We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful owners, poor location, and infraestructure” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azure Family Paying Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Azure Family Paying Guest House
Ranked #16 of 206 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Helpful owners, poor location, and infraestructure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. Sona, the owner is really helpful. I needed a pick up from the train station and she replied right away, besides that I did a mistake in my booking, (I booked two nights instead one) and she didn't care.
However the cons are:
-Poor infrastructure. The room and bathroom were probably the poorest quality infrastructure of guest houses that I stayed in India.
-Long walk to the gats. I took like 15/20 minutes to reach the first gate. It could be because we walked slow, but it seems to me that is longer than 10 minutes walking.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mecrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    18
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
26
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Our stay here was great. The family who owns the property was really nice, helpful and accommodating. The rooms were spacious and comfortable (the paint scheme was awesome too). The food was also amazing! :)

The location was really good, you can walk pretty much everywhere and Ganges is a short/interesting 10min walk from here. You can also catch local transport very easily.

Thank you also for teaching me how to cook Paneer Butter Masala and giving me the spices - I can't wait to try this at home. Overall we had a lovely stay here, thank you so much!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the roof top rooms which was great as we had a good view around us (and the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlow2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzureGuestHouse, Owner at Azure Family Paying Guest House, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest
Thanks for your excellent review.
We appreciate and welcome your feedback .
Looking forward to seeing you again .

Best wishes
Sona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Sona and her family are very welcoming and make you feel at home. For all your needs just ask and Sona will do her best to accommodate,she is very helpful and friendly. She also makes a great mug of tea!! The rooms are very funky and colourful,spacious,very clean and tidy,hot water is available on demand and the mattress very comfy! The wifi is also very good and on 24 hours and does not switch off during power cuts,very handy! It's a 10 minute walk to Kedar Ghat which is centrally located and good for access to all the Ghats. Sona cooks fresh home made meals which she needs a little advance warning over,the Gobi paranthas with green sauce in the morning are a great way to start the day,very delicious. You can organise most things from here,river trips,tours etc and one of the best things is that it's away from all the madness. It's great to experience the Ghats and alleyways,but it is lovely to be able to come back and relax in a quiet family guesthouse.

Room Tip: Rooms near the reception have excellent wifi. In warm times choose a room with windows,when it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andersmark2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzureGuestHouse, Owner at Azure Family Paying Guest House, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest
Thanks for your excellent review.
We appreciate and welcome your feedback .
Hope to see you again soon !

Best wishes
Sona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDDITCH
Level Contributor
191 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is the best hotel I've stayed in in India.
We paid to be collected ftom train station and taken to hoyel. Room was large and the whole place was clean and tidy. Shower was hot although bathroom could have been better.
Just a short walk, 10 mins, from the Ghats. Good vegetarian restaurant within 5 main walk. Food was good even though i eat meet. Eat with the locals if you can get a table.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GUESStheGUEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed with Sona and her family for 10 days, the rooms were clean and hot water was always available when you asked for it.

The rooms are very colourful and the shared balcony was a great social area for all guests.

If you are looking for a bit of peace in Varanasi then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nee_NeeLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a great location if you want to be away from the hectic Ganges area. It is quiet and has a family feel. The rooms are colourful and really clean. There is hot water and cosy blankets if you need them. It is about 20 mins walk to the Ganges from here or 30-50 rupees in a bicycle rickshaw. Would recommend this good value guesthouse.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We loved our stay at this colorful and relaxing guest house! It was nice to have a calm spot to retreat to at the end of the day. Sona and her family are very warm and welcoming. The room was spacious and comfortable with a giant bed and a nice fan. The breakfast was delicious. There is a nice balcony and lounge area to relax, read, and meet other travelers. Wifi is good. Sona had great restaurant suggestions for us that were local places, not just tourist restaurants. We appreciated that. Our favorite was Kerala nearby. Definitely recommend to stay here in Varanasi!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaraG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banaras Paying Guest house
Banaras Paying Guest house
#3 of 206 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Somit Paying Guest House
Somit Paying Guest House
#10 of 206 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kanha Paying Guest House
Kanha Paying Guest House
#21 of 206 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azure Family Paying Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azure Family Paying Guest House

Property: Azure Family Paying Guest House
Address: 30 Azure Family Paying Guest House Plot Number Near Bhelupur Water Tank | Bhelupur, Varanasi 221010, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Azure Family Paying Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azure Family Paying Guest House is family run guest house located 10 minutes of walkable distance from the city center and 10 minutes of ride from Varanasi Jn railway station. Rooms are clean, big with large bathrooms, shower and western loo and balcony. Free wifi, large rooftop for lounging, meals on demand plus much more.We offer Hindi, Music and Cooking classes at the guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Azure Family Paying Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing