We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Varuna
Nearby Hotels
$127
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$65
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$30
$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ganesha(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
$13
$8
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$33
$32
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$22
$16
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
68
38
31
19
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
38
31
19
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily suitnice hotelclean toiletsnice experiencehotel serviceroom was spaciousrailway stationsignalautokilometersforeigners
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 172 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Excellent location,at the heart of the city, yet not too far from the temples and ghats,away from the chaos
Beautiful Gardens
Home like experience because of friendly staff
The lounge is the perfect place to unwind on a lazy afternoon.

Room Tip: second floor superior garden view rooms ;-)
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pukhraj_Jawanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPJaiswalHV, General Manager at Hotel Varuna, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking out time to post your feedback following your stay at Hotel Varuna, Varanasi.

We greatly appreciate your kind comments regarding our services and facilities.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Varuna, Varanasi.

Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is easily the best place to stay in the city, its moderately far from actual "river scene", but it doesnt matter because there are numerous cycle taxis, which are very cheap always nearby the hotel. Going to the old city area is easy & can be done numerous times a day back n forth because the location is just right.
The rooms are solid high end international friendly rooms. There is plenty of space, nice wooden floors, spacious bathroom with modern fixtures. The value for what you pay & what your getting is too good -very nice hotel & room. I had nothing negative to say.
Try to do a sunrise boat ride on ganges, also dont miss aarti on ganges at night near kedarGhat -& Kashi Vishwanath is epic.

Room Tip: garden side rooms are very nice with the view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sanjeev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We reached Varanasi from Lucknow and on our way we informed the manager to arrange a pick up taxi (Chargeable) from station to Hotel. The manager confirmed us about that and when we reached station the manager failed his commitment and suggested us to take a rickshaw to the Hotel. Next the rooms...the room was not at par to the rates. We checked in at 2 Pm and still the rooms were not ready. We had to wait half an hour before we could get in. The room category was superior room and the ac was not working. We had a booking for 3 nights and we complained about the ac on 1st Day and the engineers came on 3rd night. Lastly let me give u an idea about the service of the hotel. We had an order for lunch which was placed at 1:30 Pm on our 2nd day. The lunch was finally served at 4 Pm. The food rates are expensive and the quality was not up to the mark. If you prefer non-veg items then you have made a wrong choice.
But we will never forget the rickshaw puller named Asim.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank puro24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

my friend's chose to stay at the hotel varuna in the sigra district of varanasi. at first i wasn't too crazy about the location but as it turns out it is perfect for everything you want to see in varanasi and more. the rooms were well sized and clean and hot water (not that i use it as i think it's healthier to shower using whatever room temperature the water comes) was always available. the staff were always helpful and friendly right from our early arrival to our every departure ( as we explored the city as lot). but even more important was the genuine care and helpfullness that the management and staff showed us when our travel plans did not go as plan. although they were totally booked , they helped us in every possible way. it showed us the true meaning of indian hospitality. i have only wonderful memories of our stay at this hotel and in the bewildering city that is varanasi.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank deephippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Decent rooms, but they were not serviced/cleaned on day 2. The reception staff is dodgy, to say the least. They extracted 3600 Rupees for using a taxi for full day. very expensive by indian standards. the last day, i had asked for an airport drop and the car arrived 45 mins late. a friend of mine dropped me to the airport or i would have missed the flight. There was no concern in the behaviour of the reception staff. They were even reluctant to call the taxi driver to find where he was.
The ULTIMATE CON JOB is the billing. They say if you want a bill you will have to pay 17% extra as taxes. Since I never cheat taxes, I said OK give me a bill. They charged me 17% extra but the bill they gave was clearly not legit. It didnt have sales tax or service tax codes. So the "tax" is clearly pocketed by the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SidSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPJaiswalHV, Owner at Hotel Varuna, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Sir,

We apologize for the Inconvenience caused to you. Your concern is gravely noted.

However, we would like to inform you that in every room, we 'Clean My Room' door tags which are to be hung outside the door in case you wish for a room refresh.

The Hotel does not refresh a room if the guest does not request for it as per the security guidelines.A guest can request for a room refresh by hanging the door tag or explicitly Informing Housekeeping . The security of your goods is our top most priority.


In light of your taxi concerns, Hotel Varuna does not charge for taxi's nor does take any commission for vehicles booked by the Guests. This is purely a third party outsourced process. The Hotel only helps in assisting the guests with a vehicle as a free Concierge service.
The charges do not go to the Hotel and is paid directly to the Taxi Vendor. Moreover, The Hotel does not have a billing policy for the vehicle.

The Guest/Travel Agent is duly Informed of the same prior to any Vehicle Booking. Any amount discrepancy Issues are to be taken up directly with the Vendor.


The bill Issued by the Hotel is duly stamped by the Tourism Department of Varanasi as per the policy. There is no way the Hotel can pocket the tax amount and nor does the Hotel cheat taxes.
Moreover the tax amount is 17.5 % which we pay for every single booking.

We are in this Business for over 30 years and the Tax governing bodies has NEVER had any disputes with Hotel Varuna till date.

We thank you for your review and concerns and will make the process to Inform the Guests about the Hotel Policies more stringent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews