We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place at the Ganges in the old city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
355 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Excellent place at the Ganges in the old city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

As we only had 1 night at Varanassi we wanted to stay in the old town at the Ganges and we had a very hard time finding good options. In the end we decided to stay at Jukaso and it was an excellent choice. We had a pick up with our travel agency by car and they dropped us of at one of the ghats at the river and the boat from the hotel was already waiting. Nice 30 minutes boat ride and dropped off at the hotel. Very nice staff. There's no real lobby, so the entrance is not that great, however the room is very nice, we could sit outside. Also there's nice rooftop restaurant. The price is high, probably because of the lack of other options, however if you're staying for one night I can really recommend it. They have boats available and you walk right into the old city, with the bazaars (go with a good guide) and the burning ghat. You really are in the experience, but still have a calm and relax place to retreat. It's not a Oberoi type of luxury experience, but it'll give you the unique Varanassi experience.
When I paid I forgot my credit card. The reception called the boatsman almost when we arrived at the ghat where the car was waiting and the boat turned around to get my credit card.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaja000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUKASOVaranasi, General Manager at WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your review! We are always thrilled to hear that guests had great stays with us. We know how important time on vacation can be, and always want to provide best experiences. Hopefully your travels bring you back to Jukaso-Welcome Heritage, Varanasi again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    81
    57
    20
    11
See reviews for
56
122
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Ganges is the center of Varanasi, and the central reason for visiting. Stay at this hotel to enjoy the excellent location. But the rooms and services, like dining, are just tolerable. So if you can't accept less than super clean, great food and service, you may not enjoy the stay.
But, this property is in a prime location. The evening and morning boat rides are terrific. And you can walk the ghats, get to the center of the action in the evening, but you probably will not want to bathe with the locals in the morning.

Room Tip: don't worry about a river view room. the courtyard rooms are just fine. you'll have enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akoosik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUKASOVaranasi, General Manager at WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your review! We are always thrilled to hear from guests about their stay with us and always try our level best to improve according to their suggestions. However, On behalf of our entire staff at Jukaso -Welcome Heritage Varanasi we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. Hopefully your travels bring you back to Jukaso-Welcome Heritage Ganges, Varanasi again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I spent 3 nights here and was very comfortable in room 304 on the top floor with a view of the Ganges. Food was good in the rooftop restaurant and all staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel provides a free boat trip to the nightly Artti and the stairs up to the hotel are managable. I was happy to stay here and would recommend it to anybody visiting Varanasi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUKASOVaranasi, General Manager at WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your review! We are always thrilled to hear that guests had great stays with us. We know how important time on vacation can be, and always want to provide best experiences. Hopefully your travels bring you back to Jukaso-Welcome Heritage, Varanasi again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
172 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

What a pity. What a shame. The Jukaso heritage hotel has a magnificent location on the borders of the ganges river. Downtown Varanasi! Beautiful ! But unfortunately the hotel is flooded each year when the Ganges river is swelling due to the monsoon rains. As a result the lower floors are flooded but win summer rented out to tourists ! These smelling, mushy rooms have no windows to be opened. No sir , they have a/c! says the manager, hopefully! Room with river view on the 2nd level is ok, but again most rooms are terrible. And on top of that, the restaurant is one of the worst we've seen in India. Breakfast is absolutely very poor. The menu is a joke.
Last but not least the hotel is not selling any alcohol as the hotel is located in the near vicinity of a
Hindu temple. Nothing wrong with that, but why not letting the guests know this rule or publish it on the website? So dear management, you have to work hard, very hard to attract foreign tourists. Keep working on that!

Room Tip: there are 1 or 2 decent rooms available, but you have to be very lucky to get them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Efwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUKASOVaranasi, General Manager at WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your review! We are always thrilled to hear from guests about their stay with us and always try our level best to improve according to their suggestions. However, On behalf of our entire staff at Jukaso -Welcome Heritage Varanasi we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. We have our improved our all services recently according to your suggestions. We know how important time on vacation can be, and always want to provide well experiences. Hopefully your travels bring you back to Jukaso-Welcome Heritage Ganges, Varanasi again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The only hotel really on the ghats, it has excellent views and is located in a remarkable building. The property though is poorly maintained and the hotel is badly managed. People are nice but the management lacks professionalism. This said I am still happy to have gone there as it has allowed us to really experience Varanasi. Only for travelers that are ready for it, otherwise better choice the luxury hotels far from the river.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ziottina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUKASOVaranasi, General Manager at WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your review! We are always thrilled to hear from guests about their stay with us and always try our level best to improve according to their suggestions. However, On behalf of our entire staff at Jukaso -Welcome Heritage Varanasi we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. We have our improved our all services recently according to your suggestions. We know how important time on vacation can be, and always want to provide well experiences. Hopefully your travels bring you back to Jukaso-Welcome Heritage Ganges, Varanasi again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khajuraho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel has a great location but that is the only good thing about this property. On checking in we were given a first floor room which smelled of sewage and a second floor cell-like room. The ground and first floors are flooded regularly by the Ganges. After protesting we moved to second floor river side rooms which were better. Generally the property is not well cleaned and does not meet European or North American standards. Bed linens are grey and not very clean. Staff is ill trained and obviously lacks resources to do their jobs well. Dining room is pleasant for breakfast as you can sit outside but is a depressing location for dinner. Tablecloths were dirty and clean ones needed to be requested. Food quality was average. For the second night we brought in takeout food from our lunchtime restaurant.
The building has great features with lovely indoor courtyards but a major investment is required. The location is great for walking along the ghats and being right in the city. Easy access for dawn trips and water ceremonies.

Room Tip: First floor bedrooms are flooded annually by the Ganges. Room 201 is cell like with no exterior wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iroller868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUKASOVaranasi, General Manager at WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your review! We are always thrilled to hear from guests about their stay with us and always try our level best to improve according to their suggestions. However, On behalf of our entire staff at Jukaso -Welcome Heritage Varanasi we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. We have improved our all services recently according to your suggestions. We know how important time on vacation can be, and always want to provide well experiences. Hopefully your travels bring you back to Jukaso-Welcome Heritage Ganges, Varanasi again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We arrived to Varanasi at 7 PM and we reached the hotel at 8:30 PM. The telephone at the webpage is wrong, so we walked into the old city for one hour carrying our luggage. The rooms are clean and the staff very friendly but not well trained. The next morning at 6 AM we took a boat at the shore of the river just outside the hotel (and this is a big extra). We came back for breakfast, that is just average. The building itself is a Heritage but the renovation could be improved (including the mattress, furniture and bed linen).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juju_mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JUKASOVaranasi, General Manager at WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your review! We are always thrilled to hear from guests about their stay with us and always try our level best to improve according to their suggestions. However, On behalf of our entire staff at Jukaso -Welcome Heritage Varanasi we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. We know how important time on vacation can be, and always want to provide well experiences. Hopefully your travels bring you back to Jukaso-Welcome Heritage Ganges, Varanasi again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.7 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
1.3 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#13 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges

Property: WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges
Address: Patni Tola Chowk Ck 1/14 | Between Bhosle and Ram Ghat, Varanasi 221010, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges at Varanasi is built on a sloped embankment called the ‘Guleria Ghat’ on the banks of the Holy Ganga River is typical of the riverfront architecture of Benaras. Sandstone quarried from the Chunar Area has been extensively used in the structural beams and columns of this property. The property has 15 Well appointed rooms and most of them are east facing which provide the guest with the advantage of a river view and a soothing breeze blowing off it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing