We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic”
Review of Assi Guest House

Assi Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Assi Guest House
Ranked #94 of 214 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Civitavecchia, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magic”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Went to Varanasi where I left my heart...I stayed in Assi guest house...amazing place the owner is a nice man always with the smile on his face...we ha nice talk with his son and he also told me everything about Varanasi the ghat and the labyrinth!!!We laugh a lots!!!!i hope to see them next year!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dasaswamet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and was left with a very good impression. The room was clean, food nice, and the location was quiet and peaceful. However what impressed me most was the hospitality of the owners.

I had mix up with my outbound train ticket and missed my scheduled departure date after being screwed by a Delhi tour group. I was worried as it was the end of my trip and I had spent nearly all my budget. The owner really took care of me in this situation and managed to get me a new train ticket for following day. He even offered me a free room if I had not enough money to pay for it. His wife and son were also very helpful to me in this situation.

In the end he told me to pay whatever I could afford, and gave me food for the trip. After my problems with the Delhi tour group, this this kindness was truly appriciated. I would certainly recommend a stay in this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank klynch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The staff at the Assi Guest house were very kind. The accommodation had the option of a Varanasi tour which was enlightening and fitted into our two day schedule with ease. The food at the rooftop restaurant was very fresh and the boy cooking the food was lovely. This guest house is great value for money, and although it may not contain some of the lavish extras of the more expensive hotels, it was perfect for a traveler on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirrormephotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Assi Guest House, the shower was really hot 24 hours. The beds were a bit too hard, and the staff very noisy overnight, and we were annoyed by the mosquitoes. Apart from these, it was perfect. Staff were friendly, the laundry service was spotless.
There was wifi at the reception (not in the rooms).
There is a rooftop - good view - but there is not really a restaurant, but of course, they bring food from somewhere if you order.
The Assi Ghat area is very nice in Varanasi, less hectic than the center, so we were really pleased with the location.

Room Tip: Higher up is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igazilumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

As the guest house is new, it didn't have many reviews so we were't sure what it would be like. However we needn't have worried - our room was spacious and clean, with 24 hour hot water. For the price we were very impressed and we were even upgraded to an AC room for free. Wifi signal only available in reception but that wasn't an issue for us.

Assi is in a great location to walk along the ghats from Assi Ghat to the old town (approx. 30 min walk). The staff at the guest house were also really helpful; on the first night the manager invited us to join him at a Hindu ceremony at one of the ghats on the river, which was really interesting. We also organised a river tour through Assi. It was more expensive than going to the boatmen directly or through one of the LP recommendations but we were on the river for nearly 2 hours in a boat by ourselves and had a full tour of the city temples afterwards, with Rahul (the manager), for another couple of hours.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just around the corner of Hotel Ganesha is Assi Guest house. It's a new guesthouse so everything is very clean. If you walk to the hotel from the street your don't believe there is a guesthouse over here, but there is, it's Varanasi, so....!

The owner of the guesthouse is a friendly man who really like you te tell you everything about Varanasi. He started as a Riksja driver and worked till he is now the manager of the place. He also do private tours and bring you to the special places in town.

The staff is very friendly and you can ask them anything. They will arrange it. We needed some special medicine... they arranged it for us.

The rooftop on the guesthouse is very hight and you can see the Ganges from there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasper_jaspers_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Found Assi while wondering around the area. We saw the red signs and decided to follow them. Didn't regret it all! Assi is a brandnew place with clean rooms with good beds and very very friendly staff. The cook is great, his food is amazing. The owner is a really nice man who helped us with planning our sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huppelbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Haifa
Hotel Haifa
#28 of 79 in Varanasi
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace on Ganges
Palace on Ganges
#40 of 79 in Varanasi
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivera Palace
Hotel Rivera Palace
#19 of 79 in Varanasi
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Banaras Haveli
Hotel Banaras Haveli
#34 of 79 in Varanasi
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#15 of 79 in Varanasi
261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 79 in Varanasi
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assi Guest House

Property: Assi Guest House
Address: B. 1/25-A, Assi | Near Abhay Cinema, Varanasi, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 214 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the banks of mighty Ganges,Assi P G House, Varanasi is a great lodging option to spend leisure time with loved ones. The warm hospitality, ambiance and its location never fail to please the guests. Assi Paying Guest house, Varanasi is located near Assi Crossing, Assi Ghat. The main advantage of staying at this hotel is its proximity to many tourist destinations. The Masjid Hafiz Zahoor (Approx. 2Km) and Shri Kashi Vishwanath temple (Approx. 3Km) are some of the famous places in the city close to the hotel. Guests must visit Kashi Vishwanath temple which is dedicated to the chief deity of city of Varanasi, Kashi Vishwanath. Durga temple, Dasaswamedh Ghat and Manikarnika Ghat are other prominent attractions in the city of temples. Distance from Lal Bahadur Shastri International Airport: Approx. 32Kms Distance from Varanasi Junction Railway Station: Approx. 8Kms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Assi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing