We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay on the ganges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Pelham, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good place to stay on the ganges”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The most important thing about this haveli was the service, especially by the management. I had gotten sick, and the manager got me a doctor and checked on me. Otherwise, I might not have gotten better. At night they have live traditional Indian music by candlelight which is lovely. They offer free yoga in the morning but I didn't get to try it as I was ill. They give you a complimentary boat ride at night on the Ganges to see the evening rituals. The only thing is that being on the Ganges with a river facing room and a fan open to the Ganges I got some mosquitoes in the bathroom in the evening - more so if you leave the light on at night. I had a very large fly at one point - but hey this is the Ganges what do you expect - but they will come kill it for you.

Room Tip: Perhaps opt for a room not facing the Ganges to decrease the possibility of mosquitoes? Not sure if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sixweeksoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    171
    54
    21
    9
See reviews for
74
242
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

First off... The combination of service, location and quality of accommodations were very good and I would choose this hotel again for my next Varanasi trip without hesitation. That said, i will provide pros and ons so that potential guests can set appropriate expectations. So glad we called for the hotel transfer from the airport, since this hotel is only accessible by boat via Shivala Ghat or on foot via windy alleys ... Transfer service was great - arriving by boat was a great way to be welcomed. I would characterize staff as dedicated and intent on providing first class service, in keeping with high room rates, but their did seem to be a bit of inexperience and inconsistency in attentiveness. Perhaps this was just a function of the size of the hotel. for example, the restaurant staff was ever present, courteous and friendly but not always terrific at describing some of the menu options, limited as they were. That said, the included breakfast was the perfect way to start our day every day, and dinner with live classical Indian music was perfect. Hotel staff was extremely helpful in obtaining transportation and guide services as well. The included sunset boat ride was excellent. The sunrise boatmen were not always on time - I attributed this to the local relaxed state of mind - and there was a bit of confusion related to one of the sunset cruises, because a group of travelers had booked a private guided tour, but initially only one boatman and boat were ready to go. The hotel and room were decorated nicely in a transitional style that was comfortable, warm and modern. The courtyard and rooftop deck added tremendous value, giving me a place to go to relax, meditate and people watch without interruption from the local beggars and merchants. The location was fabulous from my point of view, not far from Assi Ghat, but we were most comfortable traversing the waterfront to ghats with better access to town, shops and food, then the alleys street side.

Room Tip: If you can't get a waterfront room, no worries, the rooftop deck is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesliesadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall England
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This small hotel has a fantastic atmosphere. The staff are so keen to help you and made our stay special. From reception to the restaurant staff to the boy who collects you in the hotel boat, everything was lovely. OK the rooms are not 5 star but are clean and comfortable and very quiet. The view from the terrace is amazing, and they will bring you extra chairs, just ask. In fact if there is anything you find lacking or wrong, just ask.

I have no idea how someone paid $6 for a bowl of rice!!! there must have been a mistake, when one was made with our bill it was corrected immediatly. The food is good, well cooked and the service, if a little slow was always with a smile, and you are on holiday after all. They allowed us to use our room until our check out at 3pm with no problems.

We enjoyed our two night stay and if we ever visit Varanasi again will stay at Suryauday Haveli.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

To be honest, our expectations for this hotel were very low. But despite having to find our way through the narrow alleys with our luggage in tow, we found the greeting at the hotel to be warm and authentic. The courtyard was quiet and tidy (relative), and the room was spacious and clean. The view from the room through the tiny window was perfect, and the view from the rooftop terrace was spectacular.
If you approach this hotel with high expectations of top-notch service and luxourious surroundings you will be disappointed. However, if you recognize the obvious limitations of operation in a location such as Varanasi, you can appreciate the effort that is being made at this property. The waiter and cook appear to be untrained, but they are eager to please and humble. Although by 1st world standards the food is not good, I am woe to dismiss the effort that is being made. The same goes for the struggling garden and spartan room. Bottles of water, shampoos and fruit are provided in the room, and a small gift was given at checkout. Local musicians play traditional music in the courtyard in the evning With the right mindset, this lodging can be considered a gem in the rough.

Room Tip: River view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docbroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a great position and we had a stunning view from our bedroom, the courtyard was a haven of peace in this frenetic city. The staff, however were not great and the restaurant service, slow, inefficient and the quality of food mediocre. It all felt a bit amateurish and lacking in care. however the location unique so for this reason would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Ganges-view room. Fabulous waking up to this
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanbornton, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We so wanted to love this place, and having read all the reviews significantly lowered our expectations prior to arrival, but not enough. Yes, the location is great & the rooms spacious & the courtyard lovely. Offsetting this is the ridiculous prices (from the $300 room to the bowl of rice for $6 to a bottle of water for $3 when you can walk outside and it's 40 cents or a basket of bread for $6 that consisted of some of the worst tasting naan I've ever had. And I'm an upbeat optimistic guy! I feel like I've been had!. It's like they know they have you in a corner. Unfortunately, the staff is one of the biggest downsides, including an opinionated rude GM, unpredictable and at times very inattentive wait staff, an embarrassing excuse for a breakfast (cheap bread, tasteless omelets, instant coffee packets & lassis that may or may not show up on any given morning--they didn't this morning) and a Wi-Fi system totally random & unpredictable as to when it will work & when it won't. The Staff may or may not be at the front desk at any given time, their directions to other places were vague & virtually guaranteed to get us lost, and because of it's location, it's hard to walk out & easily find other alternatives for eating nearby. They strongly discourage you using any services (i.e taxi) other than their own. How a hotel can charge what they do in one of the poorest, dirtiest cities in India is truly a wonder....oh yeah, that location thing....expect to be disappointed! If the room rates & prices were 40% cheaper and a new GM was brought on board, they'd have happier guests & much better reviews....that's the saddest part, this SHOULD be the best place to stay in Varanasi, and it's not.

Room Tip: Make sure you know what you're getting into when you choose to visit Varanasi....and btw, you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

When I initially booked a hotel in Varanasi, I thought I'd save some money and stay in another, much cheaper - but highly rated - guest house along the river. When we showed up there was no running water, the room smelled terrible and there were dead bugs all over the place. I was not happy. We couldn't we use the internet to find another hotel because the promised wi-fi didn't work either. So we decided to go for a walk and ended up walking right past the Suryauday Haveli. On a whim, we walked in and were relieved to find a room free. No dead bugs. Working plumbing and wi-fi. In fact, a very nice place.

Is it perfect? No. We wanted to hire a car and driver to go to Sarnath for the day and they would arrange a car for a short stay - I think it was 3, maybe 4 hours - but absolutely no longer. They had a set menu of 4 tour types that you could book and would not help at all to arrange a car for something else, so we had to find a car and driver ourselves. No big deal, just something to be aware of so you plan ahead.

Varanasi is not the easiest or most relaxing place to travel so having a nice hotel made the stay a little more manageable. In short, if you want to stay near the river and can afford the extra cost of this place, I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chaddish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.7 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 77 in Varanasi
269 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
3.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 77 in Varanasi
2,075 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 77 in Varanasi
1,179 reviews
1.3 mi away
WelcomHeritage Jukaso Ganges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort

Property: Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Address: Shivala Ghat B - 4/25, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suryauday Haveli on Shivala Ghats is a reflection of the spirit of the holy city of Benaras. The Haveli traces its history back to the early 20th century. It was built by the Royal Family of Nepal as a retreat for the aged. Its now been painstakingly put together again to provide the best ghat experience in Benaras. Your stay begins with a 15 minute boat ride upstream along the famous ghats of Benaras to reach the Haveli. The Haveli is also connected by small alleys and streets leading to the Famous Kashi Vishwanath Temple (15 minutes walk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing