We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget place right in Varanasi”
Review of Eden Halt

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eden Halt
Ranked #17 of 210 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great budget place right in Varanasi”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Once you have found it, there are no Auto Rickshaws going there so you have to walk through some alleys for 5 minutes, it’s a nice guesthouse with 4 rooms right at the Ganges. I liked the sitting area but I didn’t like the trash laying around for several days. Use a broom or buy one, but sweeping once a day should be the minimum.
The owner was great explaining Hinduism.
I enjoyed staying here a lot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
28
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after finding this guest house in the lonely planet after a bad experience first arriving in Varanasi finding this place was a massive relief. Very friendly and helpful. Great view over the Ganges. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Thank you for letting us stay

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank flowerpower2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This small guesthouse is one of the highlights of staying in Varanasi! It's run by a lovely family who are always available to help you in any way you need, and always attending you with a smile! I've had some lovely talks with host Sanjay, and learned a lot about Varanasi's history, spirituality and culture. The rooms are very nice, clean and are a good size for the price they charge, whilst also overlook the Ganges, which is a view that few other guesthouses have! Also has a rooftop where you can fully enjoy the Ganges at any time of the day, which is definitely a big PLUS! Basically, I strongly recommend this guesthouse to anyone wanting to fully experience Varanasi's charm..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Although Eden Halt is very basic, the view of the front 2 bedrooms (out of 4) is amazing- 100 metres from the Ganges flowing below. It is in a good location, central to most Ghats, the rooms are small but clean, and the owner Sanjay is incredibly kind and helpful. Only downside is that our room was boiling hot.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank olivia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I had a lovely time in Varanasi while staying at Eden Halt guest house. Sanjay was a wonderful host and was more than happy to answer all of my questions, give me suggestions of places to see and have discussions about the spirituality Varanasi and it's religious history. I even got a palm reading! I had a nice. big room that looked onto the Ganges for 250, what a steal! It is also centrally located right off of the main street, so it's quiet, but easy to get to an from! As a single, female traveler I felt very safe and welcomed to Eden Halt! Will certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ariel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scuol, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Lovely small family guest house, with amazing buzzing ganges view. clean cozy rooms with everything and more you need. Sanji is guide and information station 'bout evrything you want and need to know and repeat all the things you knew all ready but needed to be rememberd by.Wonderfull sweet family that take great care of you!!! hopes that everyone finds his way to eden halt

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

After finding your way through the maze of back alleys which lead to the river Ganges, perched ahead and on top of Raja Ghat this tiny little family run Guest house welcomes you like a new home. Sanjay will give you the run-down on all the tricks and traps, dodgy characters, sights and sounds and even help you piece together an itinerary. He will also keep your progress and offer his assistance whenever possible. The rooms are basic and clean which gives you more time to appreciate the unique environment, traveler restaurants, chai stands and convenience store are nearby and there is motorcycle parking (I managed a Classic 350 with Luggage racks) as well as an almost bare rooftop whose bounds are only limited by your imagination. It is easy to hang here for a few days/weeks even in off-season.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baz870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 77 in Varanasi
1,178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banaras Paying Guest house
Banaras Paying Guest house
#4 of 210 in Varanasi
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#24 of 77 in Varanasi
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sonmony
Hotel Sonmony
#57 of 77 in Varanasi
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gupta Inn
Hotel Gupta Inn
#30 of 77 in Varanasi
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 77 in Varanasi
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Halt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Halt

Property: Eden Halt
Address: Ganga Mahal, Raja Ghat, Varanasi, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing