We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent weekend in Varanasi”
Review of Rudra Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rudra Guest House
Ranked #30 of 217 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The manager help us organize our weekend and made it a wonderful experience. He offered us the help of a guide (Mogli) who showed us the old town, took us for a boat ride on the Gange, and explained to us the history of this town. We would not have enjoyed our time as much here without their assistance. The food was good as well as we enjoyed a couple of nights/morning on the rooftop. Nice place and make use of the personnel as they know their city.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Rudra Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 101 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

After a really crazy time getting from the airport to the guesthouse, we were greeted with warm smiles and friendly hello's. The staff are all wonderful and very helpful. The room was clean and the hot water runs 24 hours. Very nice in comparison to other places I have stayed in India. The location is amazing, only 50 meters or so from one of the main ghats. I am also happy to know that the hotel donates part of its profits to charity, Learn for Life school and also Women Empowerment Group. I would recommend this hotel to others, and I will definitely stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: The streets are very narrow and confusing so I found it very beneficial to have the hotel organize t...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have booked 3 nights in that guest house in february 2013.

First, it is not a guest house. It is an hotel. When people of rudra wants to help you, to book a boat for exemple, it is just to make you pay 10 times the price to have a commission. The guy tried to sell us 2 hours of boat in varanasi for 5000 inr ; we went directly to the river, we have paid 600 inr for the same service (private boat for 2 people, 2 hours).

Secondly, we had experienced an overbooking. We stayed 2 nights in that hotel, the 7th and 8th february, then we wend to allahabad, and we came back for the 10th. We paid when we arrived the 3 nights. At our arrival on the 10th, no room available. We had to wait more than 2 hours for the boss to come back. He finally moved us into a smaller room. It was our last day in India, so we missed the last service of the restaurant where we wanted to eat.

Third, we have paid 2500 inr each night. You can look at the picture to see the room. At that price, I advice you to book another hotel, the value for money is extremely poor.

About the room more precisely, there is not mirror in the bath room, no tv. When we arrived the 10th, no hot water, so we had to wait 1 hours after 7 hours of trafic jam to have a shower.
The roof top is in a very bad condition.

Finally that is too bad because the location is good, close to the river, but they don't even try to make you enjoy your trip.

Room Tip: I am afraid to say that all the room I have seen have the same poor condition. Just one thing, the...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

we arrived varanasi 3 in the morning and every hostel was fully booked or locked. BUT here the staff gave us their room and they slept on the sofa near reception. They are always trying to help you. Very sincere.. The room is clean. Nice location. Just 3 mins to the main Ghat. I strongly recommend Rudra Guest House.

And these people are helping poor children in a school named Learn For Life. 25% of the profit from running this hostel goes to them!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RUPALRAHUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I arrived at the station and was picked up as promised. Throughout my stay Balla who works at the hotel was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble, showed me sights, organized my boat tour, was very helpful and spoke excellent English which was so convenient. He also helped me get a train ticket when there was a long wait list. I was travelling alone so it was great to have someone looking out for me. Lulu the owner was very friendly and keen to ensure my stay was a good one. The location is awesome just 1min walk from main ghat.
The roof top restaurant was a great place to watch the sunset and kites flying in the evening. Can't wait to come back with my family.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MardieG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We spent 2 nights here.The place is very good located but not easy to find. The staff will definitely pick you up if needed.The rooms are clean and usually they have hot water...power shortages are normal everywhere ;-)
There is a new branch of the brown bread bakery on the top of the guest house.It's a nice terrace with cushions.Good place to relax and soak up the sun. You can also get a guide at the guest house who will show you around and provide you with details about the city.
Overall : good place,helpful and friendly staff!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoubeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very new one, about 2 years old. So- everithin inside charming, fresh paint and colours on the walls, rooms clean, optimal price. Location is excellent, 2 min walking from the main gat - this is center center of the city. Owner is very friendly and very normal man, chef in te restaurant also very nice man and cooking excellente. They make their own bread- so u get it warm and delicious. House is in the very small street where cars can not go- so for this location it is unexpected and pleasurable quiet. All total -excellent choice :)

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank DEBORAH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#18 of 79 in Varanasi
433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 79 in Varanasi
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sita Guest House
Hotel Sita Guest House
#29 of 217 in Varanasi
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shiva guest house
Shiva guest house
#11 of 217 in Varanasi
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bhadra Kali Guest House
Bhadra Kali Guest House
#14 of 217 in Varanasi
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rudra Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudra Guest House

Address: D 17/71-1 Bansigali | Dashwamedh, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range: $10 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Rudra Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in December 2010, Rudra Guest House is located in the heart of Varanasi, within a minute to the main ghats, shopping and vegetable market and the winding alleyways of the old city. The staff at Rudra Guest House will ensure that your stay is enjoyable with modern, comfortable and spacious bedrooms (AC and non-AC) and all with western style en-suites. The guest house also has indoor and rooftop dining run by the Brown Bread Bakery. 20% of profits are donated to our main project, The Learn for Life Society. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Rudra Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing