We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull peacefull place to stay”
Review of Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homestay
Ranked #1 of 220 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our stay at homestay Varaniasi was wonderfull. The rooms are super beautifull, the bathroom is clean and nice and everything was working properly. The owners of the Homestay are very nice people and the made sure we felt at home. Their service was perfect. They arranged everything we wanted for good prices. We also joined dinner one time and they served delicious foods. This is the perfect spot to escape a little bit from crazy and dirty Varanasi. One day we went on a alley walking tour with the owners daughter. This was a very nice experience. She can show you all the nice spots and she will tell a lot of nice stories. We highly recommend this lovely place. Many thanks to Harish and his family for the wonderfull days!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Rients J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thanks Reints,

For your kind review of Homestay.We enjoyed hosting you both as much as you enjoyed staying with us.Thanks for coming,please do come again.

Regards

Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 503 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

I am volunteering in India for three months. However, some of my placements are inaccessible because of Gorkha agitation. Homestay was an oasis of calm and pleasure after the uncertainty. Immaculate rooms, wonderful home cooking,delightful staff. The family is most hospitable and will interact with you as much as you wish. - or as little. Mr Harish's daughter,"Annie", is a brilliant guide rich in information about the history and shopping of her city. This option is perfect for those who enjoy some local colour in their stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thanks Suzanne,

For posting the review,while you are still staying with us.Its been wonderful to have you with us and thanks for teaching so many things to my daughter Ananya,while spending your days with her.Please come back again.

Regards

Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Staying at 'homestay' made such a big difference to our trip. A completely welcoming environment, a very helpful, friendly and generous family for whom nothing was too much trouble.. And some of the best food we ate! Harish takes amaing care of his guests. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurenemma12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thanks Dear Guest,

For taking the time to remember your days with us at Homestay.Hope you will be back one day,to taste even more improved hospitality with us.

Regards

Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a really wonderful time in Homestay. Harish is a wonderful, generous, and intellectual host. You will be lucky to be a part of his family for a few days and to sample Mallika's amazing veg cooking (my carnivorous travel partner almost turned vegetarian). Varanasi is an overwhelming place, and it is wonderful to have a clean, safe place to come back to rest and chat with the family. For those interested in photography, you might enjoy talking with Harish's daughter and taking her walking tour though the alleys..she might even take you to her favorite spot in Varanasi (not in the guidebooks!), a welcome respite from the heat and a wonderful view of the city. Harish can tell you a lot about Varanasi, Hinduism, and textiles among many other topics. So stay here and don't forget to stop by his shop if you're interested in Silks (dont worry, no pressure at all to buy anything during our stay here). Homestay is not located in the old town, but it is only a 100 rupee rickshaw ride one way and in the end we were glad to be staying a bit out if the chaos of the old town! Recommend 110%!!!!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Tiziana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Tiziana,


We felt honored to have you both with us and we all feel,there can not be a better guest than both of you.We really enjoyed the time we shared with both of you.Hope you will come back for more ASAP.

Regards.Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

It's difficult to find the words to describe how insanely excellent this place is. There was not one imperfection noted. Harish really cares for his guests. All services provided by the homestay were impeccable. The food prepared by Malika was incredible!!! The homemade mango and pineapple jam was just to die for! India can be a difficult place for tourists but Harish and his homestay make you and your business feel truly appreciated. If you find yourself in Varanasi, staying at this homestay is an absolute must. You won't regret it. 10/10 -- 100% -- A+.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EthanM89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

How can we thank you for such nice words, Dear Ethan

We felt honored to have you all with us and hope you will come back soon.

Regards.Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent the last week of May at the Varanasi Homestay. The temperature was around 45 degrees Celsius. It would have been challenging, had we not been so well taken care of by Harish and his family. Harish arranged for a car or a riksha to take us wherever we wanted to go. He also suggested places to go that we would not have thought of visiting otherwise. The drivers took good care of us, i.e. helping us finding our way through the crowds in the temples. As this was our first visit in India, we were curious about Indian culture and religions. It was perfect to be able to ask the family at breakfast or dinner all the questions we had gathered during the day. Malika, Harish’s wife, cooked us delicious food. In Harish’s shop we bought some fine silk, beautiful things that will remind us of our stay in Varanasi.

Room Tip: We stayed in Deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fam_centerstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you very much for ll your kind words for the hospitality at Homestay.

We felt honored to have you all with us and hope you will come back soon.

Regards.Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at Homestay owned and run by Mr Harish Rijhwani in June 2013. We found this place to be just perfect to spend 4-5 days in Varanasi. It is located in the residential area and is close to the main shopping areas in the city (just 10mins by cycle rikshaw) and that was an added convenience.
It is very clean and well-maintained. Rooms are spacious.
Home-cooked breakfast was good.
Mr Rijhwani is very, very helpful from site-seeing advice to getting rikshaw for us whenever needed. His knowledge about silk and weaving art was very helpful to us. He is a very diligent person and was ready to help at all times.
The only recommendation I would have is to add a generator on site, because power failures are quite frequent. During summer months, it is quite hot in Varanasi.
If we visit Varanasi again, we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Su A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you very much for taking time and remembering us.We feel sorry for the little in-convenience you had because of Govt Power failure.As we are situated in a residential area it is not permisible to install a big Electricity Generator for us,as it is very noisy and will become a problem for our in house guest as well as the neighbours,however as you have seen,we have enough Battery support for basic lights and fans,so that our guest do not suffer from the heat during official power cuts.We hope to tackle this issue better in the future as in winter season,we do not have much power cuts.

We felt honored to have you all with us and hope you will come back soon.

Regards.Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,209 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 79 in Varanasi
2,127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
1.0 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#12 of 79 in Varanasi
496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shree Ganesha Palace
Shree Ganesha Palace
#2 of 220 in Varanasi
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestay

Address: D - 61/16, Sidhgirir Bagh, | Inside the lane of Aarambh Hospital, near Union bank of India, Varanasi 221010, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range: $51 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Homestay is managed by an Indian family and those who like to stay with a family and share the culture and taste freshly made home cooked vegetarian food would like it here very much.A traditional Indian house built in 1936, with complete teakwood work and antique hand carving workmanship on the doors, windows, decorations and furniture. Lots of open space for natural sunlight and air, and a beautiful small garden. Beautiful seat in garden in the front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing