We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant small hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Pleasant small hotel in a great location”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Our room was not facing the river, but was still very pleasant; we actually felt it was nice to get away from the river every now and then! The roof terrace was available if we wanted to watch the scene on the ghats, although some work was being done, so it was not as tidy as it could have been. The food was good, though after 3 dinners and 2 lunches we were getting to the end of the menu. Our only complaint was that the serving staff were too attentive; it was rather off-putting to be so closely watched while we ate, and every other mouthful a waiter appeared to top up our plates or ask if it was ok, which got rather annoying. A very good Indian band played all three evenings, which added to the atmosphere.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    171
    54
    21
    9
See reviews for
74
242
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A bit rough around the edges for a 5-star hotel, but as far as I know there isn't anything nicer right in the heart of Varanasi like this (all the "big" hotels are a long drive out.) Walking distance from everything you'll want to see and do. Bring a flashlight for walking back at night, the alley is dark and loaded with cow plops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyHighYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico city
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We loved our stay at the hotel and I am really happy that the first option of hotel we had was not available, because we got to stay at this little place! We had a beautiful view of the ghats from our room and of course you can go to the balcony to enjoy the sunrise early in the morning from your hotel when everybody pays to get on a boat to see what you have just in from of your room. The place is very peaceful and nice, and the staff is friendly and eager to help you in any time of the day. The breakfast is very simple but is good. We got to the hotel walking but did not mind, is not far from where the car drops you and you enjoy the little walk around the place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in a little lane overlooking Shivala Ghat this is a great little hotel. I don't imagine that there are too many hotels in Varanasi with views of the Ganges from your bed! If you like youcan watch the sunrise from the terrace, followed by a yoga class overlooking river. Hotel food was great, staff ever obliging and helpful - they helped us arrange cars and flights and the manager set up a visit to the nearby Mother Teresa Covent for us. We would certainly stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank E_and_M_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, colorado
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights At the end of September, 2013. A small clean pretty heritage property located on the Ganges River. Staff was always friendly and helpful. Food was very good - dine outside in the courtyard. One of the two nights we were there the hotel had a sitar player at dinner. The rooftop overlook can be a nice place to relax.
Boat rides from the hotel are the best way to view the evening ceremony and morning rituals.
Get a room with a window facing the river.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 203 and enjoyed the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel5612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Varanasi (Sept 17-19, 2013) All of our needs were met and everyone was very friendly. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinners in the hotel restaurant and every meal was delicious. The restaurant staff could not do enough to ensure we were enjoying our meals. The location is perfect. We had an upstairs room overlooking the river and although the window is a bit small, we were still able to sit and watch the daily activities of life on the Ganges. The general manager also went out of his way to provide us with a city map and directions so that we could easily wander the small alleyways on our own. We highly recommend a stay here and we would someday love to return!

Room Tip: Upstairs with a river view room is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherinesb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

All this hotel men were so nice, kind and smiley. I planed to have a surprise BD party for my best friend. They helped me to arrange flowers, balloons and cake. And they joined us to celebrate. We really enjoyed the night!!! I never forget them. Thank you soooo much!
スタッフが本当にいい人たちばかりで、すごく安心できるホテルでした。メインガートからは離れており、わかりにくい場所にありますが、静かでのんびりできるホテルです。

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momosayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.7 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 77 in Varanasi
269 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
3.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 77 in Varanasi
2,075 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 77 in Varanasi
1,179 reviews
1.3 mi away
WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort

Property: Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Address: Shivala Ghat B - 4/25, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suryauday Haveli on Shivala Ghats is a reflection of the spirit of the holy city of Benaras. The Haveli traces its history back to the early 20th century. It was built by the Royal Family of Nepal as a retreat for the aged. Its now been painstakingly put together again to provide the best ghat experience in Benaras. Your stay begins with a 15 minute boat ride upstream along the famous ghats of Benaras to reach the Haveli. The Haveli is also connected by small alleys and streets leading to the Famous Kashi Vishwanath Temple (15 minutes walk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing