We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aashray
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Buddha(Varanasi)
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$98
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$48
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$30
$27
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$62
$18
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ganpati Guest House(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
$22
$19
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Alka(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
$12
$10
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
165
20
2
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
20
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr kapurwonderful homestayhome stayhomestay experiencewonderful hostsemerald roomwonderful cooklovely homeparting giftboat ridehighly recommend a staythe riverindian historyreal indian experiencehomemade mealshome cookedlocal family
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 190 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Mr & Mrs K make you feel so welcome in their home. I cannot recommend staying with them enough. It is a safe haven in the wonderful but crazy Varanasi. The food is delicious and their knowledge of the area is fantastic. Mr K's boat trip on the Ganges and to Sarnath were both informative and fun. Thank you once again for your kindness and hospitality...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank althwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We had been a little apprehensive about finding accommadation in Varanasi, as we had heard so many scare stories about how filthly most of the hotels were, but when we booked Aasray and then finally arrived there after a 13 hour train journey, we were so happy with our choice of lodging. After 14 trips to India, visiting many different regions, this was by far one of the best places we have stayed.
Upon arrival, Mr and Mrs Kapur were very welcoming, with a flower garland for each of us and refreshing drink. We had a fantastic breakfast - the first of many amazing meals cooked by Mrs Kapur - and then left to settle into our rooms.
Our room on the ground floor was very spacious and impeccibly clean - with a very large comfortable bed - as was the bathroom, which had little extras such as shampoo and toothpaste, which was a lovely touch. The room which our two friends occupied on the first floor was equally as nice with a great new modern bathroom.
We did the sunrise tour with Mr Kapur, but our highlight was a trip we took with him out into the countryside to visit a village he had connections with and also to a school. It was an amazing day and one we won't forget.
They were fantastic hosts and their knowledge and company was extremely interesting.
Our trip to Varanasi was made complete by our stay of three nights at Aashray and we highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Willowkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We finished a two weeks journey through Rajasthan with a 2.5 days/2 nights trip to Varanasi. As all 3-4 star hotels were not well located nor showed any convincing flair, we decided for the homestay in Aashray, also based on the good reviews we had found. We can only recommend everybody to stay with Mr and Mrs Kapur in their house: Two rooms (former children rooms who have meanwhile left home, daughter is also active in tourism (homestays) in Delhi) have been renovated and equipped with an adjoining spacious bathroom. All spotless clean, no water stains in the bathroom nor any wall papers hanging in the room. (We had the one upstairs with a separate entrance from the outside. The other room is adjacent to the families rooms). You stay in a quiet living quarter (the noise from the neighbour, building a stall, was temporarily) with nothing special around. But Location is perfect, ca 15 minutes bicycle Riksha ride (50 Rupee for the Riksha carrying two people!) to the main Ghats, just straight down the road. So no problem to tell the driver, where You want to go. Mr Kapur is a walking lexicon and can give you all insight and info you are open and ready to take. Mrs Kapur is an excellent cook who spoiled us with a huge variety of Indian dishes for breakfast (you won't touch any toast and jam!) and dinner (we did not want to eat anywhere else). Nice gestures at arrival with welcoming tea and flower chain, and with a silk scarf for the lady at departure. Mrs. and Mr. Kapur join You for breakfast and dinner, the rest of the day, You are on Your own, which is a very convenient arrangement. If You want, Mr Kapur organizes boat tours along the ghats at sunrise, logistics to and from airport/train station as well as various tours in and around Varanasi (prices are not the cheapest, but as part of the whole 'package' (with very reasonable priced rooms and meals) it is convenient, You get an informative guide ... and it is no must).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TundB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Varanasi is a place unlike any other, we are very glad that we stayed at Aashray during our time there. Mr. and Mrs. Kapur made their home ours, and after spending hours in and around the city, you kind of really need it. The food Mrs. Kapur makes is delicious, we ended up having lunch and dinner there in addition to the breakfasts which are included with the room. Living with them and getting their perspectives on the city, the environment, the history and the politics also made our visit fun and interesting.

One more thing, we left a couple of small personal items in our room at the Aashray unintentionally at the time of checkout and left the city. Beyond our expectation, Mr. Kapur contacted me the next day and volunteered to mail them to our hotel at the next destination without any charge. And yes, the package was waiting for us when we arrived!

This place is in the middle of the city. Although it is not right on the river, one can easily get to and from all the ghats by Tuktuk for cheap. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No_Boundray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Mr. And Mrs. Kapur were the perfect hosts; they made us feel at home and so welcome. They were so helpful and full of information; we enjoyed the delicious food prepared by Mrs. kapur, every meal we had with them was a feast and every time I mentioned a dish or sweet it magically appeared on the table! Mr. Kapur was very knowledgable and we enjoyed the tours with him. They took us to this great lassi place that served the best lassi we've ever had; they were the greatest hosts and did everything to make our stay with them a memorable one. We highly recommend Aashray to any traveler. Our room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews