We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Stay at Homestay Inn.Varanasi.”
Review of Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestay
Ranked #1 of 214 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Quality Stay at Homestay Inn.Varanasi.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at Homestay Inn.Varanasi from March 2nd to 4th 2013.
We stayed on the top floor super deluxe room and were happy with our decision.
The room was spacious and clean and so was the bathroom. It has an adjoining open
terrace with flower pots. The internet connection was good. The room and bathroom are cleaned every day. The property itself is located in the middle of a nice residential suburb shielded away from the chaos of Varanasi. To all the foreign tourists the location gives a first hand experience of the "sights and sounds" of a day to day life in Varanasi. Harish ji and Mallika ji who own the place, make up to be an efficient and courteous duo, always ready to go that extra mile to make it a comfortable stay for all their guests. Mallika ji’s fresh “stuffed Parathas” and hot "masala Chai" for breakfast gave a healthy start to the day. It was topped with fruit juice and bread. The arrangement around the breakfast room affords guests to congregate and share their travel stories. Harish ji took care of all our transportation needs, beginning with picking us from Varanasi Airport, our trip to Gaya, Allahabad, Sarnath and ending with dropping us back at the airport at the conclusion of our visit. He even packed breakfast for us and the driver on the morning of our trip to Allahabad. That is the extent to which he takes care of all his guests. With his good network of connections he arranged for our early morning boat ride on Ganga. Couple of nights we requested room service of hot milk and Chaat puri. Once again it was prompt and delicious. I will gladly stay in Homestay Inn whenever I visit Varanasi and highly recommend this facility to all those who are looking for a quality place to stay in Varanasi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amma I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thanks Amma, for visiting us and taking time to write about the Homestay.Hope you will be back again,to give us an opportunity to provide you with, even improved service and hospitality.

Best Regards for Good Self and your husband.

Malika & Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    67
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
89
179
69
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Homestay is pretty new, so it´s very clean and comfortable. Location is not great since it´s a 15 minutes (100 Rupees) tuk tuk away from ganges and commercial area, but it is no headache at all. The owner, Mr. Harish, can make good arrangements for tours/visits but he can sometimes be pushy, so be prepared to deal with him. I highly recommend the morning boat trip in the ganges, don´t miss it!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Memilandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for taking time to review Homestay and up loading a few pictures.Good to know your stay with us was nice and comfortable.However i would like to clarify few issues,you have mentioned,firstly i am surprised that you have found me pushy,as,i think i am the most friendly host for my guest, and the picture you have uploaded from the toilet,the black marks are stick label from the manufacturer of the toilet seat,which is not coming off and there is a black mark on the floor as well which is from enamel paint.Cleanliness and hygiene is our top most priority in the Homestay. How ever we will remain more careful in the future about the smallest issue.Thanks a lot for your time and hope you will come back again in the future. Best Regards Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is the first review I have ever written. This Homestay is incredibly lovely. We arrived in Varanasi on the final days of the Kumbh Mela festival. Varanasi was overwhelming and fantastic assault to all of our senses. Homestay was no less than an oasis to the awesome madness of the city. Harish is truly blessed with the skill of understanding what his guests need. Homestay along with Harish and his family made our visit to Varanasi truly incredible. The rooms are airy, the beds are very comfortable and the entire place is very clean. If you can, opt to take meals at homestay. You will not be disappointed. Harish and his family have truly built a gem of a hotel in Homestay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickC_303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for remembering us and taking time to review Homestay.Hope you,your family & friends will be here in future to give us an opportunity to serve you.Best Regards.
Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The home is located in a safe area, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and overall we had a pleasant stay over 4 nights. From reviews of other places to stay in Varanasi, it seemed that finding these things wouldn't be easy.

We enjoyed spending time with the family at mealtimes. Harish was very helpful for anything that we wanted to organise - boat rides on the Ganges, car hire, making phone calls on our behalf, making travel plans - all went according to plan. Varanasi seems like the kind of place that could cause hassles but due to Harish's organisational skills, we had none, and were able to experience everything we wanted. Malika made a great variety of tasty food. Their kids were easy to get along with and also helpful. Their driver Mishra provided exceptionally good service and seemed to always be smiling.

There were some inconveniences, but they are nothing too major when you consider that you is staying in the home of someone else. The family has a routine they follow which the guests need to fit in to.

For us, the mealtimes were at inconvenient hours - 9am for breakfast and 9pm for dinner are both too late. Perhaps we could have asked for a different arrangement, but we didn't want to trouble them. As a result we never ate dinner there, so we missed out on some of the home cooking which we heard was very good (vegetarian only). Breakfast on each day included a tasty new dish to try along with the usual toast, jam and tea/coffee.

It may be the case in Varanasi but power outages occurred frequently, so no A/C, and it was hot. However, there is a back up circuit so you at least have a light and a fan working in your room at all times.

Aside from mealtimes, there isn't really an area to sit around in outside your room. We had some spare time so we ended up going to hang out in some bigger hotels so we could lounge around (in air conditioning), use the hotel facilities such as the gym and swimming pool, and have a greater variety of food options to eat at times outside of scheduled meals.

Overall, a comfortable stay, and thanks go to the family for making our stay in Varanasi more pleasant than expected.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for visiting us and taking time to write your views.Thanks for all that you have liked here,however,i should have been told/asked by you at least once during your stay,we would have happily changed the time of food to serve you according to your convenience.Please know that our time to serve Breakfast is 8-8.30 AM and Dinner 8 PM,Generally we are very flexible with our timings to suit guest.and in fact it was your respected mother,who always asked to eat Dinner with us at 9 PM,so we obliged.

Hope you will visit us in the future as well,so we can serve you delicious Indian Veg food cooked by my life partner Malika. Please come back again,we all enjoyed living with you,your wife and respected mother these 04 days,and hope to serve you again.Wishing you a Nice Life in the meantime.

Best Regards

Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Harish and Malika were perfect guests and their daughter is truly a character as well. I was travelling with three friends carrying a lot of expensive camera gear and we felt very comfortable leaving it in our rooms. Not something I can say for very many other places we stayed on the trip.

The rooms are comfortable and LARGE!! Coming back to a room with good air-conditioning was welcome after a long day on the Varanasi heat.

Malkia is a fantastic cook so make sure you stay in at least one night to try her food. It was very good indeed.

I also recommend spending some time (and money) in Harish's silk shop. I bough a bunch of lovely cushion covers which i just love now that I have them home and also picked up a silk bed linen set which I'm looking forward to trying when the weather cools down a little.

The only couple minor negative points
1) The place is quite hidden away so it's hard to get Tuk Tuk drivers to find it. It would be nice if the hotel card had a map on the back of it.
2) The B&B is away from the main part of town so it's quite but it also means you either have a long walk or need to get a tuk tuk everywhere. That's not too much of a hardship though as Harish can call them for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelahiolics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking time to write for us.I will soon implement your suggestion for the map on the back of my address Card,even though we provide all rooms with fresh copies of Varanasi map at check in,which shows all important sites of Varanasi and also the location of our Homestay.Another issue which you may have also observed during your travel to Varanasi,most Tuk Tuk drivers are un-educated and they can not read english,so this is creating some problem,otherwise my area is well known in Varanasi and most driver know this as it is quiet centrally located.Regards.Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I frequently travel to South and Southeast Asia for work have tired of staying in generic high end hotels. My 5-day stay in Varanasi at the Homestay in early March was the perfect cure. Easy and reliable (for India) internet access, consistent hot water, and a comfortable, spacious and clean room without artificial frills was what I was hoped for and is exactly what was provided. Of at least equal importance was the wonderful hospitality of Harish, Malika, and their children. In my off-time from the work that brought me to Varanasi they were able to arrange tours to the various sites in Varanasi and Sarnath and arranged a car and driver for my work-related trips. Having breakfast with the family (included), and when requested, dinner, was an opportunity to eat the wonderful Varanasi cuisine cooked by Malika and informally learn much about daily life in Varanasi and the fascinating history of the place. I will definitely stay at The Homestay again when in Varanasi and give it my most positive recommendation for others to try.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chipbahadur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind stay with us.We also had a wonderful time with you during your stay with us,and,we all,specially my young daughter learnt a lot from your experienced views about life.Thanks for coming and we will look forward to your next visit soon.Regards.Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I spent an excellent time (six nights) with Harish and his wife, Malika. No doubt, it is the best place to stay at in Varanasi, and one of the best in all India. Perfect hosts, very nice house, very comfortable rooms and quiet location only a twenty minutes walk from the most famous Ghats on the Ganges! And last but not least: The most delicious meals by Malika! Wonderful! It was the perfect choice! The excursions on the Ganges which were perfectly organized by Harish were absolutely fantastic! Thank you so much Malika and Harish for your kindness and your hospitality! It was wonderful staying with you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilchibuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTAY-VARANASI, Owner at Homestay, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks you so much, Dear Guest,for your kind stay with us.Hope you will be back one day again.Regards.Harish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,182 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 79 in Varanasi
2,084 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
1.3 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
1.0 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 79 in Varanasi
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestay

Property: Homestay
Address: D - 61/16, Varanasi 221002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 214 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Homestay is managed by an Indian family and those who like to stay with a family and share the culture and taste freshly made home cooked vegetarian food would like it here very much.A traditional Indian house built in 1936, with complete teakwood work and antique hand carving workmanship on the doors, windows, decorations and furniture. Lots of open space for natural sunlight and air, and a beautiful small garden. Beautiful seat in garden in the front. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing