We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to hide away in such a busy city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to hide away in such a busy city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

It was slightly dated but the place was very clean and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there - the gardens were beautiful and the food was lovely as were the staff that served and looked after us. We would definately stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheenaJenningsDash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    613
    288
    55
    31
See reviews for
300
478
93
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a very poor Taj property. The rooms are small and dated. The service is poor, especially in the restuarant. There is a dining room which we found at the end of our stay that is delightful and worthwhile, but no one tells you about it at check in. We stayted there during the wedding season so their concern is more about their wedding guests than tourists. We hd at least 20 people stay in the 2 rooms across the hall from us who partied all night in the hall outside our room. Nothing was done with our complaint nor any apology when we brought it to the attention of managment upon check out. Overall I would recommend that you give all ov Varanasi a miss. It is just a tourist trap with very little real about it any more. It is certainly not the experience my husband had 20 years ago or friends 12 years ago.

Room Tip: Ensure you do not get a room near wedding guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lily933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel could do with some redecorating, but overall is ok and clean. The room spacious enough. The Indian Restaurant serves amazing food and if not in the mood for Indian there is the Continental option as well. The barbeque dinner outside was not great and not good value for money at all.
Good retreat for escaping a busy city though, and not too far from main places to visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beatricec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Amongst the many Taj properties I have stayed, so far, this one has been most average and ordinary. The Place needs serious refurbishment and we were very generously upgraded to a better room on our arrival, however, we were amazed to see the size of the room, were wondering what would have been size of actual room. We travelled as a family and small kid with us, yet, the bed size for small for us and two nights we stayed, none of us could sleep comfortably. So if travelling with family, should insist for kings size bed. Though, I have not seen any other hotel in Varanasi, but I believe from what travelers and residents tell me that this is the best city has to offer. Food was good, though little overprized for the portion, quality and ambience. Staff very courteous and helpful. There is no Kid pool, nor any kid area at the pool, which was a little let down, as pool can become very important in spring and summers. If you do not go with high expectations, you won’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: Insist for the with room view, atleast with the Pool/Garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I am loathe to give a bad review of this hotel as the view from my room, of the Ganges, was staggering. However, views aside, I found the place to be a little lacklustre - the decorations were old and faded and the service, while friendly, was really quite slow.

I did enjoy the food though, although I love Indian food and I imagine many locals would deem it nothing more than average!

All in all, worth the price if you are guaranteed a river view. Otherwise, I would consider elsewhere.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DevineInsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quite old, but very well preserved and clean. Staff is helpful and they have a great diner on the garden, outside the main building. So, I recommend that you don't leave the hotel and try the barbecue there. Very good in overall

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dpcoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

It takes loong to get from the airport to the hotel as it is situated in the old town next to the river but the view (if you have a river view) in the morning is priceless.
The hotel itself is clean, service is average, breakfast is somewhat below average, I personally would not try the spa and we also did not eat at the hotel apart from a very basic breakfast. There are much better options very close by anyway.
If you are going to book this hotel, have a look at their internet page, select a room you like (they have pictures of each room, all in different themes) and make sure you are not on the ground floor / have a river view

Room Tip: River view - not oin the ground floor (there is no lift though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mumbaibaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.6 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#10 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
0.4 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#6 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi

Property: The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Address: Nadesar Palace Grounds | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India (Formerly Taj)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Group-oriented mid-rise hotel centrally located on Raja Bazar Road at Nadesar Palace Grounds, on the banks of the Varuna River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, DerbySoftTaj, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing