We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis in Varanasi....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“an oasis in Varanasi....”
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Varanasi was always going to be a cultural visit - not a resort type city for western travellers as it is one of India's oldest and most important religious destinations.
The Ganges and the Ghats were fascinating especially when seen from the rowboats on the river itself. A place teeming with people wanting to carry out their prayers and pilgrimage to this holy place. For us the city was an eye opener and the hotel allowed us a pleasant respite after the sightseeing of the day.Not for everyone but a destination that I had to visit. It is a must visit if you want a small insight into the cultural side of India.
Hiring of private cars via the hotel to take you around in comfort and without the crowds of organised tours is cheap (approx: AUD$30 for 4 hours - driver + car) and easy.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    635
    296
    57
    32
See reviews for
321
498
98
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

I stayed 2 nights at the Gateway, whilst the hotel is past it's prime (as an ex Taj), it is still clean and quiet. and the staff and services more than make up for it. I am not sure why a previous reviewer had noise problems as we didn't.

I had arranged for an airport pick up (847Rp) and was met at the airport by a very friendly driver in a clean well maintained car. Check in was quick and no hassle.

I had booked a Taj summer holidays deal which gave me an executive suite with breakfast and dinner included, this ended up being a very good deal as the room was spacious, clean and more than adequate for us. The bed was comfortable and the linen clean and crisp. Housekeeping was good and the towel 'swan' was a nice touch. The breakfast and dinner buffets were adequate, but more importantly, they were safe to eat unlike another buffet in a 5 star we stayed at.

Soon after checking in My wife and I had to look at how we could get her to the temple for the 3am worship (as she is a devotee) and then down to the river for a pre-dawn bathing. The travel desk was beyond excellent, they arranged everything, tickets, driver, guide etc (2500Rp). The whole experience would not have been possible without their help.

We also arranged a spa for my wife after the dawn bathing and worship which continued the whole experience with a cleansing ceromony in the spa (7100Rp + tax). She was taken by horse and carriage to and from the spa which she loved. Just to cap it off we also had another spa at 5pm with both of us getting a massage and time in a rose petal covered bath with a bottle of very acceptable champaine (9377Rp + Tax).

Being a smoker that does not smoke inside, i spent time out the front of the lobby talking to teh doorman and staff and enjoyed their company and conversation.

Overall this hotel may be a little on the old side but the staff and service as well as the spa more than make up for it. The amazing experience we had in varanasi just would not have been possible without the help of the staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gsad1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Too much road noise. Rooms smelt of fresh paint. No internet access in the room. Checked out 10 mins after checking in.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

It wasnt the best place, but i paid that much only, so why should i complain? thank you Taj for renaming this hotel Gateway, there will be no confusion now.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puthez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed one night at this property. Our room was clean and no frills, but we were amazed at the unclean condition in both the restaurants. Why can't they take a sponge and scour the dried food off the doors to the kitchen. The waiters uniforms also had dried food on them as well. The landcaping was poorly maintained as well.

For a Taj property, I certainly don't understand the sub-standard conditons at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonomaDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2009

I am going back for a 3 night stay. My last two stays have been memorable - excellent welcome by staff, good room service, great food and smiling reception desk.

Manager very helpful

recommend to any one going to Varanasi

  • Liked — Smiling service as soon as you arrive till you leave
  • Disliked — no comment
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2009

The Gateway Hotel, which i regularly visit, is one of the finest hotel available in the Varanasi region. the most exciting about it is that they are having their own garden and the walkway is excellent. another attraction is that the hospitality which tey offer is unparallel.
i would recommend any visitor who visits this holy city, must stay in this hotel to experience the difference.

thank you

subhasis banerjee
JP number: 120322683.

Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank subhasis73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.6 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
3.1 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 79 in Varanasi
1,431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#5 of 79 in Varanasi
642 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi

Property: The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Address: Nadesar Palace Grounds | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India (Formerly Taj)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Group-oriented mid-rise hotel centrally located on Raja Bazar Road at Nadesar Palace Grounds, on the banks of the Varuna River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing