We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”
Review of Hotel Varuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Varuna
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We came to Varanasi for a family trip. Had booked two double bedded rooms for a day. The staff at the reception were very courteous and guided us with respect to the trip in the city. However, rest of the stay was not great. The rooms are average. The mini bar exists only on paper. No water was provided as per the promise of free 1litre per day - everything was charged. Cleanliness was average - the sofa and the table in the lobby had a good dust film on them. Food is costly and takes ages to come. For example, a dinner order for a family of four took 1.5 hours to arrive. Also, no buffet breakfast. The offered breakfast content is very limited and certainly not enough for the average varanasi visitor.. Quality of food is average - definitely not worth the price. Advantages are good location and nothing beyond that. Would not recommend to my friends. Shall try other options if I visit Varanasi again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SajjanShenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPJaiswalHV, General Manager at Hotel Varuna, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to note that there were certain services and facilities at our hotel that did not meet your expectations and your comments have been noted for necessary improvements
We take all critics, comments very positively and seriously to minimize the shortcomings and improve ourselves towards service excellence.

I have personally reviewed your feedback with our crew and have briefed them to avoid such occurrences in future. I will personally ensure training needs are revamped in areas that concern our most valued guests like you.

We would like to state that the Minibar is chargeable in almost every hotel, not only in Varanasi, but across India. We do provide complimentary Mineral water bottles with every room. Anything apart from that is chargeable. All areas of the hotel are cleaned on a regular basis, up to 3 times a day. However, the Incident was most unfortunate where the lobby sofa was dusty. I assure you, that is not the case always.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you will treat this experience in isolation and give us another chance to make your next stay flawless.

Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 173 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Though they could see this negative review coming from miles away, the management did nothing to make my stay better. They refused even a partial refund for a night I tried to cancel a week in advance, the room smelled musty, the bed was uncomfortable, the sheets were thin, there was no soap provided, and the location was less than ideal, given the long rickshaw ride to the ghats.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank dzandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPJaiswalHV, General Manager at Hotel Varuna, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to note that there were certain services and facilities at our hotel that did not meet your expectations and your comments have been noted for necessary improvements.
We take all critics, comments very positively and seriously to minimize the shortcomings and improve ourselves towards service excellence.

As your booking was made through Cleartrip.com, any modifications/cancellations are to be done through Cleartrip.com. The hotel is not responsible for any commitments made by third party agencies. We had duly informed you of the same over email since we received the first communication from you. The travel agents such as Cleartrip.com charge the hotel for the bookings they send. Hence it is not possible to cut short a reservation unless the travel agent refunds the commission charged.

I have personally reviewed your feedback about the toiletries and the room sheets with our crew and have briefed them to avoid such occurrences in future. I will personally ensure training needs are revamped in areas that concern our most valued guests like you.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you will treat this experience in isolation and give us another chance to make your next stay flawless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Checked into one of their Studio rooms which is located on the ground floor. Though the room was expected to be smmall, it was smaller than expected for a Studio room.
Also, found a rat enjoying itself in the bathroom. Called the manager who promptly got it caught and evicted. So much for hygienic and comfortable stay.
Also no running hot water in any of the taps, though they were helpful to get me a bucket-full of it in morning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Dipesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPJaiswalHV, Manager at Hotel Varuna, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to note that there were certain services and facilities at our hotel that did not meet your expectations and your comments have been noted for necessary improvements.
We take all critics, comments very positively and seriously to minimize the shortcomings and improve ourselves towards service excellence.

This incident is a unique one that has rarely happened before in the hotel. Sometimes due to continuous use of rooms there maybe unforeseen maintenance Issues with the Infrastructure, which in your case was related to the Internal plumbing. We as a hotel, will always try and compensate you for the Inconvenience caused. The occurrence of this Issue is once in a million.

I have personally reviewed your feedback with our crew and have briefed them to avoid such occurrences in future. I will personally ensure training needs are revamped in areas that concern our most valued guests like you.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you will treat this experience in isolation and give us another chance to make your next stay flawless.

Best Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed with a couple of friends in Hotel Varuna. It's a decent hotel with good facilities. Rooms were bright and airy. There was a huge balcony in the room I stayed in. Hotel people were very helpful. The transport facilities are very good to the hotel.
Centrally located place.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChesterNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Hotel Varuna is located in the heart of the city from where all major tourist points can be accessed easily. Rooms are cozy with modern amenities and the best part is you get a personal attention for all your requirements from the hotel staff. This hotel is suitable for all i.e. Family , corporate travelers & couples.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manish445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

A Very good hotel. Very hospitable staff. Very big place in the center of the varanasi. The ghats are a small rickshaw ride away. Great food as well. Good free wireless Internet. The signal was good in the room as well. Neat and clean bathrooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Hotel Varuna has a very beautiful decor. Rooms are spacious and well made. The garden is a nice place to relax and read a book. The hospitality of the staff are no less than five star standards. A good place to stay in Varanasi

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junhai J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Central Residency
Hotel Central Residency
#26 of 87 in Varanasi
121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 87 in Varanasi
523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Janki International
Hotel Janki International
#13 of 87 in Varanasi
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#14 of 87 in Varanasi
555 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#15 of 87 in Varanasi
311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gautam Hotel
Gautam Hotel
#40 of 87 in Varanasi
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Varuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Varuna

Address: 22 Gulab Bagh, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: $26 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Varuna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Varuna is a 3 star boutique hotel located in the Sigra area of Varanasi. It is at a distance of a kilometer from the Varanasi Junction Railway Station. The hotel features spacious and modern rooms, exquisite Lounge's and restaurants, beautiful Gardens and is well-equipped with banquet facilities ideal to host conferences and weddings.Free Internet Access is provided over a Wifi Network throughout all areas of the Hotel. The hotel's contemporary architecture, warm hospitality and top-notch services are sure to please travelers for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Varuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing