We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place!”
Review of Rahul Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rahul Guest House
Ranked #24 of 222 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very nice view of Ganges, nice top roof restaurant, rooms clean and comfortable, quiet, friendly and helpful stuff, 15 minutes by moto-rickshaw from the centre. There is nothing interesting around hotel. I would come back there for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 295 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

the roof top is amazing you can see the view of entire city as well and river the family is very nice and staff is very helpful, rooms are also very clean and comfortable with big bathrooms , very peaceful in the city like varanasi , the pick up is must for the girl traveller or people travelling alone
i recommend this place

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

PRO
> deluxe rooms was VERY nice and cozy, with AC, TV and a big and nice bathroom. Extremely Clean (1600rs). you rarely find this in Varanasi.
> owner and staff are very helpful and nice people, they are good hosts, I appreciated that.
> pick up and drop from airport/station is at fair prices. rickshaw to railway is 150rs, airport 450rs). the owner came personally to pick me up at the railway station...impressive
> restaurant is on rooftop (but u wont see much, besides the ganges). food is ok.

CONS
> this hotel is 15/20 mins south of Assi Ghats, which is the southest ghats of all... this means that if you want to visit old town and the main ghats (such as the cremation ghats) you will have to walk A LOT (45 mins) or take a rickshaw). Consider this carefully
> building is under renewal, so it doesn't look great... and in the morning it gets noisy

Choose well!!!! especially for the location concern!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pescantini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This guesthouse seems like an up-and-coming place and we certainly enjoyed it. The panoramic view of the river and the entire city from the rooftop was stunningly peaceful and cannot be beat. The family and staff who run the place were very nice, the food pretty decent and the rooms are very clean. The hot water was inconsistent, but they are working on adding more rooms and improving the building, so that should hopefully improve with time. Overall, it is a great place to get away from the craziness of the rest of Varanasi. We would recommend this place, however, only if you do not mind being a little ways away from the ghats. It is at least a 15-minute walk to Assi Ghat via some dirt roads through some makeshift housing, but know that we felt safe walking during both the day and at night. Also, only about half the tuk-tuks we used knew where the hotel was located. The staff was very helpful, however, for arranging boat tours (when the water level permits) and for transport to the train station (about 150 Rs).

If you are interested in a tour guide and transportation, we recommend Mr. Raj Kumar (rajkumar_iway@yahoo.com). Raj provided us with transport to the guesthouse and took us on a full day tour of Sarnath, a silk fabrics store, the burning ghat, and the ceremonial ghat for 900 Rs. He is an honest guy who speaks English very well, knows how to get around Varanasi, and has great stories about the many travelers from all over the world he has encountered. Both the guesthouse and meeting Raj were highlights of our trip to Varanasi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdtoad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This place was probably one of the best places to stay when in Varanasi. We had a pick up from the train station which is an absolut must considering the hustlers around the station with their rikshaws. The owner and his father were so welcoming and provided us with all the things we desired. The organised a whole tour for us considering we only had a day because of train delays at a reasonable price. Breakfast and food in the rooftop restaurant was spot on and very tasty. The room was clean, spacious and we got a free heater which was really welcome as nights were very cold in January.

I guess I don't have anything negative to say ...

Would definitely go back here if we were going to Varanasi again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

As mentioned in the title of this review. Rahul Guest House is not close to the things happening in Varanasi. But on the other end we found it most of the times quite relaxing to walk back to it after a day/evening amongst the hustle and bustle of the town.
Rooms were adequate, breakfast good, management and staff very friendly.
There are some big renovations happening but we had no complaints about any noise. When these alterations are done, this place will look fantastic with a new rooftop restaurant and - as we understand - the addition of some family rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndonesiaNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This guesthouse was an absolutely wonderful place to stay in Varanasi. Despite the construction happening to get ready for the high season, everything was quiet and calm. Our room was newly updated and extremely clean. The location was perfect. Other reviews claim that it is a 20-minute walk from Assi Ghat, but that is simply not true. It is no more than 10. We had to cut our trip short and they did not hesitate to give us a refund for the nights we did not use and helped arrange an airport taxi. Will definitely return to Varanasi and this guesthouse in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rorybbellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#23 of 80 in Varanasi
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#13 of 80 in Varanasi
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Gupta Inn
Hotel Gupta Inn
#31 of 80 in Varanasi
93 reviews
1.8 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
2.8 mi away
Hotel Varuna
Hotel Varuna
#46 of 80 in Varanasi
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rahul Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rahul Guest House

Address: N1/15 Rahul Guest House D - 10 | ( Near - Ravidas Park ), Varanasi 221005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range: $13 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rahul Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rahul Guest House is walking distance from Assi ghat, Monky Temple, Durga Temple, Manas Mandir Temple and Banaras Hindu University. Guest House located on the bank of River Ganga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Rahul Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rahul Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing