We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautifully restored hotels in India”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nadesar Palace Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2011

One of my main reasons to go back to Varanasi will be to stay at Nadesar Palace. It is the exquisitely restored guest house of the Maharaja of Varanasi - with a limited number of rooms, each individually decorated. There isn't a moment when one is not marvelling at the finesse of this Indian way of life. If you love beautifully restored antique interiors, you will wish you could buy or copy everything here - from the wallpaper, to the bevelled mirrors to the canopies around the four-poster beds, to the balconies and flower arrangements. The style here is am extension of and a deep appreciation for the Benares designs that one used to see in hand-woven textiles in the past. And one would need to look far and wide in the cloth markets in town to find such examples of this work. This is another thing that takes you back Varanasi - the heart-stopping textiles. I found the hotel restaurant prices steep, but appreciated the personal attantion that we got from the chef...and his sublime jackfruit curry, which was a special request. I do believe that tipping staff should come from a communal pool, so that one doesn't get preyed on by individual staff members - it's a little distasteful in an otherwise superb hotel experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Nadesar Palace Varanasi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 321 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

A really relaxing place to stay. Beautiful old building with interior furnishings that made you feel like you had gone back in time to the Colonial days. Great service and lovely food, although it is not cheap by any means. But we felt we got value for money in everything except the packed lunch which we requested on the day we left. Perhaps the concept confused them but all we got was a barely edible sandwich and a packet of Lays crisps each. Totally at odds with the quality up until then. Whilst the hotel is set in it's own grounds, it is next to the Taj and we had quite a lot of noise from a Samsung conference one evening.
However the bedrooms and public areas were both beautiful and I would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to have a relaxing place to escape to whilst in Varanasi.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dssn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

There are only ten rooms in property, a former palace, which you enter via the main taj hotel (gateway). Various royalty have stayed there over the years and appeared to be the best hotel in Varanasi. Its a very nice old colonial type property and very friendly / helpful staff. The ten rooms and gated community (seperate to the Gateway hotel) make it feel very exclusive - even though your surrounded by the noisy city

There is small menu choice, reflecting fact that very few people stay more than two nights

Location: in the city suburbs, good access to the Ganges (will always involve some walking through the old town) and buddha sight short drive away

Extensive gardens a great plus, an oasis in a busy city. Remember to use first floor lounge

Room Tip: Remember to use first floor lounge
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riddler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

It has to be said that this is probably the best hotel in Varanasi and the position is good. We had a very large suite overlooking the grounds and swimming pool. The bed linen was poor and we were told that they had ordered Frette linen but it would take another year, the towels were grey and poor quality, furnishings were good but not excellent. Pillows were poor as was the bed quality. The food was a joke, served cold and when we tried to order wine we were told that out of the 5 choices of red European wines, they only had two, one of which was iro £1,000 (Petrus I think) There is only one restuarant although the hotel next door (owned by Taj but not of the same standard, rather package) does have 2 restaurants. The pool was nice and the spa was fab, as was the yoga teacher. No balcony (private) for any of the suites, you have to use a communal balcony. The grounds are not finished.

We spoke to the management about our concerns, they agreed they have some way to go with training and facilities - this begs the question as to why they are part of the Taj group and willing to sully their reputation. Frankly not good enough to charge top dollar and offer 3 star service.

Perhaps time will iron out the wrinkles but I would only book a basic room and then maybe you won't feel so disappointed at what you get for your money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biffoBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Only ten rooms in a converted palace (?), redone with superior taste and style. Had a bit of trouble booking our rooms; they got the date and number of nights wrong, but we were successful in the end. There were probably more staff than guests, and they tried so hard to accomodate us the service was almost intrusive. Fun to check in when they blow conch shells to announce your arrival and sprinkle you with flower petals. Quite a change from Varanasi's crowded little alleys and lanes.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank will279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Staying at this small palace was one of the highlights of our trip to India. We felt like guests in a beautiful home. Varanasi is a very intense, chaotic , and fascinating place. It was a pleasure to return to this gorgeous hotel and sit by the lovely pool. The staff was friendly and attentive, especially the charming "sous chef" Sumalya Sarker. The food that he served was absolutely divine. Yet, more importantly, he was so kind and so charming that we so enjoyed our time with him. He not only cares about the guests and their comfort but he is interested in helping the local community.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

I am sure this is the best hotel in town and it is great to come back from the busy river to the large gardens which provide an oasis of calm. The staff like everywhere else was very friendly and attentive. The big let down as really our room - Laos. By now means was it airy, painted in light pink or provided a view of the gardens. The room was in dark green, it had 2 or 3 small windows which overlooked the main terrace where the guests assembled for breakfast and dinner (in effect the kitchen door was right next to our room). curtains do thus almost completely cover the windows and I suspect a lack of ventilation explained the smell/stuffiness of the room. The bathroom on the other hand was bright and very spacious.

The food also appeared extremely pricy and they really, really struggled with Earl Grey tea.

Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? I suspect if you want this type of luxury then there may not be much alternative in Varanasi. I strongly suggest you ask for confirmation for a room on the first floor rather than ground.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller9182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.5 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
3.0 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 79 in Varanasi
1,454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#5 of 79 in Varanasi
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nadesar Palace Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nadesar Palace Varanasi

Address: Nadesar Palace Grounds, Varanasi 221002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 224 Specialty Lodging in Varanasi
Price Range: $476 - $1,394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nadesar Palace Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nadesar Palace Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadesar Palace Varanasi Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing