We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your wish is our command”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Your wish is our command”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I got married in this hotel.
The setup was excellent, and the service was impeccable.
The food was good and the chef was ready to cook cuisine that was not on the menu :)

The rooms were big and with great view. No problems at all

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    634
    294
    56
    31
See reviews for
315
494
98
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bareilly, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I came here with my family for visiting Varanasi. We were searching for some luxurious hotel and found this one to be the best in Varanasi. Though it was not as good as other Taj hotels,but then also I found it to be very nice.The staff was very good especially Mr Debanjan and Mr Shahid. The food was very tasty and I found this hotel to be great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajeevbareilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

I came here alone for business and because of Varanasi being so crowded and dirty decided to eat most of my meals at the hotel. Each meal was bad, the mutton was swimming in oil and the naan was hard. The breakfast was not bad but again the lunch and pasta for dinner was very very bad.

The hotel otherwise is great, clean and has nice staff with great wifi.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saurabh79s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed with Taj in Varanasi i had a very bad experience. Staff of front office were very rude specialy a lady Vandana ,she dont no how to treat with guest i should not mention but i have to i think you should remove her and i dont remember the name of the duty manager something Mr. basu he is over smart .And about my stay was unhappy because i stayed in 1st floor . My room was smelling requested for non smoking and they have provide me smoking room but i have to mention one more thing about your spa was good and your food was very very good as well as staff of coffe shop.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaipurHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Our Trip To Varanasi became even more splendid with this hotel. Helpful, Warm blooded staff , excellent breakfast was a big plus too. The Room was well equiped clean. The hotel arranged all city tours including Tourist guide. Highly Recommended !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
744 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Gateway Hotel - Varanasi - this is a beautiful Taj Hotel in a secured compound in the heart of  Varanasi. The  rooms are spacious. There is a large swimming pool. Right outside the front gates of the hotel is one of the most chaotic traffic scenes that we have ever witnessed. We returned to the hotel after dark in a rickshaw after witnessing the nightly events on the Ganges. The ride was harrowing with traffic of tuk tuks, motorcycles, trucks, more rickshaws, cows and people everywhere. Amazingly though...no accidents.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Radiohutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel truly is an island of respite in what could possibly one of the most intense and chaotic places in India. The staff are amazingly friendly, not infrequently to a fault. We were often asked our room numbers and whether we wanted coffee or tea at breakfast more than 5 times a sitting by servers who seemed to hover and watch nonstop. They whisk plates out from under you even before you take your last bite and will interrupt your table conversation to ask if they can get you anything else. We were also annoyngly asked at least a dozen times to fill out the comment card by various staff and confronted by the chamber maid at time of checkout demanding we show our thanks. I agree with other reviewers here who say the rooms and hallways are somewhat tired and in need of upgrade and not quite up to the standard of some other other Taj hotels, but the place is basically grand and well and lovingly maintained. Power outages are frequent so avoiding the elevators may be wise especially in the evening. Rooms are very clean and comfortable if a little insecticide smelling. Great water pressure, and a working safe and fridge. Grounds are lovely and the pool is just wonderfull. Food ok. And oh yeah, they have real coffee, a treat in the land of powdered instant java. Breakfast and lunch room featured a non stop movie soundtrack music loop which had us all humming the theme to 'don't cry for me Argentina' all the way back to Delhi.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Esparcette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.6 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 77 in Varanasi
267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 77 in Varanasi
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
0.4 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#5 of 77 in Varanasi
635 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 77 in Varanasi
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi

Property: The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Address: Nadesar Palace Grounds | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India (Formerly Taj)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Group-oriented mid-rise hotel centrally located on Raja Bazar Road at Nadesar Palace Grounds, on the banks of the Varuna River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing