We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Clarks Varanasi
Ranked #34 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The centre of Varanasi is noisy, dusty and dirty. The Ganges is lively and beautiful from dusk till dawn. The colourful galis, piled up with cow dunk, are picturesque.
A trip to Varanasi is an unforgettably journey.

But after another hectic day in Varanasi Clarks is a peaceful homecoming.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 352 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. The hotel is located in a clean and quiet area of Varanasi.This was an oasis in a city known among other wonderful things also for its narrow lanes and congestion.The rooms well furnished and tastefully decorated. Fresh flowers and fruits with bottled water was a welcome gesture and well appreciated. The staff was extremely courteous and professional. The cleanliness and the upkeep of the rooms, lobbies, restaurants and the garden in the premises of the hotel was above board.The porters and cleaning staff did not wait for tips. The food was excellent and the restaurant personnel was willing to cater to individual tastes. Checking in and checking out was smooth. All in all this hotel is value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new wing on the first floor with a view of the garden are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ons2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The hotel is a very good hotel but when compared to other 5 star hotels in varanasi like Taj seems to fall short.

The best part of the hotel is its off the main road in varanasi which can be a major irritant in varanasi. However it is far from most of touristy things and does take considerable time to get there.

tip - try the hotel indian food. its nice and not heavy

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in front of the property there can be some issues with the passing traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ullasishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed for 12 nights which seemed to baffle staff who commented on it regularly.
Food is ridiculously overpriced and not particularly nice.
Spent time catching live cockroaches.
Bath tub leaks and bathroom is outdated.
Wifi is over priced and hard to connect to.
Staff can be very rude on the phone, hard to understand.
I now understand why no one stays for more than a few days.
Would not recommend it at all, left unhappy.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maathu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel and it was a true pleasure. The hotel is beautiful and clean, the restaurants have a large menu to choose from ( from indian food to hamburgers)and delicious!
The hospitality and service of the hotel staff is impeccable. I would not think of staying anywhere else! The guides the hotel had were excellent as well. I would give this hotel the highest recommendation!
JLM, Costa Rica

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia8882014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Clarks. The hotel is secluded from the busy street traffic. The common areas are beautiful and the rooms are OK. The restaurant appears to be recently remodeled. We enjoyed breakfast, lunch, and dinner in the restaurant during our several day stay. The food was good and the service was outstanding. Every person in the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel charges approxmately $10 per day for WiFi. The WiFi signal strengh was spotty.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamJaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in December. Rooms are clean and neat but the corridors seem dirty. Carpets in corridor are shabby. No problems checking in or out. Breakfast quality was not the best. Same menu for 2 days i was here. Foods looks unappetising but the rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandragov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 79 in Varanasi
1,470 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#5 of 79 in Varanasi
661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
#10 of 79 in Varanasi
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarks Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarks Varanasi

Address: The Mall Road | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: $180 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Clarks Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding colonial charm but with all the mod-cons. this hotel is the flagship of the Clarks Group of Hotels, one of the oldest hotel groups in India. Within proximity of the hotel guests can visit the Old British Cantonment Area, the old city, Vishwanath Temple, and of course the Ghats of the Ganges, and Sarnath-the site of Buddha's first sermon. A must do when in this holy city is a boat ride in the Ganges either at sunset or sunrise. The restaurants on-site offer ample choices from North Indian to international dishes and even popular street food dishes. After a long day exploring Varanasi on foot and in rickshaws, a quick dip at the hotel pool is sure to be refreshing. An excellent hotel, Clarks is a popular choice for guests visiting this North Indian city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Clarks Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing