We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palace on Ganges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palace on Ganges
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

This was the last hotel of a 13 day journey...very comfortable, friendly service, instantly felt at ease upon arrival. Clean, adorable room (no windows), the best AC of the trip. If you are booking just make sure you request a room with a view. If they don't have one, the rooms are still nice and airy (good lighting) but keep the expectations in check. Cleanest room of my Indian adventures, the housekeeping staff here is well trained and they know how to clean a room! Excellent riverside location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpioLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    119
    113
    49
    44
See reviews for
55
150
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paxos, Greece
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

We arrived in Varanasi from Delhi & were praying we got a decent hotel. We did!

Palace on Ganges is situated right at the far end of the Ghats & is in a nice location.

The rooms were very nice, quite a few little sitting areas for tea etc.

Staff fantastic & best Ayurveda massage I had in the whole of India, including in Kerala!

Restaurant a bit lifeless & they always have the curtains drawn, could be livened up a bit in there. Some live local music in the evenings which was nice.

I would definitely stay here again, but you must go next door to the Ganges View Guest house for dinner, it was amazing & got the vote of my fiancee as her best meal in India. We tried to book here for bedrooms too but they were full.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paxosconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

Marilyn - Australia
I am a tour leader bringing small groups from Australia so over the 7 years I have stayed at many hotels - budget to 4 star - all over India.
Because of it's proximity to the river, I was looking forward to my stay there, but I do have mixed feelings about bringing a group there in the future. It certainly does depend on getting one of the better rooms on the front facing the river like 201, because on two separate tours, we were given twin bed rooms on the side that were very pokey for 2 ladies with 2 large bags. The decor was nice, the beds comfortable, hot water good, bathrooms clean, so I should be happy after having less than that often. However I found the rooms dark and airless, with very tiny windows opening to a wall where there was noisy motor running constantly at night.
I found the temperature in the hotel too warm, unventilated and stuffy, paticularly in the downstairs dining room. Breakfast was a hassle each time, because there was always something missing that I wanted, especially earlier after 7am. The most frustrating thing of all was that most of the floor staff were not very good at speaking English, which surprised me with the bulk of the clients being Westerners. I also object to staff coming into my room to clean it without my permission, and when I am not there, and then seem to hang around for a tip. I find that when a hotel has a tip box system, the staff are less expectant and it is not so awkward.
I found the front desk people helpful but very busy, so I am back to trying to find a hotel near the ghats, that I am confident will give my tour guests a quality stay commensurate to the price I paid for this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanishah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
91 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

all great at this place, location, rooms, cleanliness, staff

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

First of all this is not a 4 star hotel as we were told. Indian 4 star hotels are usually very good and this was miles away from it.

The hotel's car did not receive us in the railway station due to a goof up by the staff. And, the receptionist was visibly unresponsive if not hostile.

The rooms are tasteful but not worth the money. I have had better rooms in Indian hotels with less money.

No restaurant. A dhaba at the roof if you want to call that a restaurant. Very near the ghat so was only serving veg meal. Full of ghee and oil, hardly any taste. All during our stay, we had to dine outside.

The AC will be quite unavailable, as the power situation in UP is one of the worst in India, and the AC doesn't work on the emergency power. So if you are visiting during Indian summer, be prepared.

Lastly, if you are interested only in the decor of a hotel, this hotel is for you. Or if you would like peace and quiet and wouldn’t be bothered about hotel’s added facilities or the moneys worth, then this hotel is definitely for you. If you want more than that I suggest you look elsewhere.

Plus points, the room décor and location as being just over the Assi ghat, you are really near the ghats. But then again, Assi ghat is the last ghat in the series of ghats. But that's that!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDGKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

As usual for India the staff was friendly and more than attentive to every need. They were pleasant and responsive. The hotel was clean and the food, which should be one of the ratings above was well above average. It was completely vegetarian and quite delicious. The room was a bit small for two people but of good value.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PuffTrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

The hotel is in a nice position, comfortable and unusually clean compared to Indian standards. The restaurant is quite good. Also the cheapeest rooms are cozy and clean.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank MisterSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#15 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Banaras Haveli
Hotel Banaras Haveli
#27 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.8 mi away
WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges
1.2 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace on Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace on Ganges

Property: Palace on Ganges
Address: Assi Ghat B - 1/158, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace on Ganges 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace on Ganges is a new, immaculately clean hotel with 22 rooms, each named for -- and said to be decorated in the style of -- a different region of India. Our rooms were good-sized and well appointed (cable TV sets, non-alcholic mini-bar, tables and chairs). The staff is friendly and attentive. Food is vegetarian and well prepared. The big advantage is Palce on Ganges's location. It is at Asi Ghat, And while it's "on the Ganges," a small road and a large where you can get the cab easily from just out of the hotel. Views of the Ganges from the balcony -- and rooms facing the river -- are far less good than those from, among others hotels. Disadvantages: not all rooms face the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Palace on Ganges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace On Ganges Varanasi
Palace On Ganges Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing