We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monu Family Paying Guest House
Ranked #11 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Varanasi
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic family stay”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Monu met us at the station and immediately we could feel a bond of warmth and friendship. My daughter jumped onto the back of his motorbike and the rest went by tuk tuk to his home. Colorful and bright. We spent two nights and three days here. Monu was our guide through Varanasi, he took us all along the Ganges River explaining about the different ghats. The Monsoon kept us dodging downpours but, this did not dampen our spirits as he took us for "the best apple pie in the world." We had supper that evening at his home, a lovely tasteful thali was served to his by his wife. Our days that followed saw us take a trip with Monu on the Ganges by boat, spending three hours listening to him explaining about the significance of the river and being witness to the activities taking place along its banks. One could only feel filled with awe at experiencing this. We visited a number of other landmarks, The Golden Temple being one of them. Monu was most helpful in arranging the cheapest flights for us for Jaipur to Goa and making sure about bookings at our other end. We arrived as strangers but I can truly say we left as friends. I have been in contact with him while traveling through India and I can highly recommend his guesthouse. Abrie Pepler, South Africa.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Abrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    55
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
62
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Varadero, Cuba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Super Place!

Stayed here on many occasions, you just can't beat the family feel and atmosphere!

Mono is an amazing musician and he and his family do their utmost very best to satisfy your needs!

Really can't wait to go back and recommend this guest house very highly!

Room Tip: Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HootyORear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Located at the very heart of the old city of Varanasi, near to any important place, what a peaceful stay I had at this family's guesthouse.... The owners are friendly, helpful... and French speaking, thank you Swhetank!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattRimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Varanasi is a tricky place when it comes to accomodation. Monu Family's guesthouse is a good enough option. The room was super basic, just a bed and a fan pretty much. The blanket looked as if it hasn't been cleaned ever, but Varanasi is so magical I didn't even bother. Location is really really good, you just need to memorise how to find it in that maze of narrow alleys. Would I stay there again? Probably not, but it was good enough!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernardoAraujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wieliczka, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very nice lodge with very intresting painted colorfull interior. Very clean, very helpfull stuff and very good location just 200-300meters from Man Mandir and Dasaswamedh Ghat. The only problem is to reach Guest House during holidays when roads are close and you need to walk few minutes from taxi dropoff place. Heartly recommend if you wanna be close to Ganga River and heart of Old Varanasi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a lovely stay with the Monu family. The guesthouse is impeccably clean, and the rooms are beautiful and private. After the crazy days running around in Varanasi, this was a wonderful retreat for us to relax and have some quiet. Also, the wifi is good and works in your room!!! The family is funny, warm and incredibly helpful (they helped us book an extra night at a neighbors guesthouse because they were full). We would definitely stay here again and wish the family success and happiness! Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnieluvkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I first happened upon this lovely place in 2008 when I was planning to stay in Varanasi for a few days for my birthday. I had a relatively new guide book and in it was a tiny review saying how sweet and lovely it was..I also wanted to study Hindi and there were lessons on site. I planned to stay a couple of nights to see how it was and then if I did nt feel comfortable to spend my birthday down near the ghats.
When I arrived there was great excitement in the household as it was their first review in a guide book..the taxi driver didn't want to leave me there and As is the custom in Varanasi was suggesting other 'better' places. But as soon as I was welcomed into the house I knew this was the place for me.
Monu is quite an amazing young man..and back then he was even younger. He has such wisdom for his years and is very devoted to making the guest house the best it can be. is English ir really excellent and over the years we have had many philosophical discussions over a cup of his Mums lovely chai!
Monus mum and Dad Madhu and Indu are lovely people and although their English may not be as fluent as their son they are lovely to talk to and spend time with. I learnt so much about Varanasi from them both and Indu made me some delicious food.I really felt on my first stay like one of the family and if you really want to immerse yourself in Indian life then this is the place to do it....if you are just sight seeing and going out all the time then you will miss a lot of this.It depends what you are looking for in India.
I ended up staying for much longer than I had planned and would have stayed longer if I could! For me I like to stay in one place in India for a while and really get to know it and I felt this was possible here. As a solo female traveller I always felt safe and can honestly say thanks to this family's good advice I have never been ripped off in Varanasi. I also met a wonderful Baba with Madhu whose kind sweet smile and amazing energy I will never forget.
If you want to really experience the visceral reality of old Town Varanasi alongside its other worldly beauty I would definitely recommend Monu Paying Family Guest House.
I have returned a few times now and was here for one month in 2010 and every time I leave I shed a few tears..this family go that extra mile to help you have appositive experience of India if you are open to it and they are very generous and kind too.
I could write so much more about this beautiful hidden gem but I will save it for my blog!,,

Room Tip: I always have had the big room on the roof...it is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
1,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 73 in Varanasi
2,041 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#13 of 73 in Varanasi
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Teerth Guest House
Teerth Guest House
#107 of 206 in Varanasi
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kanha Paying Guest House
Kanha Paying Guest House
#19 of 206 in Varanasi
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monu Family Paying Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monu Family Paying Guest House

Property: Monu Family Paying Guest House
Address: Monu Family Paying Guest House Kalika Gali | Shri Kashi Vishwanath Temple, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Monu Family Paying Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests !! You are welcome to Monu Family Paying Guest House, a place where you feel safe, welcomed and happy as you choose your stay in a family homestay where you learn about Indian mid class lifestyle. We are not a star hotels but we give try to give you whatever we can do at our best level. we have got 5 rooms only for our guests , 3 double rooms and 2 single rooms. Double rooms have attach bathrooms with hot and cold working shower with free wifi in rooms. The single rooms have shared bathroom. We offer different activities like COOKING CLASSES , MUSIC LESSONS, YOGA LESSONS, HINDI LESSONS, MASSAGE , TOURS OF LOCAL SIGHTS, TOUR GUIDES , TRAVEL DESK , LAUNDRY SERVICE , CAR HIRE , PICKUP SERVICE , TRAIN AND FLIGHT TICKETS, WALKING TOURS , BOAT RIDE ETC. Come and stay with us !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Monu Family Paying Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monu Family Paying Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing