We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern hotel”
Review of Rivatas by Ideal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rivatas by Ideal
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The highlight of this new hotel in the cantonment area, thankfully outside the chaos of the main part of town, is the amazing food in the main restaurant. We found the overall hotel service very good, as well, and so are the prices. The hotel has cut a few corners with construction, all seemingly cosmetic (acoustical tile in the luxe bathrooms seem like a mistake, and our TV was hung crooked). The feel is very modern and stylish, if a tad spare. The staff couldn't do enough to help and offered many times to assist with tour arrangements. When we arrived almost at sundown, not with a group, the team whisked about to arrange for us to make the ghat evening ceremony on the Ganges. The hotel truly seems like a wonderful addition to the Varanasi scene in a town not to be missed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 674 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is probably the best hotel in Varanasi. Better than the old fashioned Taj. The suites are impeccable and the staff is very efficient, friendly and prompt in giving answers to any of your querries. The food at the Grill on the ocean is VERY good with a great service. Not the same for breakfast as if you happen to have a Tour with dozens of Koreans you'll have to fight to even get an egg, if they dont take it from your plate as it happened to us!! Otherwise breakfast is ok. Very good massages with very good staff. Next time in Varanasi, another time at Rivatas!

Room Tip: Try a high floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Romanbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Rivatas while being outwith the main buzz of Varansi is the ideal tourist hotel. We stayed here two nights and ate in both restaurants. From check in everything went smoothly. The Manager upgraded us to a complimentary suite which was very spacious and had all the modern comforts you'd expect - satellite tv, air-con, fridge, tea/coffee making, in-room safe. Travel to the Ghats was easy with tuk tuk and taxi located directly opposite the hotel - make sure you haggle!

We did not use the swimming pool or spa but they both looked nice.

On the first night we ate in the buffet restaurant. We opted for the A la Carte menu and the food was very nice.

On the second night we opted for the grill restaurant which was fantastic. The unusual aspect of having the food skewered on the grill at your table was a great focal point and chance to share and compare foods! This barbecue style was right up our street and we loved it! We did eat too much and they do warn you to keep room for more! The starters were filling enough even before the skewers were introduced. The staff were all very nice and attentive and happily brought you more of the courses you liked best.

PROS
Lovely clean spacious modern rooms
Good restaurants in the hotel
Friendly reception staff

CONS
Bar was located in the old part of the hotel and wasn't the same standard as the new hotel
Location is not near the Ghats - though this suited us perfectly

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leglessannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Spent two nights at the Rivatas. I've traveled to Varanasi many times for business, but this was my first time at the Rivatas. The room was excellent and spacious. Varanasi is a very hectic city, so having some place to relax and refresh at the end of a day is key. The personal BBQ restaurant was a big highlight as well.

I will be returning during my next trip to India! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

An excellent hotel, away from the stresses of Varanasi. All the staff was very friendly especially the travel consultant is a really nice person, he helped us. The rooms are large and decorated with modern design.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alegría P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Rivatas is nice hotel at such price with some obvious scopes of improvement. We were two sisters and took the massage in the same room which was very relaxing and good, so much that we took it for all three days that we stayed. We liked the massage very much. The oil they use was very good and the combination of oil and hands of therapists made us fresh even after the tiring schedule. The food they serve is excellent. But the style of pool is way too ancient and doesn’t suit the hotel. The hotel room is spacious comfortable and silent making your stay a soothing one away from the hassle of city. I will recommend hotel rivatas strongly for there food and spa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Was at this hotel on 7 august with family. Breakfast is really good, rooms are spacious and well maintained. The locality is good and is suitable for those who don't like busty market yard crowds. Swimming pool and gym are remarkable . I have never seen such hotel for this price tag of 3k.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krishna_joshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 80 in Varanasi
1,490 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 80 in Varanasi
339 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#11 of 80 in Varanasi
505 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivatas by Ideal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivatas by Ideal

Address: The Mall Road | Cantonment Varanas, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: $94 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivatas by Ideal 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rivatas by Ideal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing