We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Diamond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diamond Hotel
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2010

We spent several nights at Diamond Hotel in a double deluxe room. The room (especially the bathroom) was in good condition and relatively clean. The location of the hotel was very good. It was a short (and cheap) cycle-Rickshaw ride from Kashi Vishvanath and Dashashwamedh Ghat area and is close to the important places in the southern side of the city (e.g. Durga Mandir, Sankatmochan, BHU, Assi Ghat). It is also walking distance from Kedar Ghat, which is a fantastic ghat for doing one's daily rituals (it was also clean - a good place to take a path in Varanasi) and is next to the Kedareshwar temple, one of the most powerful in Varanasi. In my opinion, the location is worse than Dashashwamedh Ghat area but better than Assi Ghat, which is too far from the main part of the city and fairly uninteresting I felt. The hotel's restaurant is also good (people from outside the hotel also go to it) though it is quite expensive for Varanasi. There is a good (and not expensive) South Indian restaurant called Kerala Cafe just north of the hotel and many "pan" vendors around the hotel. The staff and service in the hotel were basically fine too. The price was very reasonable, cheaper than the alternatives we were considering. One important point: avoiding renting cars through the hotel unless you have no choice. The driver will try to cheat you.

Overall, we were very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank good_tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 134 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2010

I checked in the hotel because some one recommended the hotel and also because it is near Ganges. It is not in the banks of the Ganges but near enough to go on foot. Nearest Ghat is a Cremation ground "Harishchandra Ghat".

The positives of the hotel are: 1. It is near city center. 2. Well connected from all parts of the city. 3. Food is good. 3. Reasonably priced hotel.

The one negative that I faced that the should be little more clean. My overall experience was nice.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank visionweb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

I visited the hotel with my two other friends. It is a good hotel to stay in Varansi. I like it. Though we stay over there only for 2 nights but it was a ok for us.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank amit_info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Diamond Hotel is a slightly below average hotel.

The elevator is probably the only place in the hotel that has been renovated in the past few years. The corridors and the rooms are in desperate need for a lick of paint, new windows, new curtains etc.
Because of the bad windows the rooms are also quite noisy.

We intended to stay three nights in the hotel, but after the first night we already left. The place is really rundown and therefore rather depressing.

Before we could leave, we still had to settle an argument with the staff. We wanted to pay with a 500 rupee note, which was not valid according to the staff, because it was somewhat damaged. The manager told us to go to the bank and exchange the note. We didn't give in (if we can take it to the bank, so can he) and he started threatening us : 'he would hold the amount from his staffs pay etc etc.' Finally, he accepted the note and we could leave.

I think it's needless to say that we left the hotel with a bad feeling.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jes001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

This is a decent hotel, though a little far from the heart of Varanasi (Dasasvamedh Ghat). The hotel is reasonably clean and the rooms are really big. However, I think the hotel has seen better days. The rooms appear a little rundown and are not very well maintained. I would advise travelers to stay closer to the heart of the city and pay less for it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeacefulExistence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I pre booked a room at the Diamond hotel the day before,after being recommended by a friend,i was not disappointed,the room was a good size and very clean,the room service was also very good.
Would recommend getting a room away from the front as the horns start blowing about 6am.
The only gripe i had was that the reception staff would need a smile painted on their faces other than that a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vapoureyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

It's a nice place to stay. Old building about 40 years old, but well maintained. Got a touch of heritage to it. The spacious rooms and corridors are a welcme relief in the congested town. It's got a car parking and a small lawn too. Summary is I'd recommend staying there.

Negatives:
Food is a bit overpriced (about 25%), but quality is good - though a little oily. Toilet tiles and fittings are old and worn out - something out of place in an otherwise well maintained place.
The hotel does'nt have a lift and thats tough for old people.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjshv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#10 of 80 in Varanasi
513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#15 of 80 in Varanasi
547 reviews
3 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#13 of 80 in Varanasi
293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#12 of 80 in Varanasi
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Hotel

Address: Bhelupur, Varanasi 221010, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: $50 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diamond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing