We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Family Run Guest House”
Review of Rahul Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rahul Guest House
Ranked #22 of 214 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An Excellent Family Run Guest House”
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Stayed here late December 2010 in one of the deluxe rooms with Ganges view. Room was clean and modern with lovely wet room, although I don't think I would pay for the Ganges view again as it just means the landing outside your front door has a view of the Ganges and not a private balcony as it might be read. Staff were excellent and attentative without being overpowering. Hari is a gem and sorted out some trips for us, although we felt the temple and city tour were a bit over priced. However in saying this, it must be said that we did have the services of a guide as well as a tuk tuk driver and it saved a lot of hassle finding someone ourselves. Some people have dismissed this place due to the distance it is from the main ghats but our opinion is that this was a blessing. The roof terrace is amazing with a decent restaurant, a lovely view down the Ganges and a serene place to chill out away from the continual noise and hussle & bustle of the main part of Varanasi. If like us, you value some home comforts and peaceful rest, I cannot recommend it enough. We would definitely use again if ever we are in Varanasi.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_P_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    118
    38
    11
    4
See reviews for
30
127
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

As you enter the reception area at the charming, family run guest house, a sign above the desk reads "Guest is God", and this is exactly how they make you feel when you visit! The whole family was kind and went out of their way to be helpful, for example, my partner had an upset stomach when we arrived, and the owner immediately drove me to the nearest pharmacy to get medication!
Varanasi is amazing but very chaotic, and Rahul's Guest House is an oasis of calm amongst the madness. Every morning we ate breakfast on their beautiful terrace overlooking the Ganges, watching the mist rise from the river, and at night time, after roaming the town during the day, we would eat dinner on the terrace, listening to the bells and chants and music of the town, and watching as the town was once more enveloped in mist. Magical. Also, some of the best food I ate was in their own family-run restaurant. The food is really cheap, lovingly made and utterly delicious! They have a variety of rooms at different prices, but all are beautifully clean and calming, with proper toilets, showers and power-points.
The family also organised a sunrise boat trip on the Ganges, and a trip to Bodh Guya - both of which tourists can often easily be ripped off for, but they provided excellent, reasonably priced service.
I would recommend this guest house again and again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FayeLana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Rahul's guest house, we can recommend staying there. The rooms are nicely decorated, some even with Ganghes-view. The staff is very friendly and nice, which made the stay perfectly confortable.
Unfortunately the location is not perfect, the Assi-Ghat is a 10 minutes walk away, the main Ghats around 20 minutes.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KA1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I stayed with my partner there in December 2010 and it was great. Like other reviews have said, it is a bit out of Varanasi, at the southernmost part of the Ghats but it is easy to catch a tout tout around. It was also good because sleep quality improved!

The sheet were clean and room service was good but hot water was a problem, and they ended up having to give us keys to another room to use the shower- the hot water is also pretty limited.

The best thing about the Rahul Guest House is the rooftop restaurant with views of the Ganges and good food. The chef is very friendly and often comes out to chat! Id stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natwithabackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

This was one of the nicest places I stayed in India. The family running the place was extremely helpful and I had a good room, with a view of the Ganges, warm water, very clean. I loved sitting on the rooftop and meeting fellow travelers, looking over at the river. A number of reviewers have complained that this guesthouse is away from the action, but I thought that was a plus considering how dirty and exasperating (and, yes, impressive) Varanasi can be. You can walk easily down the ghats from the hostel easily in any case. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiuseppeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We were planning to stay only 2 nights, but eventually we stayed for 6 nights. The place and room felt like home and the recently renovated room was better than a lot of hotelrooms in Europe. When we saw the room we thought it was a deluxe room, but it turned out to be the standard room! Spotless clean room, toilet paper, big and small towels, soap and a great rooftop view of the Ganga with free wifi!
The food was fresh and tasteful, you should try the cheese pakora, it's great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FritsenWytske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

My friends and I had a very nice stay at the Rahul Guest House. The owner took very good care of us. He arranged everything for us including our boat tours and morning temple tour. For the money, this is a great value. Really, the only downside is the location, which may not be a bad thing considering the craziness in Varanasi central. If you need to get somewhere, transportation is inexpensive. I'd rather have peace and quiet as my personal preference. The food is excellent, especially the chili paneer. The view from the roof is awesome. The rooms and clean and well maintained. As for the power outages, I have one question: where in India can you find consistent power? No where. Overall, a great place to experience Varanasi!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemoon4057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahulguesthouse, Owner at Rahul Guest House, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear Sir, Thank You For A Nice RevIew. Have A Nice Trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#25 of 79 in Varanasi
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#15 of 79 in Varanasi
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 79 in Varanasi
2,087 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sita Guest House
Hotel Sita Guest House
#31 of 214 in Varanasi
343 reviews
1.6 mi away
Somit Paying Guest House
Somit Paying Guest House
#9 of 214 in Varanasi
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rahul Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rahul Guest House

Property: Rahul Guest House
Address: N1/15 Rahul Guest House D - 10 | ( Near - Ravidas Park ), Varanasi 221005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 214 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rahul Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rahul Guest House is walking distance from Assi ghat, Monky Temple, Durga Temple, Manas Mandir Temple and Banaras Hindu University. Guest House located on the bank of River Ganga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Rahul Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rahul Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing