We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massively overrated”
Review of Blue Lassi

Blue Lassi
Ranked #2 of 7 Dessert in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Massively overrated”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

So I'm winding around aimlessly in the endless Varanasi streets, and "Blue Lassi" seems to be painted on the corner of every building I see. It's also accompanied by 브루라씨 or ブルーラッシー, etc, so they are trying to reach every possible visitor.

The place looks like a crowded discotheque, the prices are 2x (but still ultra cheap), and half of the menu seemed to be out of season.

The biggest annoyance was that blueberry lassi is not blueberry lassi at all, but in fact it's grapes. Out of season, but still it would have been nice to have been told that prior to ordering.

Touristy, but still it costs nothing so it's somewhat recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manh_attan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    875
    289
    115
    36
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“try it!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

at the beginning I was a bit afraid to try lassie in general because in India I was very careful about food. At the end I decided to try and it was definitely good! Very yummy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank valeandkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Must visit for lassi”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great lassi with different flavors and assortments. Seems to be very popular with tourists. Not a place to sit down for hours with only few spots available in a small room. Nevertheless, a must visit if you want to try lassi with different flavors. You would probably find lassi in many other places near the ghats but Blue Lassi does have a lot of add on options which might be unavailable at other shops.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swarnadeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You must visit here.”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Blue lassi is a great place to stop and enjoy the delicious lassi. I would recommend a pomegranite and banana lassi.
Staff lovely and helped us out with our directions.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Unimpressive”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had plain lassi in several places in Varanasi and this was our least favorite. The best one was at a place near the Thethri bazaar college with no name.
The ONLY thing going for blue lassi is that they have a place for tourists to sit down while they quaff down their beverage.
Summary: totally overrated. Ask the locals where to get better lassi.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chhavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lassi also viewed

Varanasi, Varanasi District
Varanasi, Varanasi District
 
Varanasi, Varanasi District
Varanasi, Varanasi District
 
Varanasi, Varanasi District
Varanasi, Varanasi District
 

Been to Blue Lassi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing