We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homestay
Ranked #1 of 224 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

It's difficult to find the words to describe how insanely excellent this place is. There was not one imperfection noted. Harish really cares for his guests. All services provided by the homestay were impeccable. The food prepared by Malika was incredible!!! The homemade mango and pineapple jam was just to die for! India can be a difficult place for tourists but Harish and his homestay make you and your business feel truly appreciated. If you find yourself in Varanasi, staying at this homestay is an absolute must. You won't regret it. 10/10 -- 100% -- A+.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EthanM89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

How can we thank you for such nice words, Dear Ethan

We felt honored to have you all with us and hope you will come back soon.

Regards.Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 514 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent the last week of May at the Varanasi Homestay. The temperature was around 45 degrees Celsius. It would have been challenging, had we not been so well taken care of by Harish and his family. Harish arranged for a car or a riksha to take us wherever we wanted to go. He also suggested places to go that we would not have thought of visiting otherwise. The drivers took good care of us, i.e. helping us finding our way through the crowds in the temples. As this was our first visit in India, we were curious about Indian culture and religions. It was perfect to be able to ask the family at breakfast or dinner all the questions we had gathered during the day. Malika, Harish’s wife, cooked us delicious food. In Harish’s shop we bought some fine silk, beautiful things that will remind us of our stay in Varanasi.

Room Tip: We stayed in Deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fam_centerstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you very much for ll your kind words for the hospitality at Homestay.

We felt honored to have you all with us and hope you will come back soon.

Regards.Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at Homestay owned and run by Mr Harish Rijhwani in June 2013. We found this place to be just perfect to spend 4-5 days in Varanasi. It is located in the residential area and is close to the main shopping areas in the city (just 10mins by cycle rikshaw) and that was an added convenience.
It is very clean and well-maintained. Rooms are spacious.
Home-cooked breakfast was good.
Mr Rijhwani is very, very helpful from site-seeing advice to getting rikshaw for us whenever needed. His knowledge about silk and weaving art was very helpful to us. He is a very diligent person and was ready to help at all times.
The only recommendation I would have is to add a generator on site, because power failures are quite frequent. During summer months, it is quite hot in Varanasi.
If we visit Varanasi again, we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Su A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you very much for taking time and remembering us.We feel sorry for the little in-convenience you had because of Govt Power failure.As we are situated in a residential area it is not permisible to install a big Electricity Generator for us,as it is very noisy and will become a problem for our in house guest as well as the neighbours,however as you have seen,we have enough Battery support for basic lights and fans,so that our guest do not suffer from the heat during official power cuts.We hope to tackle this issue better in the future as in winter season,we do not have much power cuts.

We felt honored to have you all with us and hope you will come back soon.

Regards.Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Myself and 3 females friends stayed at Homestay during our recent trip to Veranasi. The rooms and facilities were top notch. Harish and his family were the perfect hosts and the food WAS AMAZING. It was probably some of the best eating we did in all of India. He loaned us a local cell phone and helped arrange all of our tours. It was such a calming and homey place to stay in the middle of such an intense city. We even bought sari's from his silk shop for a wedding we were attending later in Mumbai. They truly couldn't have been nicer, or more accommodating. the other really nice part is that when he arranges the tours and drivers, you just pay the guest house at the end of your trip. You don't have to worry about constantly having cash to pay everyone. I can't say enough about how great they were and we would absolutely go back!!!

The very few downsides, electricity can sometimes be unpredictable, so every now and then we'd have no A/C, but it was always manageable. The guesthouse is a little hard to find, and walking to and from can be intimidating, but Harish has a rickshaw and other transportation available. Lastly, you have to pay in cash. Turns out this is pretty standard, but at the end of the trip it does add up.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meghan_gleason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you very much for taking time and remembering us.We feel sorry for the little in-convenience you had because of electricity from govt getting dis-connected,that is why,we have installed Battery support for basic lights and fans,but AC is not possible to run on a Battery.This problem is more frequent only in summer and hot weather.From October to March,situation is much better.Thanks for visiting us,please do come again.Regards.Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

It is already a while since we stayed at Homestay with Harish and Malika (January 24-26), but still wanted to write a quick review to help other travelers and compliment the hosts. From the moment we first contacted via email, Harish was very responsive and helpful. When we arrived in Varanasi (by plane from Cal) until we left (for Delhi), he was very helpful by arranging some outings, providing information and by being a great host. Malika's food was delicious - simple and unpretentious but truly nutritious and excellent. The room we had was a little small, with little room to store anything, yet it was comfortable. It was cold, so we used a space heater for an hour or so in the evening. There was some work/construction going on, but this all happened during the day, when we were out. The Homestay is well located in Varanasi: away from the hustle and bustle, yet near enough to start exploring from there either by foot or by rickshaw. Our Varanasi visit was one of the best experiences during our India trip, and obviously the Homestay played an important role in that. Highly recommended, indeed! Thanks, Harish and Malika!

Room Tip: If it is available, take the bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rem2GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you so much dear guest,for your kindness to write a few words about the Homestay. construction work going on during your time of visit is complete long before.We look forward to serving you again in future with even more improved Homestay. Thanks & Regards.Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

In a nutshell, Homestay is an ideal place when traveling with family. It is secure and the rooms are generous and welcoming in terms of space and cleanliness. The hosts are kind and Mr. Harish does not hesitate in giving you all the information that you need to know about the city. Mrs. Mallika Harish's food is nice and mild, and that is exactly what is needed for the stomach while traveling! In one line, as a family, we all felt at home, at Homestay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JGanapathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you so much dear Ganapathi & Family, for taking time to write about the Homestay. All 04 of you were wonderful guest and we really enjoyed your stay with us.Please come again to give us another chance to serve you with even improved hospitality in future.

Regards

Harish & Malika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

After more than 15 years I came back Varanasi. The city is still the spiritual and historic loaded city I have known in the late nineties. I choose to stay in Homestay because of the good location and excellent reviews on Tipadvisor. It was a good choice. It is centrally located and you get a glimpse of residential life of a modern Indian family in Varanasi. Harish and his wife are great hosts, excellent food and good tips how to visit the city best. You are in good hands. The rooms are large, clean and the best working Internet I had in India in the last 5 weeks. I recommend Homestay Varanasi without any hesitation.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Reinardus v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thanks a lot for taking time, so quickly,to write about the Homestay.Valued guest like you,make our experience of Homestay,a wonderful one.It was nive sharing these 3 days with you.Thanks for coming.Best Regards.
Malika & Harish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,221 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 80 in Varanasi
2,155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#11 of 80 in Varanasi
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
1.3 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
1.7 mi away
Banaras Paying Guest house
Banaras Paying Guest house
#3 of 224 in Varanasi
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestay

Address: D - 61/16, Sidhgirir Bagh, | Inside the lane of Aarambh Hospital, near Union bank of India, Varanasi 221010, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 224 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range: $50 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Homestay is managed by an Indian family and those who like to stay with a family and share the culture and taste freshly made home cooked vegetarian food would like it here very much.A traditional Indian house built in 1936, with complete teakwood work and antique hand carving workmanship on the doors, windows, decorations and furniture. Lots of open space for natural sunlight and air, and a beautiful small garden. Beautiful seat in garden in the front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing