We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can only agree with the last few reports”
Review of Hotel Ganesha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ganesha
Ranked #25 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I can only agree with the last few reports”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Upon reading TripAdvisors last reports we decided to give the Ganesha hotel a try....and we were not disappointed. Although we only reserved our room by telephone, it was there and ready when we arrived. The hotel was clean and inviting and the staff was very friendly, welcoming and easy. The room was clean and straightforward, with hot and cold water and towels, plus free wifi - which was very good (as I have experienced all different types all over India). Location is very good, right at Assi Ghat. No Ganges views but its just a minute walk and there is a phantastic Lassi shop just at the corner. If you want to arrange Aarti, Boating, night rickshaws or Sarnath trips Santosh and the staff are very helpful without ever hasseling. We felt real cared for ...in fact so...... that after we spent 4 days at Bodhgaya we decided to come back to Ganesha hotel for a second time. Again a telephone call reserved the room and on coming back it felt like coming home. Thank you again Santosh for everything. This time we paid by credit card and there was no problem either. So to round it off: although there are plenty of other hotels in Varanasi we will come back again to this one.......

PS We also stayed at the room with the small window (105) and I don't mind the beds at all....futong style

Room Tip: we liked 105 as it has a little window which seems to make a difference but I haven#t seen the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heinz Gerd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    77
    35
    14
    12
See reviews for
23
50
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We felt in good hands here. The close location to Assi Ghat is unbeatable. The staff was super friendly. The rooms are large and clean. The relatively hard beds. At night, however, it is nice and quiet, which is rarely found in India.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arron r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel owner here was very helpful and friendly. They can arrange trips for you but no hard sell, if you're not interested.

The room was clean, with a small desk, shower was hot and water plentiful. The mattresses were the hard kind, even doubling mine up it was pretty solid. There was only one tiny window, up in the top of the room, however it let in a surprising amount of light on the day, so lights weren't always needed. The sounds from another bathroom do echo down, and if you're not one who enjoys listening to the late night hawking of lungs then perhaps ask for a room at one end of the hotel, away from the first floor.

The location is good, just set back from Assi Ghat, which is a five minute walk away, plus you get to go past Open Hand coffee shop, which does the best plunge coffee in Varanasi, as well as being a great fair trade shop.

The first night at the hotel was noisy due to a wedding in the vicinity, after that it was eerily quiet, after being used to dogs barking, horns honking well into the night.

I didn't eat at the hotel, so can't comment on the food, although I found the reception / eating area / tv viewing a bit strange. All the staff huddled round the tele in the lobby, whether it was cricket or childrens' tv.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarvegetable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We arrived at the hotel with a big smile ... finally a clean, colorful waiting area and smiling staff. Service was very friendly and room was very clean, one of the cleanest we've seen in India in this price range (though we must admit the beds were hard ... a trend we've come across often in India). Location is great, right near Assi Ghat. We did have a bit of noise in the middle of the night, not sure what kind of local party was going on but I think we were so tired we fell back asleep within minutes. Any questions we asked were answered with plenty of information and great directions. Even though we cannot stay a second night (there is no availability), we were told to come back for anything we need. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit to Varanasi!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

To begin with we were quite impressed with this hotel, well apart from the surprise pay up front system they operate. The room was a decent size, it was clean and there was hot water. We were here 4 nights and each night the opinion of the hotel dropped in my estimation. I asked for a second blanket as it was chilly the first night so they bought up a furry looking thing which smelled of dust and urine. We had a room on the second floor next to what we think was the staff accommodation as between 3:00 -4:00 all we could here was people shouting showering and clearing their throats. To top it all off when my partner popped out to grab water on our second to last night the manager cornered her to tell her we should have checked out by now even though we had still paid for the next night. She corrected him and he said oh so it seems, no apology. Then on our last day I asked for a tuk tuk to the train station at 3:30 am when we came down at 3:30 we were told it was coming at 4:00 as that was the time I asked for it. I specifically remember saying 3:30. Any way it is a decent enough place to stay just don't expect the world from the 15 odd staff that always seem to be in the lobby.

Oh I forgot the mattresses are really uncomfortable. They feel like folded cardboard.

Room Tip: Avoid anything next to staff accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joadify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

They provided everything - rooms, boat tours, city-tours (with riksha or taxi), taxi service, warm attitude with quite low prices, at least comparing to the other tourist center we inquired.

Highly recommend! and thanks Santosh, next time I know directly which hotel to go to in Varanasi :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Good clean rooms with the little luxuries like a tv, towel and toilet paper which do not always come with budget accommodation in India. Really cute hotel, great for travellers. The staff are really helpful and friendly too!

Would love to stay again when back in Varanasi!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hagabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,185 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Gupta Inn
Hotel Gupta Inn
#29 of 79 in Varanasi
92 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sonmony
Hotel Sonmony
#57 of 79 in Varanasi
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#18 of 79 in Varanasi
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#10 of 79 in Varanasi
521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Divya
Hotel Divya
#64 of 79 in Varanasi
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ganesha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganesha

Property: Hotel Ganesha
Address: Assi B1/48 | Opp-Abhay Cinema, Varanasi 221005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ganesha 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ganesha is situated at a strategic location in Varanasi. Its convenient location, only 1 kilometers from the city center, makes Hotel Ganesha a perfect base to explore the holy city of Varanasi. Besides, the budget hotel offers modern amenities and services. 200 Meters From The Famous Assi Ghat, 500 Meters From The Banaras Hindu University (B.H.U), 1KM From The Dashaswamedh Ghat (Main Ghat), 5Km From The Varanasi Railway Station & 20Km From Airport. This Is a Very New Build Hotel with The Main Aim Of giving our guests cleaner & peaceful environment. With center of all important tourist location and The Beautiful "Assi ghat". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ganesha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing