We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roof top restaurant with great view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brown Bread Bakery

Brown Bread Bakery
Ranked #13 of 234 Restaurants in Varanasi
Price range: $1 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Brown Bread Bakery and Organic Food P.Ltd is the very first organic bakery with restaurant in India with branches in Varanasi and Delhi. Since 2015 we started also a Vegan restaurant Varanasi. The company supports the projects of Learn for Life by using the profits for funding the school and to provide fair working conditions for all the staff. We use as many organic ingredients as possible for our products. All our bakery items are made from different kinds of organic grains which are always grinded freshly. The grains, the rice and the lentils are produced by certified small farmers which we visit and check regularly.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Roof top restaurant with great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stopped by this bakery one morning after a yoga class which we had nearby so it was a bit tiring to climb so many floors to get to the roof top but the effort was worth it. I took mango lassi and my friend coffee lassi. Mango was excellent but coffee one was really tasting bad. Luckily they changed it without charging anything more. Food is all great there. We had banana pancakes but I saw people at other tables really enjoying their food too. At lower floors you can find several shops with clothes, books and other souvenirs for reasonable prices and a good thing is that they give some percentage of their sales to charity.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    246
    127
    60
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, peaceful atmosphere, good cause”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

As has been said by many, Brown Bread Bakery has quality food and is a nice escape from Varanasi. It is a little bit more expensive, but worth it given the cause and quality. Most importantly, it has cheese! If you've been away from home for a while, you won't be disappointed.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mkaemingk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Valued Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Dont missed it..

Value for money and worth spending..

all kind of foods are there..

was been there 3 times in 4 days ..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amarpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

When you come to Varanasi (especially if you come from a place that is fairly relaxed, or from the country) you really just search for quiet places to hide...and Brown Bread Bakery is a great place to enjoy, and take a breath. Because its mentioned in the Lonely planet guide, it's a nice tourist hang, if you want to meet fellow travellers. The food was really tasty, it was fairly slow, but if you bring a book, or are with a friend, or meet some people there, the wait is fine... The food quality and the cause are the main attractions though. They support their community, and provide fresh organics...pretty great place :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good whole food (if you got bored of indian food they serve nice continental food) in the nice rooftop terrace and very careful service but the real reason why it's a must go is that they help children to go to school and women to work with all the social security. To help them but something at the very good shop at the first and ground floor; a very nice guy will help you choose high quality pashminas and indian dresses.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank m_perulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Bread Bakery also viewed

Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
 
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
 

Been to Brown Bread Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing