We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ganges View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ganges View
Ranked #12 of 206 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich
Level Contributor
173 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were most enchanted by this little hotel when we first got to Varanasi and especially by the locations and the views. It is small, personal and has a lovely terrace to sit on for breakfast or meals if you can stand the heat. The staff was quite friendly and the food was good, if you like vegetarian food and no alcohol..The rooms were clean but the bathroom shower was not good and in that heat.. you need a good shower. We made the mistake of walking along the Ganges from the hotel towards the city centre, which is 1) a long way to go and 2) you get accosted by unpleasant locals accusing you of taking photographs you shouldn't be taking and trying to get money out of you..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carohuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    157
    62
    21
    22
See reviews for
46
212
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We booked at Ganges View thanks to tripadvisor reccomendations. Staff is very kind, we first discovered it via e-mail (thank you Prakash!) and then by person during our stay. The Hotel has a special old times atmosphere, nice cleaned rooms and a beautiful terrace where you can have breakfast and have a rest during the day. The food is very nice and the location is good to discover the ghats, the Muslim district, the Monkeys temple and the fort. 45 minutes drive by taxi from the airport and the same from railway station Varanasi Junction SBS. They are restoring the building. If we can back to Varanasi we will defenetely stay there are recommend it to other tourists.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

I was really stressed about my trip to India before i go to Varanasi. But i saw that comments about that hotel are right. We really liked the hotel and the staff are very helpfull. Its location is excellent. You are in the herart of the Ganges! Room and bath is very clean. İ saw some luxury hotels in the city center. But in Varanasi i belive that you have to stay in the heart, means Ganges. There is wi-fi in the lobby but i also used it in my room. Our room is at the down side. I preferred this room because it is chepaer than the Ganges viewed rooms. But as i se there is no need for this rooms. Because the roof is for everyone, and you never need to see Ganges from the room. Generally i recommend this hotel. Thanks to Prakash and his crew.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alp34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

This place is adequate. The building is very pleasant with lots of outdoor common seating areas and nice decor. We had a room at the top with a Ganges view. Room was extremely tiny with very little space to walk around. Shower temperature was finicky, pressure just ok. Bathroom clean. Room service was good for breakfast, they did not offer lunch or dinner on the days we were there. Excellent location in Assi Ghat. Friendly staff. Not many amenities in room, no TV or internet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ks521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was a very comfortable hotel with an excellent location - probably the best if you want to stay on the ghats. It had a greta view and was right on Assi Ghat. The staff was helpful and friendly.

The room was tastefully decorated and the bathroom was clean. Not many amenities in the room - no TV.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhusu26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in April and we were disappointed in this property. Although we had a top floor room it was small and poky and curtains had to remain closed to have any privacy. The shower did not work and the towels were so old and grey that it was difficult to make yourself use them. Staff were at best indifferent and we rarely even warranted a smile from any of them.
The breakfast was fairly minimum and the one lunch we had was all out of packets including slices of processed cheese, so we didn't even attempt dinner. In its favour the outside terrace was a gorgeous place to sit and there was a pleasant seating area upstairs. Location was nice and quiet amidst the frenzy of the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinecoastal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We are in the cheaper ground floor rooms and the price of ours is 3000 Rps £38 per night so not sure where the av. Price is coming from especially as the rooms above are 4000 Rps.

We have been travelling through northern India for a month and this hotel is 50% more expensive than any previous hotels we have stayed in but far inferior. See Devi Bhawan in Jodhpur or Umaid Bhawan in Jaipur for comparison. This hotel is simply very poor value for money.

Our bedroom is small and and the bathroom is even smaller. The room is very dark as there is no window and the 3 sets of paneled glass doors look out onto an internal corridor. This means you need the light on the whole time and can't see anything from your room. The corridor isn't air conditioned or private so isn't where you want to be. To be honest the ground floor bedrooms don't feel like they were designed to even be bedrooms.

From the real windows in the corridor you still can't see the Ganges as there are buildings obstructing the view.

The room was clean and had aircon and a fan but there was a mouse in our room the first night again something we hadn't come across before in India.

When we turned up for dinner on our first night at 730pm we were told they weren't serving any dinner as no guests had said they were coming. Nobody on the staff had told us we had too prebook though. There was no dinner the second night either.

The dining room looks nice but there were 4 members of staff lying down in it when I entered and one asked what I wanted when I entered so I didn't really feel comfortable lingering.

The standard of English from the staff is poor and I haven't found them helpful in the slightest. When I asked about WiFi I was told it only worked in reception when I came back and tried to get on it a few moments later I was then told it wasn't working.

No information was given on the hotel or things to do or see in the surrounding area.

We left the hotel earlier than planned. I can't comment on what else there is in Varanasi but this hotel isn't good value.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.1 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 76 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 76 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 76 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
1.4 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 76 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
2.8 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ganges View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganges View

Property: Hotel Ganges View
Address: Assi Ghat, Varanasi 221005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ganges View 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ganges View guest is one of best guest house in Varanasi or Banaras those are situated at unique oldest city in the world or holy pilgrimage cities in India located on the Banks of the Holy Ganges...... and so much ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing