We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Varanasi has to offer but not 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“The best Varanasi has to offer but not 5*”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed in room 509, Executive City View Room. The lobby of the hotel and public rooms were nice but the bedrooms were very tired: basic and tatty round the corners. I would dispute their claim that ‘eexecutive rooms are recently renovated extremely high-end luxury’ as in my opinion they were in desperate need of a refurbishment.

The hotel is set in lush green gardens, has a very nice pool and is a veritable haven of peace and tranquillity in this crowded and ancient temple city, although there is the ever present background noise of car horns and trains.

There was a traditional wedding going on during our stay which was fascinating to observe, apparently these are a regular occurrence at the hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sally4holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    613
    288
    55
    31
See reviews for
300
478
93
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Spent 2 nights at the Gateway Ganges in October 2012. We chose this hotel after reading favourable reviews elsewhere and in the main the hotel stood up to their comments. The hotel is very charmingly old fashioned, the staff are helpful and friendly, though the front desk staff let the side down a bit by being offhand when asked for currency exchange. It seemed a bit of an effort for them to do this and was quite off-putting the couple of times that we had to use the facility.
The room was very comfortable and quiet. The staff who cleaned, delivered baggage, and security staff were all very friendly and efficient and willing to help. The restaurant was a bit hectic as the hotel was full and everyone wanted breakfast at the same time, but we were always found a table quickly and had requests for food that wasn't in the buffet freshly cooked for us and brought to the table. The chef for the evening meal was very friendly and helpful and produced some very enjoyable food.
The grounds of the hotel are very pleasant to walk round and a nice place to stop near the pool and have a drink or coffee from the attentive staff. All said, this hotel was a good place to be to visit the history and life of Varanasi and Sarnath, friendly staff and good quality accomodation

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borzio12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed there with a friend for just one night as we had to leave the Ramada since it was fully booked for out last day. The hotel common areas are super charming, the pool area and gym are very nice. The room is ok. Id say common areas far better at Gateway but room better in the Ramada. The breakfast was super good. Front desk staff have a bit of an attitude but nothing major and I found that to be the case with most Taj hotels staff. Good place to stay but I kind of prefered the Ramada.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sissi2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

A basic hotel with a good breakfast. Caution: The wedding at the hotel was quite loud until about midnight and rooms are not sound tight. Rooms were, also, a bit musty (windows did not open) but clean. The room staff were excellent -- anything we needed they were very pleased to provide. We enjoyed the upscale restaurant for a quiet dinner. The host was extremely helpful with suggestions for dining.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mntravelerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here at this hotel for 2 nights on our tour of India On arrival we were pleasantly surprised at the lovely hotel & grounds.The housekeeping staff were very good, our room was
spacious and kept spotlessly clean & we loved the rose petals.The hotel is away from the busy city but is easy accessible by taxi or tuk tuk.
The only draw back is they tend to have a lot of large tour groups which may affect service at breakfast or dinner.
The pool area was very good & staff attentive
We would have liked to have stayed an extra night here as it was so peaceful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odonnell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priors Marston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Generally Taj Hotel are very good and this one has all the fundementals but frankly needs a bit more active leadership to improve the offering Examples being litter in the gardens which had obviously been there some time and the were not as welcoming and friendly as most of the other hotels visited in India. We very much felt we were customers not guests
I twill not take much but somebody has to regularly walk the teritory and set the standard they expect

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphPriorsMarston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundi, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We are Kiwis and are travelling arround Rajahstan, three of us (Oct/Nov 2012). This Hotel met all our needs. We had very good service from all staff and especially our housemaid, Seema, who looked after our bedroom and bathroom very well, and we loved the rose petals on our bed and in the bathroom. The swimming pool was lovely for cooling off and relaxing and the grounds are very nice and well maintained. We would recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Varanasi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandpmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.6 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#10 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
0.4 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#6 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi

Property: The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Address: Nadesar Palace Grounds | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India (Formerly Taj)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Group-oriented mid-rise hotel centrally located on Raja Bazar Road at Nadesar Palace Grounds, on the banks of the Varuna River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing