We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY BAD HOSPITALITY: they lost it because they are booked for months”
Review of Hotel Ganges View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ganges View
Ranked #10 of 217 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I decided to go because all the guides are so enthusiastic ( and the people as well)
It was a catastrophy: first, when we arrived, we found out that they had forgotten about our booking ( i sent 5 e-mails in 2 weeks and they always said everything was in order). We ended up in a very bad room on the ground floor, without hot water, we always had to ask them to come to fix it, the shower was not working, in the morning we couldn' t sleep because the '' bedroom'' was in the corridor leading to the terrace. From 6.30 am, it was noisy with all the people going up for breakfast.
But the worse part is the hospitality, so bad, i have never had this before. Not a single smile, every time you ask them for something you can see how ''happy'' they are, they are so cold, it is not even funny.The worse welcome i ever had.
As they proudly say, they are full for months and it went up to their head . They forgot the most important thing: a minimal sense of hospitality. For the rooms, i cannot say as i didn't have the privilege to get a decent one!
At the end, when i told them that i was really not happy about the room because it was so noisy and bad, they said nothing, they just don't care. It's only business there.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djbambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ganges View
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 449 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2009

After a two hour car journey, 12 hours on a train and 20 hair-raising minutes in an auto-rickshaw, I arrived at the Ganges View and could have cried... because it's such a lovely hotel and such an oasis of calm. The staff were very welcoming and made sure I had something to eat and drink even though they had long since served dinner. The hotel is in a great location and is full of character, the rooms are lovely, the terrace has great views over the Ganges and the food is excellent. And it's great value. Overall, I couldn't fault this place. It's small - another of its charms - and seems always to be full, so make sure you book well in advance.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BackInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

We requested a river view room at this hotel via email and received a prompt reply confirming availability and the rate. We had intended on staying two nights but due to a train delay we missed our flight which meant we could stay only one night. However, we saw everything we wanted to including the evening prayers at the main ghat and evening and morning boat rides along the ghats. The hotel is located about 23km from the airport. However, traffic into and out of the old town is horrendous, even by Indian standards. The roads are way too small to accommodate the volume of road users. Beware of this if you are flying out of Varanasi and make sure you leave sufficient time - it took us one and half hours by taxi leaving the old town at 1.15 in the afternoon (and we think our driver thought he was competing in a Grand Prix whenever he got on a straight bit of road!)

The hotel is located on a quiet ghat and is NOT to be confused with the adjoining "Palace on the Ganges".

Hotel Ganges View is a Heritage hotel and would be quite at home in an Agatha Christie novel. Quiet calm, ticking clocks, a proper dining room - delicious. Talking of which, all food served here is strict vegetarian - not even garlic or onions are used and, they don't serve alcohol. If you want to bring your own - it's not allowed in the dining room.

Dinner is a varied fixed menu and is generally served at 8.00 p.m. with all guests seated together - this makes for interesting conversations.

Our room had a beautiful four poster bed, lovely furniture and furnishings and plenty of very hot water - however they did forget to provide us with any loo roll!

We had pretty rubbish weather whilst we were there - we didn't do a very early morning boat ride as there was torrential rain (yeah, we got up, checked it out, went back to bed) but a leisurely walk and boat ride a little later on enabled us to witness all the morning activities (we think the locals gave sunrise a miss too!)

The hotel was very lovely but the staff did not make us feel especially welcome, either as a paying guest or as a visitor to their remarkable city.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank madabouttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Ganges View for 2 nights. The hotel is all about class, from the little pond at the bottom of the stairs, the dinner room, our room and the terrace. Although most rooms do not have the direct view of the ghat, the terrace does. Food was one of the best during our 5-week trip to India.

The free internet is very much appreciated. Everyone we met at the hotel only had praise for the place. We would go back to Varanasi partly because of this magnificient hotel.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank linny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed at the Ganges View Hotel in Varanasi for 4 nights and found the hotel to be delightful, spotlessly clean and the staff were very helpful. The rooms were spacious and modern offering airconditioning and modern clean bathrooms.

Although the rooms did not offer views, the terrace upstairs offered greats views of the Ganges River and the lifestyle of Varanasi.

The restaurant served delicious vegetarian food and there was always plenty of it.

The location of the hotel at Assi Ghat was the best in Varanasi as it was a quieter location then other parts of the river.

Even though our stay at Ganges View was good, 4 nights in Varanasi was too long. We should have moved on after 2 days.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sundot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We stayed here for several days in January and loved the very special heritage hotel - it still feel like you're a guest in someone's beautiful home. The location right on Assi Ghat is perfect, and the photographs we took from the tranquil hotel terrace and around the area are amongst our treasures. The food is wonderful (though sometimes a little more would have been appreciated - there was a large group staying and you certainly didn't want to be at the end of the line). Staff and management were wonderful - friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We had prepaid through our travel agent so there were no hassles about rates etc.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bugfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stayed at the Ganges View for 2 nights with our daughter who lives in South India. We had made arrangements with the hotel to be picked up at the airport and that worked out well, or so we thought.

This heritage hotel is like stepping back in time, but with modern conveniences like AC and nice, new bathroom. Our room was beautifully decorated and wall painting over the bed was magnificent. The room was directly overlooking the Ganges and is at the end of the Ghats.

Central Varanasi is the most vibrant city I have been to and there is even a loudspeaker outside the hotel that broadcasts prayers at various times. So if you are looking for a quiet oasis, this would probably not be it.

The staff was very helpful and arranged a 2-hour boat ride up the Ganges at dawn for us as well as a tour of the Old City. We would not venture to the Old C ity ourselves because it is a maze of extremely narrow streets and we knew we would never be able to find our way out. The guide was well worth it or I would still be lost in there instead of writing this review.

When we arrived we were told by the manager that breakfast and lunch were complimentary so we had lovely breakfasts on the terrace outside our room. overlooking the sights Tried to have dinner the night of our arrival as we had heard the food was great, but the cook was out. Same for lunch, no cook available, although they did make us some delicious grilled paneer sandwiches.

Our stay was awesome, except for some things that I will call "miscommunications." First, I thought the drive from the airport was part of the rate, as for other hotels. We requested it in our email and when they confirmed without stating that there was a fee, I thought it was included. Silly me. The fee was quite high, so we went to the hotel next door and asked what they charged. They charged 150 Rs less each way. When we told this to the manager, he agreed to lower the fee so it was only 100 more than next door's rate for the total.

Next, when we went to check out, we were billed for breakfast and lunch. Of course, we thought this was an error because all 3 of us all heard the manager state that these meals were complimentary. At all 6 other hotels we stayed at during our travels in India, at a minimum, breakast was included. Then we were told that our room was 500 Rs more than stated in confirming email. Luckily, I did have that in writing and showed the manager the email confirmation and he had to agree, but on breakfast and lunch, I ended up paying for half, just so that we could resolve it quickly.

I really liked the eccentric atmosphere of the hotel and I would stay there again, as long as I had everything in writing. If it weren't for the miscommunications, it would be a 5 in my book.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TripAdFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
1.4 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 79 in Varanasi
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#16 of 79 in Varanasi
265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#15 of 79 in Varanasi
256 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ganges View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganges View

Address: Assi Ghat, Varanasi 221005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range: $118 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ganges View 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ganges View guest is one of best guest house in Varanasi or Banaras those are situated at unique oldest city in the world or holy pilgrimage cities in India located on the Banks of the Holy Ganges...... and so much ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing