We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay - amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay - amazing hotel”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is wonderful. It is set in magnificent grounds. I have absolutley no complaints to make at all about this hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable and I slept very well after over 28hr of travelling.
The traditional bar-b-que restaurant outside was brilliant and the recommendations made bythe waiters hit the spot. The service and attentive nature of the staff were better than expected - more like what you get from the upmarket Taj hotels in the group.
Overall a great stay and I would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the city of the temples!!

At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback.

I am pleased to note that we met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

I have shared your appreciation with my team as feedback such as yours motivate us to achieve higher levels of service.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcome you back to Varanasi!

Kindest regards,

Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager

The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India

T +91-542-666 0001 F +91-542-250 1343
D +91-542-666 0011 M +91-9044000551
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    634
    294
    56
    31
See reviews for
314
494
98
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Provincetown MA
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Spent just one night here. The pluses were the beautiful grounds and pool area, the service, and breakfast, but the hotel really needs a total update. We stayed in an executive suite which was sparsely and too-simply furnished. The common areas and restaurants also need a redo. This is a fine property for a short stay but really needs a major financial investment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveTait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the city of the temples!!
At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback. I have shared your appreciation with my team as feedback such as yours motivate us to achieve higher levels of service.
Also this is a small note to assure that I have noted your constructive feedback pertaining to the upgration of products, the same has been duly shared with the team and we promise to take corrective actions at our end.
We value your patronage and I am confident that you would provide us another opportunity to be of service to you and experience the gracious hospitality and the legendary service provided by The Gateway hotel Ganges Varanasi.
I look forward to meeting you during your next stay with us at Varanasi.
Kindest regards,

Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager

The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T 91 542 666 0001 F 91 542 250 1343
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A large and splendid hotel for a long or short stay set in large gardens with pool. Everything of a high quality. Welcoming and helpful staff. Excellent Indian speciality al a carte restaurant; breakfast and lunch/evening buffets also good. Lots of nice touches - like a coffee lounge (although such weak coffee!) and a flautist plaing in the outside breakfast are.
Beautiful rooms, but wifi charged for and nothing inexpensive.

Room Tip: Expect high quality and complain if it's not right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the city of the temples!!
At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback. I am pleased to note that we met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. I have shared your appreciation with my team as feedback such as yours motivate us to achieve higher levels of service.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcome you back to Varanasi!
Kindest regards,
Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T +91-542-666 0001 F +91-542-250 1343
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Gateway hotel is near the city center of Varanasi not far away from the Ganges river.The hotel is surrounded by beatifull gardens.The room was comfortable.The staff at the front desk worked slowly, the service at the restaurant was also slowly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcrespin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the city of the temples!!
At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback. I am pleased to note that we met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.
Please also accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the slow services of our reception & restaurant. This is a small note to assure you that I have shared your feedback with my team and we do realize that the sensitivity of associates towards the guest needs, requires focus and to be included in the training sessions and we also ensures that same incident must not be repeated again in future. It is our constant endeavor to provide the finest of products and services in line with the standards of Taj Group of Hotels and we would like to assure you that all steps will be taken to ensure non-recurrence. I do hope this incident doesn't become a deterrent to you to use our services at our hotel in future.
We value your patronage and I am confident that you would provide us another opportunity to be of service to you and experience the gracious hospitality and the legendary service provided by The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi. We value your patronage and look forward to welcome you back to Varanasi!
Kindest regards,
Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T +91-542-666 0001 F +91-542-250 1343
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Located in nice grounds in reasonably quiet surroundings the hotel building was not that visually appealing .Rooms are practical but a little bit on the tired side with old fashioned key locks. Main restaurant service and food quality was poor although the speciality Indian restaurant food and service was the opposite ,very good. Overall it was ok for a night ,I would not want to stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernwater1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the city of the temples!!
At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback. I am pleased to note that we met your expectations and you had a pleasant dinning experience at our Indian Speciality restaurant - "Varuna".
Please also accpet my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to adverse experience at our coffee shop. This is small note to assure that we have noted your constructive feedback pertaining to our coffee shop & product upgradations and same has been duly shared with the team and we promise to take corrective actions at our end. It is our constant endeavor to provide the finest of products and service in line with the standards of Taj Group of Hotels, myself and my team assure you that all steps have been taken to ensure non-recurrence of such inconvenience in future.
We value your patronage and I am confident that you would provide us another opportunity to be of service to you and experience the gracious hospitality and the legendary service provided by The Gateway hotel Ganges Varanasi. We value your patronage and look forward to welcome you back to Varanasi!
Kindest regards,
Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T +91-542-666 0001 F +91-542-250 1343
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel itself is well-situated and attractive, although the rooms need updating and better maintenance. Service was, on the whole, polite and friendly. However, check-in of our group of 23 was total chaos and restaurant service very slow indeed even when it was just for a group of 2 or 4 people unless one had the buffet, which offered only mediocre food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the city of the temples!!
At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback. I am pleased to note that we met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. Please also acknowledge my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and not been able to come up to your expectations and live up to our own standards.This is small note to assure that I have noted your constructive feedback pertaining to the slow services at the restaurant & quality of food, the same has been duly shared with the team especially with the Food & Beverage Manager & Executive Chef and we promise to take corrective actions at our end. We value your patronage and I am confident that you would provide us another opportunity to be of service to you and experience the gracious hospitality and the legendary service provided by The Gateway hotel Ganges Varanasi. We value your patronage and look forward to welcome you back to Varanasi!
Kindest regards,
Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T +91-542-666 0001 F +91-542-250 1343
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on bed and breakfast. Rooms were good - what you would expect for this class of hotel. Breakfast was excellent, with lots of choice. The hotel is outside the city, so you need to use a taxi or the hotel transport.
We booked trips morning and evening through the hotel agent. Not the cheapest - but the planning was superb. There were 4 of us and we had the same guide on both occasions. He was a native of Varanasi and loved his city and knew it very well. Nothing was any trouble as far as he was concerned and the trips on the Ganges were awesome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusybeeDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatewayvaranasi, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the city of the temples!!
At the outset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your kind feedback. I am pleased to note that we met your expectations and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. I have shared your appreciation with my team as feedback such as yours motivate us to achieve higher levels of service.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcome you back to Varanasi!
Kindest regards,
Ahmar Siddiqui
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel Ganges, Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Grounds
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221002 India
T +91-542-666 0001 F +91-542-250 1343
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.6 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 77 in Varanasi
267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 77 in Varanasi
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
0.4 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#5 of 77 in Varanasi
634 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 77 in Varanasi
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi

Property: The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Address: Nadesar Palace Grounds | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India (Formerly Taj)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Group-oriented mid-rise hotel centrally located on Raja Bazar Road at Nadesar Palace Grounds, on the banks of the Varuna River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing