We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with outstanding service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Clarks Varanasi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Clarks Varanasi
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good hotel with outstanding service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Clarks. The hotel is secluded from the busy street traffic. The common areas are beautiful and the rooms are OK. The restaurant appears to be recently remodeled. We enjoyed breakfast, lunch, and dinner in the restaurant during our several day stay. The food was good and the service was outstanding. Every person in the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel charges approxmately $10 per day for WiFi. The WiFi signal strengh was spotty.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamJaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    103
    73
    36
    33
See reviews for
66
86
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in December. Rooms are clean and neat but the corridors seem dirty. Carpets in corridor are shabby. No problems checking in or out. Breakfast quality was not the best. Same menu for 2 days i was here. Foods looks unappetising but the rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandragov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphington, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Not the quality expected of a Hotel Clarks with the service and the tired shabby appearance of particular note. The average rating for service would have been poor but for an extremely friendly and helpful breakfast waiter.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fujairah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

AT moderate prices the hotel is warm to stay with and the staff is courteous and helpful. The restaurant and bar were decent and so were the lobby and corridors. The rooms were not small and were sunny and airy. In all a noce stay for a short break

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the clarks for 4 nights while recovering from a bug picked up on our travels. The amenities are excellent- a bar, a lovely pool area, post office. Though the building is tired and in need of better maintainance in parts (our room had an area of stained wallpaper and a boarded up area in the hallway outside) the warmth, attention to detail, service and professionalism of all the staff we encountered made our stay a real pleasure. For example fresh flowers in the room, greeted quietly by all staff on the premises, no one ever looked for a tip, (we were not initially eating) unlimited bottled water and fresh fruit was brought to the room, staff remembered our requests and offered again, genuine warmth and good humour. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jtfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Thank you for having had a great stay in Varanasi. We felt like kings in the Clarks because of the outstanding quality of the room, food and service. Wi-Fi could be included, though.

Thanks again

Benjamin and Michael from Munich, Germany

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel did not meet our expectations. It felt damp/musty, the dining area was not clean (my uncle saw a cockroach), and the food was mediocre at best but surprisingly expensive. While the staff was pleasant, the service was not great. It appears that the hotel is catered mostly to international tour groups and one-night visits.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
0.1 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#7 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Amayaa
The Amayaa
#25 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
#11 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarks Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarks Varanasi

Property: Hotel Clarks Varanasi
Address: The Mall Road | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Clarks Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding colonial charm but with all the mod-cons. this hotel is the flagship of the Clarks Group of Hotels, one of the oldest hotel groups in India. Within proximity of the hotel guests can visit the Old British Cantonment Area, the old city, Vishwanath Temple, and of course the Ghats of the Ganges, and Sarnath-the site of Buddha's first sermon. A must do when in this holy city is a boat ride in the Ganges either at sunset or sunrise. The restaurants on-site offer ample choices from North Indian to international dishes and even popular street food dishes. After a long day exploring Varanasi on foot and in rickshaws, a quick dip at the hotel pool is sure to be refreshing. An excellent hotel, Clarks is a popular choice for guests visiting this North Indian city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Clarks Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing