We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location location location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palace on Ganges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palace on Ganges
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
danville, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Location location location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

This place is only great because of the location. if it was anywhere else it would be a pretty big rip off, india or otherwise. the plus (and it is a huge one) is you can walk out and be on the ghats/river and right in the action of town (yet a quieter area). the detractions are bad air conditioning and tvs, no central AC in lobby other areas, no views from rooms, no real restraunt, not great service, etc. its pricey, and better to contact them direct for a lower rate though they rarely respond. this was our second stay and it was more comfortable in jan than april, same price. we got burnt out on the place and spent our last night out in the cantonmnet area at Gateway for LESS money (but again, too far from river) but with amazing facilities, pool, restaurants, etc....

Room Tip: try to avoid downstairs dungeon rooms and ask to see everything. decor is different in each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arikali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    119
    113
    49
    44
See reviews for
55
150
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Outer Banks, NC, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

The hotel is clean but I can't say much for the service. Desk clerks were dour and not very helpful. The rooftop restaurant is pleasant with a nice view but the food was nothing special.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank remark249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

The rooms are lovely and well decorated with period furniture. Pity that there are no great views to go with this grandeur. Still it's a nice teat for a good stay with good rooms. Just don't expect a view of the Ganges.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

I'm sad that other reviews before mine weren't that great, because I had a fabulous stay at Palace on Ganges. My husband and I arrived at Palace on Ganges at 5am after an overnight train. They showed us to a restroom on the rooftop that we could use to wash up before heading out for an early morning boat ride on the river. They brought us fresh towels and shampoo, and I immediately felt welcome from the staff. We hung out in the lobby for the rest of the morning after our boat ride to wait for our room, which (naturally) wasn't ready until noon. They checked in on us often to make sure we were okay, and let us know we could have breakfast. The hotel is decorated very nicely, with antique photographs, instruments, and they have a reading room on one of the floors. Each room is decorated like a different region in India. I also really liked the location, which is at Assi Ghat, the very southern end of Varanasi. It was a nice oasis away from the madness of Varanasi, and a short walk to the river. Also, the food was great! I'm sorry that others didn't have the same experience. I still dream of their dahl and my husband couldn't get enough of their veggie cutlets they served for breakfast. Oh, and they had live music in the dining room downstairs in the evening. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebablevart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We could not have been more disappointed with this restaurant. The food was constantly sent back, the waiter was very rude and the food was awful. Everything about this place needs improvement.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed at Palace on Ganges during our trip to Varanasi. Although its a bit pricey, the hotel is very clean, the staff well trained, efficient and courteous. The rooms are good but the Suite is excellent (we stayed in the suite). The suite offers the most breathtaking view of the Ganges and do not miss the sunrise. The food is good and hygienic with only vegetarian food being served without onion and garlic. It is located in Assi Ghat which while being in the crowded ghat area, is certainly my suggestion to stay when you are in Varanasi.

Well worth the money spent and will certainly go back there.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for the suite. It costs 7000+taxes for a double occupancy but you can certa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaideep G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

This hotel is fine, but not worth the money. You can get better hotels for this price. I was a little bit disappointed as I thought it would be right on the Ganges - there is a road, an unattractive car park, and then about 50m of sand before you see the river. The rooms do not have a view and can be quite noisy if you get one near reception. The hotel was not dirty, but not spotless either. They could do with new sheets. Location wise... turn left as you leave the hotel and you'll find an excellent pizza place, it has garden seating overlooking the ghat and don't leave without trying the apple pie and ice cream. This is probably the best thing about the hotel. Keep going left, if you're up for it, you can walk all the way to the main ghats. It is a fun and interesting walk, but brace yourself for the touts. There doesn't seem to be a large choice of hotels right on the Ganges. Therefore, this hotel is okay if that is your main criteria. However, I would probably try somewhere different next time.

Room Tip: Ask for one not in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#15 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Banaras Haveli
Hotel Banaras Haveli
#27 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.8 mi away
WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges
1.2 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace on Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace on Ganges

Property: Palace on Ganges
Address: Assi Ghat B - 1/158, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace on Ganges 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace on Ganges is a new, immaculately clean hotel with 22 rooms, each named for -- and said to be decorated in the style of -- a different region of India. Our rooms were good-sized and well appointed (cable TV sets, non-alcholic mini-bar, tables and chairs). The staff is friendly and attentive. Food is vegetarian and well prepared. The big advantage is Palce on Ganges's location. It is at Asi Ghat, And while it's "on the Ganges," a small road and a large where you can get the cab easily from just out of the hotel. Views of the Ganges from the balcony -- and rooms facing the river -- are far less good than those from, among others hotels. Disadvantages: not all rooms face the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Palace on Ganges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace On Ganges Varanasi
Palace On Ganges Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing