We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful family experience”
Review of Aashray

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aashray
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful family experience”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Our family of four ( 2 parents, 15 & 18 year old teens) had a wonderful time at the Aashray Home Stay while in Varanasi. This a quiet tranquil space in to relax and really feel at home. We really felt like we were visiting family in India, which was so much nicer than feeling like tourists. The breakfasts and dinner (dinner is extra cost) were delicious. Mrs. Kapur is an incredible cook, and even shared a recipe with me. Mr. Kapur is very knowledgable about the history and politics of India, and it was lovely to chat with them both at meals. The rooms were nice. It's a very different experience from a regular hotel, and will greatly enhance your visit to India.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsbbsbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aashray-Homestay, Owner at Aashray, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thankyou!
It was indeed a pleasure to have you.
Look forward to having you again with us.

Regards
Kamal Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    20
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
82
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

There are many compliments written here to Mr. and Mrs. Kapur for their excellent service. I will not repeat many of the ideas voiced before, but I will only emphasize a few things. If you want to spend your time in the holy city of Varanasi discovering true Indian culture, this is your place. Immerse into the lovely care of the Kapur family and they will answer whatever question you may have about their culture, history, religion, traditions and etc. You may not get into the same depth with the other guides you fetch somewhere in the street, who have just simply memorized by heart something they read somewhere and retell you bluntly as dry facts. Mr. Kapur will guide you personally along the Ganges river and Mrs. Kapur will warm your heart with motherly care and wonderful vegetarian food. We have not had a better and more wholesome breakfasts anywhere else in India as here. Book early! They only have got two rooms. The location is perfect too. Not in the bustling old town, but near enough to reach the river on foot.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoraM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aashray-Homestay, Owner at Aashray, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thankyou!
It was indeed a pleasure to have you.

Your warm and kind words are truly appreciated.

Regards
Kamal Kapur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We, my parents and me, had a wonderful stay with Mister and Mrs Kapur. They are taking care in every detail and absolutely a beautiful example of Indian hospitality. Everything can be arranged (tours, food, taxi). We were lucky that Mister Kapur was our guide on the morning boat excursion. His knowledge about the city and Indian culture was adding great value to the trip and our stay in general. In total we stayed 4 nights and were also lucky to enjoy the love and excellent food of Mrs Kapur. She is a beautiful example of the abundant energy a mother can have for her 'children'. Our stay in their home was making our experience in Varanasi very beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalithaHYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

India has shown itself to be a land of hospitality, band our hosts at Aashray Homestay are shining examples of this. Our plane had been delayed almost thee hours and we arrived later in the evening, tired and hungry. No problem. They had a warm dinner ready for us. The next morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast while chatting with our hostess. What a wonderful person she is. Warm smiling gracious...
Later that evening, our host joined us over dinner. Such an interesting man. Be sure to ask him about the Governor's Award displayed there. My wife and I were disappointed that we only had a two days stay there. The conversations, food, hospitality, and 'good peopleness' of our hosts still remains with us as one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanParkGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were a group of 3 women and ma and pa made our stay so welcoming and at home! This was exactly what we were looking for....we experienced true Indian hospitality and customs. Ma helped us dress in saris and her cooking was out of this world! Pa had extensive knowledge of history and places to see. He can arrange tours for u with his trusted and gentle driver Capel. The room was nice and cozy. I would highly recommend staying there instead of the fancy hotels to get the true Indian experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TriniCarolM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed here for 2 days out of a month-long expedition through India and this was one of the most welcoming and pleasant stays I had. The husband/wife hosts were very pleasant, giving tips on what to do and see, and the food was home-cooked and restaurant-quality. I could honestly say that I felt like I was at home whilst staying here. Amazing comfort and security, an oasis in what really speaking is a city unfortunately steeped in poverty.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peruwelz, Belgique
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Our Family spended Xmas time in Aashray during our travel around India. For our children, Mr. & Mrs Kapur seem like grandparents: they were interesting about us, always ready to help and take care and cooked tasty homemade meal. Their cosy house was like our house and we know that the next time we will go to Varanasi, we will find back our Indians grandparents.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvesetsangeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.1 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
1.3 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#15 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aashray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aashray

Property: Aashray
Address: 10 Gangapuri | Near Laxmi Cinema, Mehmoorganj, Varanasi 221010, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aashray is in the heart of city, yet away from crowd. It's in a colony, but the main road linking the entire city is less than 100 meters away. Railway or bus station, temples, Ghats, shopping centers, mall, craft centers, restaurants, boats, hospitals and eatables, are all available within the radius of three kilometers of the house. Your Hosts: The Kapurs, are mixture of traditional and modern values. Mr Kapur, although a chartered accountant by profession is an avid reader of Hindi literature and devotes a lot of his time in keeping alive the beautiful culture of Varanasi. Mrs Kapur, with a graduation in Indian Classical music, is known more for her warmth and the magic she creates with the Indian veggies (you might almost forget your meats and fish for a while)! They have not forgotten their traditional customs and values but at the same time modern customs and values have been accepted whole-heartedly. Thanks to their interest in Yoga, history of India, local culture and traditions, they are able to share a lot and invite you to be a part of their lives for the moments that you are with them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aashray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing