We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable experience and unforgettable memories”
Review of Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestay
Ranked #1 of 207 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haridwar, Uttarakhand, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Memorable experience and unforgettable memories”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I planned a visit to Varanasi with my wife Krishna this October (2013). We were looking for a good hotel while planning our visit. We are somewhat fastidious in choosing our hotels and hygiene and calories are always a big concern with us. Then we came across HOMESTAY on Trip Advisor.
Varanasi, as a city is not very clean and the roads are bad .Going by the reviews HOMESTAY appeared good and we decided to give it a try. But now we consider ourselves fortunate to have stayed in HOMESTAY. Mr. Harish Rijhwani and his wife Mallika is an adorable couple who manage HOMESTAY with style and smiles. He lives in the same premises with his father and two children, a son and a daughter. The family has a very disarming attitude and once with them, you feel as if you knew them ever since. With the family, you experience the rich traditional Indian culture and values of a high class family, where elders are respected and children are loved.
We stayed at HOMESTAY for 3 days. Rooms are excellent, well furnished and very clean by international standards. Air conditioning works perfectly. When requested, Harish ji promptly provided us with mats to perform our daily yoga exercises.
Home food provided by Mallika ji is delicious and perfectly hygienic, cooked in her own kitchen and served in her own dining hall, which also has a pedestal for worship. So you dine in a very serene and peaceful atmosphere. The breakfast has an imaginative menu, and besides that, whenever we wished something special in menu Harish ji was always willing to provide as best as possible. It was a nice experience to interact with an international cross section of guests at the dining table. For our return journey, Mallika ji also packed us a very delicious Veg,-biryani for lunch.
Transportation arrangements are excellent. HOMESTAY owns a new Innova Taxi for a group, presently chauffeured by Mr. Mishra, a well educated, smiling and polite young man. Besides that, sedan / hatchback / auto in excellent condition are always promptly provided depending upon the requirement of the guests. Local trips arranged by Harish ji are excellent and good value for money.
Expertise of Harish ji in advising on local trips and city sightseeing is magnificent, and he gave us best advice to taste the delicacies of Varanasi which otherwise could have taken lot of hits and trials, if at all. Harish ji runs a silk textile outlet himself with very good choice, and we were pleased to purchase very good silk stuff at competitive prices. He also sent us to Fatima Enterprises in Madan Pura where we could buy original hand-woven Benarasi silk sarees, which is otherwise something difficult to find in Varanasi today.
We feel, had it not been for HOMESTAY, we would have found Varanasi a disappointing city perhaps. HOMESTAY never made us feel that we were away from home in an unknown city. Given a chance to be in Varanasi again, we would choose none other than HOMESTAY for us and would advise likewise to anyone planning to visit this city. We shall always cherish the compassionate, supportive and personal touch and affection we got at HOMESTAY, for which anyway you can never lay a price.
Thanks and Best Wishes HOMESTAY family.
Review by: ASHOK SHARMA AND KRISHNA SHARMA, Haridwar

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ASHOK947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Krishna & Ashok ji,

We both do not have words to say Thank you for such a glorious review that you have written for us.we hope this friendship continues for the life time and we wish you all the best in your life.

Best Regards
Malika & Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    67
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
87
178
67
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I totally agree with the previous reviewers. I think Varanasi would be an extremely difficult place to navigate without the wonderful support that Harish and his family and staff provide. From the moment we arrived at the airport to the moment we departed we were incredible well looked after. We only had 24 hours there but managed the great walking tour, two boat trips, a visit to the archeological museum. The homestay is excellent value for money, we had a delicious dinner and appreciated the warm hospitality provided. Now back in Delhi I appreciate that your beautiful high quality textiles that you sell in your Textile business are great value for money. The high standards that you have set for yourself and staff ensured our visit to Varanasi will be a highlight of our trip. We will be recommending your homestay to all our friends.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Bjnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
How can we just write THANK YOU for such a wonderful review.We all at Homestay are grateful to you for all the kind words you have chosen for our work and this adds more responsibility on us to do better in future.Please come again and send your family & friends,to enjoy Homestay hospitality.

Regards

All staff, Malika &Harish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had apprehensions after booking my room in Varanasi.The first thing I noted was that a boy was standing outside the airport with a smile on his face and with a placard with my name imprinted on it.The next thing he did was to take our bags(I had been there with my wife) and this boy was had gentle character and away we went. Mr.Harish , the owner was waiting for us with a welcoming smile. It looked as though we were friends from years ago though we hardly met. The room was wonderful and we had a comfortable stay. Mr. Harish had arranged everything from the trip to places and to the rites on River Ganges through an eminent Pundit. The food was very good and I had the luck to meet two foreign ladies, an educationist and a traveller.I feel I should have stayed a few more days. There is always a next time and I do intend to be with Mr. Harish.

Room Tip: Just your name and your arrival date and pray that you will get a room. the rooms are all well furni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank venoovasudevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Venoo,

Thanks for remembering us. We will certainly look forward to a little more longer holiday from you next time,so that we can show you all that has not been possible due to your short trip ,last time.
Regards

Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our stay at homestay Varaniasi was wonderfull. The rooms are super beautifull, the bathroom is clean and nice and everything was working properly. The owners of the Homestay are very nice people and the made sure we felt at home. Their service was perfect. They arranged everything we wanted for good prices. We also joined dinner one time and they served delicious foods. This is the perfect spot to escape a little bit from crazy and dirty Varanasi. One day we went on a alley walking tour with the owners daughter. This was a very nice experience. She can show you all the nice spots and she will tell a lot of nice stories. We highly recommend this lovely place. Many thanks to Harish and his family for the wonderfull days!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Rients J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks Reints,

For your kind review of Homestay.We enjoyed hosting you both as much as you enjoyed staying with us.Thanks for coming,please do come again.

Regards

Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I am volunteering in India for three months. However, some of my placements are inaccessible because of Gorkha agitation. Homestay was an oasis of calm and pleasure after the uncertainty. Immaculate rooms, wonderful home cooking,delightful staff. The family is most hospitable and will interact with you as much as you wish. - or as little. Mr Harish's daughter,"Annie", is a brilliant guide rich in information about the history and shopping of her city. This option is perfect for those who enjoy some local colour in their stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks Suzanne,

For posting the review,while you are still staying with us.Its been wonderful to have you with us and thanks for teaching so many things to my daughter Ananya,while spending your days with her.Please come back again.

Regards

Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Staying at 'homestay' made such a big difference to our trip. A completely welcoming environment, a very helpful, friendly and generous family for whom nothing was too much trouble.. And some of the best food we ate! Harish takes amaing care of his guests. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenemma12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks Dear Guest,

For taking the time to remember your days with us at Homestay.Hope you will be back one day,to taste even more improved hospitality with us.

Regards

Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a really wonderful time in Homestay. Harish is a wonderful, generous, and intellectual host. You will be lucky to be a part of his family for a few days and to sample Mallika's amazing veg cooking (my carnivorous travel partner almost turned vegetarian). Varanasi is an overwhelming place, and it is wonderful to have a clean, safe place to come back to rest and chat with the family. For those interested in photography, you might enjoy talking with Harish's daughter and taking her walking tour though the alleys..she might even take you to her favorite spot in Varanasi (not in the guidebooks!), a welcome respite from the heat and a wonderful view of the city. Harish can tell you a lot about Varanasi, Hinduism, and textiles among many other topics. So stay here and don't forget to stop by his shop if you're interested in Silks (dont worry, no pressure at all to buy anything during our stay here). Homestay is not located in the old town, but it is only a 100 rupee rickshaw ride one way and in the end we were glad to be staying a bit out if the chaos of the old town! Recommend 110%!!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiziana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Tiziana,


We felt honored to have you both with us and we all feel,there can not be a better guest than both of you.We really enjoyed the time we shared with both of you.Hope you will come back for more ASAP.

Regards.Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.9 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shree Ganesha Palace
Shree Ganesha Palace
#2 of 207 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Granny's Inn
Granny's Inn
#5 of 207 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestay

Property: Homestay
Address: D - 61/16, Varanasi 221002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Homestay is managed by an Indian family and those who like to stay with a family and share the culture and taste freshly made home cooked vegetarian food would like it here very much.A traditional Indian house built in 1936, with complete teakwood work and antique hand carving workmanship on the doors, windows, decorations and furniture. Lots of open space for natural sunlight and air. Beautiful seat in garden in the front. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing