We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Varanasi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monu Family Paying Guest House
Ranked #16 of 236 Specialty Lodging in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I've been here for one night, but I had the chance to experience all the comforts of the structure and the kindness of the owners. The guest house has a very good location, just inside the old city so very close to the most famous ghats: you are right in the heart of the city. The house is extremely nice, all the rooms are very comfortable and colorful and, most important: VERY CLEAN! and this is not that common in India, especially in the old part of Varanasi. I took a single room with a share bathroom that was very clean too, and with provision of hot water and toilet paper. The house is always open, a member of the owner's family is always there and you get your room key so that you can go in and out at any time you want.
There's free wifi and ifyou don't have a laptop you can use the fouse's computer at very low fares.
The owner and his family are extremely nice and ready to help you: I had troubles with my airplane tickets and they helped me to fix the whole thing, the owner called himself to the airport for me. They also organize free pick ups and dropping (it's free from the train station).
All this... at a very cheap price! probably the cheapest in that area of the town!
So overwall I had an amazing experience, I recommend this place to all travellers going to Varanasi!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hildita11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinizuli, Owner at Monu Family Paying Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback..
We appreciate your compliments and welcome you back again in future.
Warm regards
Monu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 178 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Many reviews mention Monu specifically, but for us, his parents were the stars of the show. His great big jovial father greeted me by name as we were led up the dark, narrow, alley where the hotel is situated. Keep in mind that the power happened to be out, so usually you can see just fine, and it's very safe. I loved the way this place was tucked away...it really feels like a very old city in Europe, or to me, of all places, Hanoi. I loved it.

You are away from the hustle and bustle of the busy streets, and the family is just wonderful. We stayed in the big and medium rooms up top, and one of the small rooms on the next floor down.

This place is great because when the power goes out, you still have wifi, a fan, and at least one light to get by. Much more than can be said for other places. The decor and bright, multi-colored wall colors were just dazzling. Wifi worked VERY well, though here's a tip for you iphone users: Each time your phone screen turns off due to no use, you will have to turn your wifi off and then on again to use the Internet, even though it will say you were connected the whole time. It was this way with both of our phones for some reasons.

Largest room is HUGE, with a bed to match. She loved it, but I felt like we didn't even need that much space. The medium room up there was perfect size I though, though the Internet didn't reach us in that room most of the time. Both of those rooms have great window placement and are nice and cool. The little rooms one level down are a great value (though they all are, really), but can be a bit hot. With the fan and an occasional open door with curtain in front of it, we were fine. The wifi is best there, and you can enjoy the cool breeze and sit at a table right outside your room and read/work. Tip: Don't leave anything unattended on that table - a monkey came down and stole my Taiwan tea while I was in the washroom for 30 seconds!

As for the family, very charming and trustworthy. They have a very small number of rooms, and keep a close watch on who is in and out of there. Totally secure. Mosquito issues were minimal.

Gold star.

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IDreamedOfThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

No glaring negatives at all. The family run feel of this place really just makes the experience. They family is there to really look after you, and they go above and beyond to do so. They got me a power adapter when I realized mine didn't fit, they arranges anything I wanted with enthusiasm and gave great advice etc etc.

The room itself was excellent for the price. Very spatious, clean, "fresh" with all the colour and decor, couldn't ask for more. The location is perfect, literally in the thick of the action but very quiet at night, which was great. Although if you're a first time traveller to Varanasi, please ensure you accept the offer to arrange a transfer, it takes a couple of days to get your bearings in that labyrinth of alleys and it's extremely difficult to find your way to the guest house (as it is to all hotels in the area).

Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jbuz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinizuli, Owner at Monu Family Paying Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback..
We appreciate your compliments and welcome you back again in future.
Warm regards
Monu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

このホテルは日本人のみなさんが大変高評価なので期待して行ったのですが、ほんと一番ダメなホテルでした。1泊400ルピーでベッドは硬くて寝れないし、窓はなくて喚起するプロペラだけでめちゃくちゃ暑く、ゴキブリは出てくるは、22時以降はすべての水が出ないという謎の仕様です。
帰りの鉄道の切符を予約したのですが、2Aと言い、相手が1500ルピーと言ったので払いました。しかし、手配されたチケットは1054ルピーで、しかもクラスは3Aになっていました。抗議したところ、3Aも2Aも変わらんよと言われ、じゃあ残額返せよ、というとい「いやいやこれは4人を経由して予約して、みんなに100ルピー払ったからもうないよと言われました。はあ!?とだからみなさんチケットの予約はできる限り自分でしてください。一旦払ったお金は決し返ってきません。
てかここに高評価してる人はホントどんな神経しているのか本当に腹立たしい気持ちです。
トリップアドバイザーは二度と信用しないと決めました。

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank april000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

It's like staying at your family's house...monu, madho, and indira really become your family in Varanasi...anything you ask/want, they will help you...really recommended place for budget travelers :))

Room Tip: Top floor room is definitely more sound-proof :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinizuli, Owner at Monu Family Paying Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comment.
We welcome you again in future..
Warm regards
Monu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We trawled through reviews on T.A so confused on where to stay. We only had a few days and wanted to see the ghats but reviews for many of the accomodation options were really mixed. Finally decided on Monu's and, wow, what a great choice! :)

We got prompt replies to our emails and got confirmation about their free train-station pick-up (such a bonus!) We arrived in the early morning train from Agra and was welcomed by a friendly smile. We couldn't check into our room so early but went to find somewhere for breakfast and returned later.

Had a lovely few days. We asked a lot of questions and was given honest, helpful information...and the location of a great sweet shop down the road! :)

The power often goes out (not just Monu's, but all of Varanasi) so the rooms can get quite hot with the fan not working.

NOTE: We visited on 6 September 2012 after a heavy rain in Varanasi. There was flooding which made walking along the river impossible. To get to the various ghats you have to weave in and out of the streets which can get quite confusing (and tiring) at times. Still worth a visit though! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MannyOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

If your in Varanassi in the hot season I would advise a hotel that at minimum has a generator and preferably an AC. This guest house had a generator which meant that when the power cuts ( which it does a few times daily) there is a fan and light in each room that remain on.
Its a great location from the ghats, in the midst of all the winding alleys that make up the old city. There is a restaurant next door that plays ridiculously loud music - so if your not a Boney. M. fan then ask for a room at the back! Room was really big, bathroom had a great shower.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,221 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#22 of 80 in Varanasi
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 80 in Varanasi
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Banaras Paying Guest house
Banaras Paying Guest house
#3 of 224 in Varanasi
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Rise Lodge
Sun Rise Lodge
#7 of 236 in Varanasi
137 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nadesar Palace Varanasi
Nadesar Palace Varanasi
#1 of 236 in Varanasi
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monu Family Paying Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monu Family Paying Guest House

Address: D 8/4 Monu Family Paying Guest House Kalika Gali | Shri Kashi Vishwanath Temple, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 236 Specialty Lodging in Varanasi
Price Range: $10 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Monu Family Paying Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests !! You are welcome to Monu Family Paying Guest House, a place where you feel safe, welcomed and happy as you choose your stay in a family homestay where you learn about Indian mid class lifestyle. We are not a star hotels but we give try to give you whatever we can do at our best level. we have got 5 rooms only for our guests , 3 double rooms and 2 single rooms. Double rooms have attach bathrooms with hot and cold working shower with free wifi in rooms. The single rooms have shared bathroom. We offer different activities like COOKING CLASSES , MUSIC LESSONS, YOGA LESSONS, HINDI LESSONS, MASSAGE , TOURS OF LOCAL SIGHTS, TOUR GUIDES , TRAVEL DESK , LAUNDRY SERVICE , CAR HIRE , PICKUP SERVICE , TRAIN AND FLIGHT TICKETS, WALKING TOURS , BOAT RIDE ETC. Come and stay with us !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Monu Family Paying Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monu Family Paying Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing