We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service and a break from the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Welcome Inn at Ganges
Ranked #74 of 214 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great service and a break from the city”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Welcome Inn is rather private and quite place a few km away from the busy ghats and city center, but very easy to travel to and from ( specially once you have been to the Inn before ;-). My firned and I stayed at the place for 3 nights and were very happy with it, in fact I wanted to stay for one more day but the room was already booked by somebody else, so don't wait too long to book the Inn. The rooms are clean and the staff is the best ever! The owner/manager Abhishek gave us so much help with the transportation arrangements, tickets, direction and more, that made our stay and further travels easy and very enjoyable. If you are arriving to Varanasi they could help you with the pick up from you train station. Just lovely !! a tip, before arrival ask for the proper directions if you are not using Inn's pick up.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YuryMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome INN V, Owner at Welcome Inn at Ganges, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi, It is great to see your review and this really help us and give us extra energy to keep doing our job in better way. We are so happy to see you have loved staying here. We will look forward to see you again if you get chance to come to varanasi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The place felt wonderfully friendly, warm and welcoming. It is a new Inn and there are a few things to work on such as hot showers and phone for room service, however the spaciousness of the rooms, including living area and balcony, as-well as the fantastic food made it a place I would all the same recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Emmie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome INN V, Owner at Welcome Inn at Ganges, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for staying at our property and giving us chance to service you. We always love to hear from our guest and your suggestions, compliments help us. We are very happy to read that you liked our service and food. As there is only 2 floors and few rooms hence we had not added the telephone thinking it will not be necessary as we are easily approachable but seeing your suggestion we are soon going to add it. In rooms there is 24 hrs hot running water in left tab but i hope it was not explained while check In and we are sorry for any inconvenience cost due to this and We will make sure to explain to our future guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This place was best value for my spending as rooms were spacious, clean and very good support at all the time from manager. Manager has very good knowledge about anything you want to know related to tourism in India and he helped me with lots of suggestion and further planning which worked very well. Breakfast was delicious and view were awesome from rooftop. The pantoon brige (temprorary) was very nearby at 10 minutes walk and we walked across holy river through the bridge to see Varanasi kings palace and other places were also nearby. Abhishek had managed boat, tuk tuk and taxi all when I required. I loved staying there and wanted to stay more in city of light.. I will definitely recommend them to my friends going there..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome INN V, Owner at Welcome Inn at Ganges, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you kind review. We enjoyed providing you service at every point and We like sharing information with you on tourism as you wanted to know more about places. We thank you again for recommendation and we will look forward for your next visit if you come to Varanasi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I loved staying at Welcome Inn. This was best place i have stayed during my tour of India. Rooms are very spacious, large and clean. Owner was very friendly and helping on everything i wanted during my stay.
It was 1km from assi ghat in very silent residential area near ganges. Varanasi city is very dusty and full of hustle & bussle wherein welcome inn gave me all the silence required after visiting old city and ghats. They offer very good fresh food in room or rooftop. Wifi was working very nicely from room instead of going to rooftop or lobby unlike other hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

After staying at several noisy and dusty places in Varanasi, we decided to try this place.

It was spotlessly clean, and very very quiet. I can say in my experience that this combination in varanasi is very rare. I slept like a baby and was very happy to stay there. Not so congested like in the ghats.

Management seemed very helpful and caring.

It is in a non touristy location. There are many large mansions around the area. About 5-10 min auto rickshaw to Assi Ghat. The road getting there was not so good, many many bumps and pot holes and extremely dusty. This was the only issue I would say. Other than that it was perfect.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Madhavananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Welcome Inn. The staff and especially the manager, Abishek, are very friendly and helpful, and they organise tours, taxis etc. at very reasonable prices (I checked them against a travel agent's quotes, which were about double). Also, the food they serve is excellent, the rooms are very spacious and comfortable, and they have cable TV with plenty of English channels if you want to escape the sheer craziness and dirtiness that is Varanasi (and they are far enough away from the centre to be quiet at night, no small consideration in one of the noisiest cities I have ever been to). Finally, each room has its own A/C unit which you can control, which is important as plenty of other places in India control the A/C centrally and basically skimp outrageously unless you engage in shouting matches with management (but see issues with power below).

Downsides are minimal: my room's shower was cold because the plummer 'stuffed up' and didn't hook the hot water up to the nozzle, but you can put up to 15 liters of hot water into a bucket and pour it on yourself (which works fine); and the city has daily power cuts, which the hotel's generator deals with unless the mains is off for too long (but any hotel bar the 5-stars will have this problem).

So, bottom line, this hotel is excellent value for money. I would recommend it to anyone not prepared to pay top-dollar - and if you are a 5-star traveler, don't come to Varanasi - with all the crowds and cow-dung and constant dust from the pot-holed roads you'll end up trapped in your hotel crying like a little girl... Varanasi is definitely not for the faint-hearted!

Room Tip: If you do want a 'real shower' then ask, because they told me that the plummer only stuffed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome INN V, Owner at Welcome Inn at Ganges, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Sir, We wish you very happy new year 2014. Thank you for taking time to share your suggestions and compliments for us. We had great time talking with you on different issues, listening to your views and sharing ours. We are already working to connect hot water line with shower as currently in that room only hot water comes in tap and not in shower. In the mean time bucket is kept to get hot water from tap and take bath by pouring it till its not fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I would like to say that the service was excellent. Abishek was a wonderful host, and was extremely kind and helpful. He organised our onward hotel and the driver to take us to the station. Nothing was too much trouble. he even intervened for us when our auto rickshaw driver was demanding more money for transporting us to the hotel . The hotel was slightly further away from the main tourist area but it was in a quiet location, and we enjoyed the walk along the ghats to reach the main sights. The room was clean and comfortable and the sevice good. I would recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Penelope S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
3.3 mi away
Pallavi International Hotel
Pallavi International Hotel
#28 of 79 in Varanasi
82 reviews
2.1 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
281 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kedar Guest House
Kedar Guest House
#4 of 220 in Varanasi
330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ganga Monastery
Ganga Monastery
#155 of 214 in Varanasi
126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Banaras Paying Guest house
Banaras Paying Guest house
#5 of 214 in Varanasi
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Inn at Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Inn at Ganges

Property: Welcome Inn at Ganges
Address: N1/66 - 69a | Mahesh Nagar, Samne Ghat Road, Varanasi 221005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 214 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Inn at Ganges is newly built property nearby Ganges. It is well furnished & equipped with modern amenities and free wifi can be accessed from room considering current requirement of our guest while traveling. It is located in very nice, silent and safe area nearby mighty ganges river. One can walk from this accommodation to Ganges and even can stand on the walking bridge to have great view or Kings palace can be seen from roof top on otherside of river. Welcome Inn at ganges is all about feel of staying at home & enjoying luxury of hotel. We have very friendly staff and natural atmosphere. As our property is located near holy ganges river hence you can have very nice views. Most important sightseeing points are nearly located Like Birla temple(University campus), Varanasi Kings Palace, Sankatmoch(Monkey temple - famous name), Durga temple and White marble Manas temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Welcome Inn at Ganges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing