We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, needs better service”
Review of Palace on Ganges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palace on Ganges
Ranked #38 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The location is very good, right on the Assi ghat. The rooms are small, but neat. The interiors are nicely done, showing up the different cultures in India. They could have been a little less expensive though because the service is not that great. The personnel are not quite professional. The breakfast spread is not good at all and the terrace restaurant could have been made and managed in a much better way. The river views from the terrace is good and overall the hotel gives a taste of the life at Varanasi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajibVat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Palace on Ganges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 387 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

this place is located within fifty meters from the bank of the river, and a bit away from the busy street, that's why the feeling that we had when we got there was a sense of quietness and relaxation, we were happy to stay in a place that is not as loud and busy as the rest of india!

we had hot water, a fridge, air condition, European style bathroom facilities (that was a great bonus for westerners that we are!).

beware though, not all the rooms had windows, we didn't know and after being checked in to a room without a window we quickly asked to change the room and were moved to another one.

it was quite a good place to stay and at a decent price for what they offer, and I am happy we booked the room in advance, as at the time we arrived there the hotel was fully booked and we felt a bit uncomfortable, as we already advised the hotel to a german couple that we met in the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

When calling the day before to confirm our reservation we were hung up on twice then told we should have called earlier. On arrival we couldn't find the promised taxi so we were not feeling easy about what might happen when we arrived! On arrival we were indeed expected and told there had been a taxi waiting for us at the airport. (We had looked for a long time before taking a chance on a pre-paid taxi service (pretty sketchy ride!)). We had asked for a room with view but were taken to a basement room, nicely furnished and clean but underground. We complained to the staff who, after arguement, spoke with their 'boss' and had us move upstairs. We still didn't have a view but at least could go out onto an enclosed balcony with a bit of a view over the street. The rest of our stay was great. The location is wonderful for people like us who want to walk on the ghats. The boss/owner is a bit short-tempered but the staff is friendly and helpful. Internet access was intermittent and not much help at the front desk to remedy the constant interruptions. Sandeep, a guide arranged by the hotel is a good guy with lots of stories. Say 'hello' from Lynne and Karl if you have the good fortune to find him. Oh, and we chose to go somewhere else for meals. Restaurant is not at all interesting and there were flies.

Room Tip: You might inquire beforehand if you don't want to be in a basement room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The only reason to stay here is the location. The hotel is not bad but small rooms, no views, no breakfast included and much overpriced.Butthe hotel can afford to ask this prices as the location is good and european standards... although in Europe a rm like this should not cost more as 30-35 euro's. Look out for the pizzeria few houses further: Location looks nice but you will definately get ill....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

That's the main thing this hotel has to offer. As for the hotel itself, the rooms are small, cramped, dark and stuffy. If any of them has a view of the Ganges, I didn't see it. Our room faced on nothing but a ventilating shaft! The only thing big is the price, which is excessive for what's on offer here. The hotel's "gimmick" is that each room is designed to reflect the style of a different Indian state -- cute, but ...... The rooms are clean, the beds reasonably comfortable. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The most important thing the hotel has to offer is its location on Assi Ghat -- in my opinion, the best place to stay in Varanasi. The nightly aarti on the ghat is worth seeing. The restaurant is decent, though overpriced. (There's no bar, but beer is available on request.) In the evening, the Indian music (sirangi, sitar, tabla) is a pleasant background to dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gangamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

yes you are on the river and some rooms with views but not ours facing back wall. Asked for view rm if availabe while there for three nights. Didn't happen. room clean staff friendly. Dark gulag basement dining room with mediocre breakfast and dinner. Be aware of TWO WEEKS prior cancellation policy. Tried to get refund for a fourth night that we could not stay two days prior to our arrival but no deal. Of course room booked day we checked out so they can double their money on that room. In some cases The word "heritage" means you'll pay quite a bit more for just a bit more than average.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

It has all been said, I think, but here it is again. This is not on the Ganges, but looks out on a parking lot with the river in the distance. It bears no relation to any other heritage property where I have stayed in India.
As I arrived late at night, I had no choice of rooms and I was allocated a rat hole on the roof, room 301, where I had difficulties moving around the bed, and which was roach-infested. So no sleep...
The next day, I was transferred with false apologies to a larger room, which also had roaches and looked onto... an inner common sitting area, with the river in the distance. A dump.
Later I found out that the roaches come from their filthy kitchen (see pictures) and I did not even touch breakfast, which should have been included.
There is a shortage of rooms in Varanasi, and the staff were mostly unconcerned. They are full every night. I could not get in the Ganges View guest house or any of the few others which have excellent reviews. You might have better luck.

Room Tip: Avoid room 301 absolutely. Stay there only if you must
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frenchteddywww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#15 of 79 in Varanasi
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
0.9 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#16 of 79 in Varanasi
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Banaras Haveli
Hotel Banaras Haveli
#32 of 79 in Varanasi
123 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
306 reviews
1.4 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace on Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace on Ganges

Address: Assi Ghat B - 1/158, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: $57 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace on Ganges 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace on Ganges is a new, immaculately clean hotel with 22 rooms, each named for -- and said to be decorated in the style of -- a different region of India. Our rooms were good-sized and well appointed (cable TV sets, non-alcholic mini-bar, tables and chairs). The staff is friendly and attentive. Food is vegetarian and well prepared. The big advantage is Palce on Ganges's location. It is at Asi Ghat, And while it's "on the Ganges," a small road and a large where you can get the cab easily from just out of the hotel. Views of the Ganges from the balcony -- and rooms facing the river (on supplement charges) -- are far less good than those from, among others hotels. Disadvantages: not all rooms face the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Palace on Ganges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace On Ganges Varanasi
Palace On Ganges Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing