call.As a policy matter, Scindhia Guest House does not allow consumption of Narcotic Drugs / intoxicants of any kind and nature within the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Scindhia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scindhia Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing