We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away home”
Review of Anami Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anami Lodge
Ranked #72 of 236 Specialty Lodging in Varanasi
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Excellent location. Situated on the banks of Assi Ghat. Totally homely atmosphere. Service is very good. 24 hrs hot\cold water, generator service, all major credit\debit card acceptance. Room-service of Ramkishanji is wonderful. Safe parking zone in front of the hotel at a reasonable rate. Moreover overall supervision of Mr. P.N.Singh (proprtr) commonly known as Bauji is remarkable and Maaji ka haath ka banaya hua pure veg north-indian recepies are la jawab and give a jerk of nostalgia. Rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SonaliM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 11 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

The location is excellent. Assi Ghat is the last ghat in Ganges river and you will never get lost because you may just ask where are the ghats and walk until you get there. Also, from there you can walk through all the ghats until you reach the first one at the opposite side. Nearby are everything one needs: general stores for food, pharmacy, fruits, ATMs, an american coffee house called AUN with wonderful western choices, another american coffee house super called Open Hand and two nice restaurants with view to the Ganges. Regarding to touristic attractions, all are at walkable distance: Monkey Temple and Durga Temple. It is a guest house run by a very nice family. The room was clean, with clean bathroom, hot water, wi-fi in the room and free. Towels are provided but toilet paper is not but you can buy for US$ 1 at the reception. The view from the balcony was wonderful, we could see the river, the sunrise from there. They helped us with transportation to the railway station really early in the morning.
The laundry service is fantastic and cheap. They even ironed our clothes. We payed 700 rupees (us$14) for a room with ensuite bathroom and balcony. They have electricity even when the city has not and this is important. Because of the river there are huge and many mosquitoes. Do not forget the insecticide.

Room Tip: Room 17 has a balcony where you can dry your clothes and from where you may see Ganges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hi I loved it here I had a single room on the roof last October for 200rpe a night. I did find that I had to keep turning the hot water on at the switch in the cupboard outside my room in order to get a hot shower (another person showed me how). But otherwise they were amazing and I could not have been happier. There was a mixture of long term people studying at the uni and short term visitors like me. Most days I had the rooftop to myself as the other guests did not seem to realise it was there and I chilled reading a book or watching the evening ceremonies. It is a walk to the main town area and the usual people trying to get you to take a ride but I enjoyed the walk up there for dinner and then used a tutut back.

Room Tip: Just check if you go for the roof top that the mesh is in one piece I had to stuff paper in mine to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annaholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Anami lodge is located on one end of the Ganga River, so if you ever get lost while exploring the ghats, just head back to the river bank, turn right and walk to the last Ghat.

Must get the employee called Manish. He made the stay excellent. Toilets were clean & shiny. Bed sheets, pillow cases & blankets were dust free. He arranged all our transport, and they were punctual.
Manish's contact number: 09389816906

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awesomelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

You can't beat the location of this place and the friendly service made us feel so welcome. The rooms were clean, the pillows and mattresses a bit hard. We paid 750 rupees for our room and it came with 3 single beds pushed together to make a queen. Manish, who works there arranged an excellent walking guide who also took us around by tuc tuc. If you can ask for Raj, he's a great guide. He kept the sales people away while we walked the ghats. We really fell in love with this place!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluemissmew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

An absolute good budget option at Assi Ghat in Varanasi. Directly at the ghat, entrance is next to jewellery shop. Rooms are small, but very clean, with attached bathroom and 24h hot water. The family, which runs the Guesthouse is very nice and friendly. You just feel safe and welcome and the price is good, 350 Rupies for the Room, what is cheap for Varanasi.
And it's absolute hassle-free in the hotel. You can have the hassles, if you need, just outside on the street :-)
The only minus was, that there was noise from the sitting room just outside my room till 11pm and from 7am and the matress was a little bit on the harder side. But 8 hours of sleep is just enough, isn't it?

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Climber70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank NAELLE34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#22 of 80 in Varanasi
198 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sonmony
Hotel Sonmony
#69 of 80 in Varanasi
20 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Gupta Inn
Hotel Gupta Inn
#31 of 80 in Varanasi
93 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 80 in Varanasi
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anami Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anami Lodge

Address: B160, Assi Ghat | at the Ghat, Varanasi 221005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 236 Specialty Lodging in Varanasi
Price Range: $13 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel Anami Lodge is situated on the front of river Ganges at Assi Ghat. The peaceful environment of Assi Ghat allows you to concentrate, yoga and other meditational activity under the hood itself. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing