We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ganges View
Nearby Hotels
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$78
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Buddha(Varanasi)
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ganesha(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
$13
$8
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alka(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
$31
$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$27
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shiva Ganges View(Varanasi)
$53
$37
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$29
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveler rating
202
180
67
23
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
180
67
23
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsganges viewthe riverantique furniturevegetarian dinnerbuffet styleapple pieother guestsindian breakfastsmall hotelpublic areassitting areaboutique hotelno alcoholfirst flooryogurtwonderful hotelhome cooked
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 498 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2014

An atmospheric and lovely hotel. Nice room, not overly big, but fine Very high bed: You would not want to fall out of it. Wonderful cuisine, the best we ate in India in a long time -- maybe ever!

Only two negative points: (1) The room we had was on the terrace (Room 14), so we had to keep the curtains closed much of the time, which kept us from enjoying the view and made the room seem smaller. But we could step outside the room for the view. (2) More serious: The toilet stank. Clearly the ventilation is inadequate. They tried to make up for it by having a very strong exhaust fan, which just made the bathroom cold!

Still, a very enjoyable stay. And an excellent location. And great food!

Don't mis the Indian flute seller who hangs out in front of the hotel (Do, however, miss the unwashed beggar with a pet monkey who apparently never washes -- beggar or monkey.) The flutist wlll not only help you select a flute to buy, he will give free lessons over several days.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joneall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at the Ganges View near the end of January, the nights were cold and the days cool.
We enjoyed our stay.
The location is excellent on the banks of the Ganges river right next to the ghats.
It is fairly high up, so from the verandah and roof terrace you overlook the footpath, steps and river, great for people watching, and easy to get a boat from here.
Our room was clean and comfortable, enough blankets and there was a good electric heater.
There was no fridge, or tea/ coffee making facilities.
The shower was the open type with no recess/ glass doors or curtain.
The taps had to be turned on to run for 5 mins before the hot water came through, but it is there and hot !
There is free Wi Fi but it only worked in the public areas.
The food was vegetarian only but was good, and plentiful. We had a continental breakfast with hot porridge, muesli, toast, and papaya but there weren't any eggs.
There are plenty of public areas to relax, open terrace or cosy lounge.
The staff were excellent, tried to please and friendly and smiling.
There are other places to eat close by, eg a pizza café next door.

Room Tip: Our room had an enclosed verandah in front and overlooked the river, great.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moombee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Booked on the recommendation of friends, this was a welcome change from the modern box-like hotels so prevalent in Indian cities. An old house, on many levels, overlooking the ghats, the place was friendly and ideal for a short stopover in this crowded, noisy city. There is enough to see along the river over a few days and the Ganges View was an ideal base.

There are indoor and outdoor sitting areas all over the hotel and breakfast is brought to you. (Vegetarian) dinner in the dining room is available on request.

No pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RdeS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

A very warm welcoming place, the guest house is prime location to the Ganges . Was bit tricky to walk to but our taxi driver helped us carry our luggages up. They have two little dogs there at the reception and walking in there it does feel like going to someone's house. It's not a big place but it's cosy and with all the antique collections and decor, the place does have character !

The rooms were quite small and bit dark but for what it's worth , I do highly recommend it! They're dinner buffet is a must try. Home cooked vegetarian meals, so delicious !!! It is served in the dining area downstairs, almost feels like your back in time with the surrounding decors. Has a very colonial feel to it.

They have a lovely outdoor balcony where you can chill out with a beer and enjoy the Ganges river view. Ask the reception, they can organise a boat tour of the Ganges, do it early morning if possible , not only you beat the crowd , the sunrise is worth it . A lot is already happening on the river so you'll get to see a quite eye opening view.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Like other reviewers below, I had mixed feelings about this hotel hence the mixed rating.. I spent 3 nights here recently. The plus is that it's very pretty. The minus is that there is an odd and creepy atmosphere about it. The people are offhand and seem to be indifferent to your presence. You wouldn't call them warm or friendly. Food was simple but good although dinner subject to cancellation without notice.(I was also warned in advance by a knowledgeable friend that they can also 'lose' your reservation in an instant.). I'd also watch out for the money/credit card transaction at the other shop. All in all it was relatively expensive for what it was. If alternatives were available, I'm not sure I'd return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews