We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Cafe in Varanasi”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Filocafe

Filocafe
Ranked #6 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Varanasi
Price range: $0 - $3
Cuisines: Cafe, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“The best Cafe in Varanasi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Awesome food, great atmosphere, situated on the rooftop of an absolutely beautiful building. Must try the Masala Chai. The place has limited number of items on the menu though

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Abhikdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    11
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Kentucky
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely building, rooftop, but few choices on menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I LOVE The Kautilya Society, so maybe I had too high expectations of the rooftop Filocafe. While it's a lovely rooftop spot, I wasn't that impressed with the menu. If you're looking for a very relaxed rooftop to read or sit and chat, go- if you're looking for a snack or a big meal, I would say sneak somewhere else.

Also, better to go before it's completely dark- otherwise there were lots of bugs (some even got in our drinks) after the sun went down.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thiskentuckygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunset spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Great cafe, great coffee and cookies. Don't need to be a member for your first two visits. The rooftop cafe had free mineral water which is nice. Great view at sunset to enjoy the river and the kite flying rituals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The place to think and enjoy the atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I heard about Fiocafé before arriving to Varanasi; somebody suggested me the place and I discovered why : the café is located in the roof top of an ancient and wonderful building in the old city of Varanasi, in front of the river Ganges.
For me has been the perfect place to take some coffee or juice, read some books, write and chill out. I really suggest this café as a quite island of relax and beauty in the heart of the chaotic old city.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Its peaceful and simple.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hi i go to this resto regularly, great hostipalty , the best here is to sit order a cold coffie , fresh lemonade , chees tost , and veg maggie and Flavoured huka also. The best part of this place is there is a roof top place were they give a low sitting and from there u can have a fantastic vew of river ganaga with the nice food and great colorfull ambiance . Its open from 3 to 10 pm . Best time to visit in winters or rainy season .

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ijustcoolup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filocafe also viewed

Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
 
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
 

Been to Filocafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing