We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ganges View
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Varanasi
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Haifa(Varanasi)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Cresent Villa(Varanasi)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    Hotel Divya(Varanasi)
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Hotel Ganesha(Varanasi)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
      Reviews (498)
      Filter reviews
      498 results
      Traveler rating
      202
      180
      67
      23
      26
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      202
      180
      67
      23
      26
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsganges viewthe riverantique furniturevegetarian dinnerbuffet styleapple pieother guestsindian breakfastsmall hotelpublic areassitting areaboutique hotelno alcoholfirst flooryogurtwonderful hotelhome cooked
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      210 - 215 of 498 reviews
      Reviewed April 15, 2013

      (please note that my rating are given in the context of the price, location and alternative places I have seen/visited).
      Given its central location, the hotel can get accessed relatively easy. From the train station, you can get a pre-paid tuk tuk for 95rupee and it takes around 15-20min depending on traffic. By car, you can get very close to it as well.
      The hotel is lovely decorated and clean - with different rooms - most bigger ones however have no window and open to the inner halls. Ask for a room with window or just spend all the time outside - it is worth it.
      There is only internet around the reception - so you need to come down and sit there. You will also notice that a lot of different staff will work at the reception, and depending on whom, this can mean very helpful and nice to qiute the opposite.
      Food is great and breakfast can be served anywhere in the hotel.
      The owner is a very distinquised man, very knowledgable person - though not that often accessible.

      Ensure you go for a boat trip in the morning (5.15-8am) and evening (5.30/6). Make a 2h tour - it is around 100rupee/person/h. plus tip of course. you shouldnt take pictures of the burning ghates - you can ask your bost man to pull over and a priest takes you around for a "contribution" for those people that can not afford to buy the wood for the burning. If you want to take pictures you can ask for a permission - though costing 80.000rupee.

      If you find this helpful, thx for letting me know. Def would return to the ganga questhouse.

      Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
      24  Thank Patrick O
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed April 15, 2013

      A very well furnished hotel with interesting furniture and works of art. The drains smelled very bad in our room but as we were out a lot it wasn't too bad but they do need seeing to. The Air Conditioning was a disaster and as it was very hot not a pleasant experience to try to sleep. I got the feeling management turned it off to keep the bills down.The staff were very happy to help though you have to go downstairs to ask for anything as there is no internal phone.A good location for seeing the river.

      Room Tip: Go as high as you can.
      • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      6  Thank panddkeegan
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed April 14, 2013

      Our stay at the Gange Hotel started pleasant with the hotel picking us up at the airport in a decent car (900 rupees). The hotel is at the Assgi Ghat which is the last one. The hotel, is much like all the buildings in Varanasi being it is narrow and multi-leveled. If you are older or a bit handicapped it would be difficult to walk up and down all the stairs. The rooms are alright for Inida, the beds are a wooden board with a two inch pad on top so be prepared for a hard bed with a hard pillow. It does have a/c in the room but the power goes on and off a lot. My main complaint was that the hotel seemed to turn the power off during the day and expect you just to use the fans. Since the cost of the hotel is between (3,500 and 4,000 rupess) I can not expect too terribly much. The staff was helpful and curtious, not much for food choices but down the street is an amazing café called the Open Hand café and I would HIGHLY recommend doing a lot of your eating there!!

      Room Tip: Book a room on the side that overlooks the Gange, number 15 and 16 are good.
      • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank travels4849
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed April 13, 2013

      This hotel is the perfect stay in Varanasi. It is in front of the Gange in a nice and quite gath. The rooms are clean and confortable. There is a big terrace where you can enjoy not just the view, but the night, the sunset and any single moment of your day in varanasi. It is also a perfect place to relax and take a brake from the chaos of the city or during a long trip.
      The manager is a really nice guy, but all the staff is very kind with the guests giving nice suggestions or help when needed.

      This was the hotel where one of the most important and famous italian journalists of the last century used to stay, Tiziano Terzani. Well for me this is enough for booking a room here. If I'll come back in India, I will certainly come back in this hotel.

      • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank 421albertom
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed March 24, 2013

      I stayed at this hotel once in 2008 during monsoon season, it was empty and easy to walk in and get a room. Since that time, I have tried three times to book a reservation as we would like to come back. The first time, I was told bookings cannot be made more than six months in advance. So when we inquired closer to our departure date, we were told the hotel was full. The next year, we were told they had no reservations for the entire year. Our third attempt at a reservation in 2012 resulted in a confirmation, but then two weeks later we were told the reservation was canceled. This place is a mess. No reservation system. They seem to want to cater only to those who come back year after year and make it impossible for anyone else to stay there, very walled, non-inclusive atmosphere, stay away unless you don't mind getting your reservation canceled (or finding one at all).

      • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank ChristianZane
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews