We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with a relative”
Review of Aashray

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aashray
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
1 review
“Like staying with a relative”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Mr and Mrs Kapur are such amazing hosts, staying with them is like being with a relative. The food was outstanding (Mrs Kapur is a great cook, as many other reviewers have said) and the morning boat ride with Mr Kapur was very enlightening. I stayed there two days/one night and really appreciated all their local knowledge and help in coping with the chaos that is Varanasi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    19
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
82
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

There isn't much one can write new about this place, except agreeing with excellent reviews the Kapurs receive. I think this is as good as a B&B can be. Nice clean modern room and toilet, and home cooked unpretentious food. Still, the hero for me was the hospitality of the Kapurs. Perfect display of indian hospitality - in fact this sort is reserved in india only for close family and usually something money cannot buy.

However, do keep in mind this B&B is not on the ghats. At the same time it is not as far out as the hotels in the cantonment area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just got back from two nights and three days with the Kapur family. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The place is tucked away from much of the noise and chaos of Varanasi so it provides some nice respite and it's only a five minute rickshaw ride to get to the ghats. As has been noted Mrs. Kapur's cooking is out of this world. I miss it already. And Mr. Kapur's as well as his wife's knowledge of India's history, politics, arts and culture leads to some great conversations. Mr. Kapur took us on a morning boat ride/tour which was great as well. On the last day, our flight to Delhi left at 8:00 p.m. The Kapur's let us keep our room that day for no charge since they had no one coming. It was such a relief to come back, clean up and shower after a day exploring Varanasi in the rain before getting on plane ride to Delhi and starting our 30 hour journey home to the States. We really enjoyed meeting the Kapur's and would stay here again in a heartbeat. Don't bother with the restaurants in Varanasi, you won't find anything that beats the food here. Matt and Beth, Seattle, USA

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Tonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I had a very good stay with this family. They were very kind and attentive. The room was nice and confortable. The location was not as much interesting for me, because I was more interested in staying more close to the gaths and there is some traffic in Varanasi. If location near the Gaths is not a point of concern, this is a very good and confortable option for staying in Varanasi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are going to visit Varanasi, then you really must stay here. We spent a month travelling around India. For Varanasi I found it difficult to locate a central point to base ourselves. I wasn't prepared for how large this city is.
I found 'Happy Kamal' on trip advisor and decided to try a homestay for a change.
Good decision - in fact, our stay was a highlight of the whole trip. I would recommend booking a morning Ganges boat trip and the River Arti. Also the city tour. Everything was explained and we left with a deeper understanding of this incredible city.
I would also suggest booking dinner here, the food was delicious and again everything explained. This was true hospitality and gave me a greater appreciation of North Indian food, this beats any restaurant.
If you only have a short time in Varanasi yet want to experience as much as possible, and to really understand it, then you must stay here.
Happy Traves!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Looperlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Varanasi left us pretty disappointed, and exhausted! Our stay with The Kapur's at their wonderful home was by far the best part, and definitely the best food we had during our three weeks in India. I would highly recommend staying here if you want to experience a side of Varanasi that isn't ruined by touts! Great people, great food, made us feel very welcome!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AdiS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Mr & Mrs. Kapur saying that you arrive as a stranger and leave as a friend rings very true. We were welcomed into their home during Diwali and invited to partake in the family's ceremony and prayers. It was a wonderful way to experience the "real" India. Mrs. Kapur is an excellent cook and we enjoyed many wonderful meals at her table. She kindly shared her recipes with us. Everything in her home is freshly made, often with grains and vegetables grown on thir farm. I'm normally not a vegetarian but her meals were so delicious and varied that I didn't miss the meat.
Our room was located above their living quarters and was very clean and comfortable. The homestay is located off the busy main street and within walking distance (about 20 min) from the main ghats.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zolano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.2 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
1.1 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
283 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 79 in Varanasi
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 79 in Varanasi
2,089 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,184 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aashray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aashray

Property: Aashray
Address: 10 Gangapuri | Near Laxmi Cinema, Mehmoorganj, Varanasi 221010, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aashray is in the heart of city, yet away from crowd. It's in a colony, but the main road linking the entire city is less than 100 meters away. Railway or bus station, temples, Ghats, shopping centers, mall, craft centers, restaurants, boats, hospitals and eatables, are all available within the radius of three kilometers of the house. Your Hosts: The Kapurs, are mixture of traditional and modern values. Mr Kapur, although a chartered accountant by profession is an avid reader of Hindi literature and devotes a lot of his time in keeping alive the beautiful culture of Varanasi. Mrs Kapur, with a graduation in Indian Classical music, is known more for her warmth and the magic she creates with the Indian veggies (you might almost forget your meats and fish for a while)! They have not forgotten their traditional customs and values but at the same time modern customs and values have been accepted whole-heartedly. Thanks to their interest in Yoga, history of India, local culture and traditions, they are able to share a lot and invite you to be a part of their lives for the moments that you are with them! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aashray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing