We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“continental food option”
Review of Brown Bread Bakery

Brown Bread Bakery
Ranked #13 of 251 Restaurants in Varanasi
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: German, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery
Description: Brown Bread Bakery and Organic Food P.Ltd is the very first organic bakery with restaurant in India with branches in Varanasi and Delhi. Since 2015 we started also a Vegan restaurant Varanasi. The company supports the projects of Learn for Life by using the profits for funding the school and to provide fair working conditions for all the staff. We use as many organic ingredients as possible for our products. All our bakery items are made from different kinds of organic grains which are always grinded freshly. The grains, the rice and the lentils are produced by certified small farmers which we visit and check regularly.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was a good option for having continental food in the old Varanasi. The rooftop view is interesting.

Thank Marcio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
There are newer reviews for Brown Bread Bakery
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 521 of 834 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

We all really enjoyed the terrific assortment of freshly baked breads, cheeses, fruits, eggs, etc. at the breakfast buffet. Relaxing roof top restaurant is terrific for hanging out and an oasis from the craziness of Varanasi streets.

Thank travelingandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Brown Bread Bakery deserves the good comments which it receives. We visited the restaurant three or four times while staying in old Varanasi this past week. The food was very good. The staff were considerate and professional. The outside terrace on the top of the building was a great break from the upheaval and chaos below on the street. The prices were fair at around $4 per person for a pasta dish. I also had a Tibetan herbal tea, porridge, and brown bread toast that was especially tasty for breakfast. It is true what people say about this place. I would rate it highly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeffrey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

First of all, don't go to the fake Brown Bread Bakery! Make sure when you're at the bakery it's a very tall 5 story or so building with the rooftop terrace! If it's not, you're at the fake one. The people at the fake one like to stand outside and lure you in before you reach the real one. We went to both, and the fake one is a waste. The real one, was nice...however, I didn't see what all the hype was about. Very slow service. Server seemed disinterested. And the food was average. It took nearly 20 minutes to serve me my cinnamon roll...and no, it's not made to order. We also ordered some of their cheese and thought they forgot about it because it didn't arrive until after we finished our main course (about 30-40 minutes after we ordered it). Oh, they also 1) gave us warm milk when we asked for cold and 2) after waiting gave us the wrong kind of cheese. If we knew the money wasn't going somewhere to help we honestly wouldn't recommend it...food & service was mediocre at best. But, maybe if we went at another time it could have been better? Oh, and last note...if you're allergic to bee's - be warned - the roof top terrace was full of them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michavar, General Manager at Brown Bread Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Customer,
our main concern is to provide fresh and healthy food to our customers. Several times per day we deliver fresh bakery products from our nearby bakery to the restaurant, probably you ordered just when the new stock arrived and after receiving the waiter had to carry it up the 5 floors to the roof top.
If the customer doesn t order otherwise we serve the cheese after the main course, probably that confused you.
We can prevent bees to fly over our roof top terrace, that risk you have to take always when you want to sit in the open. From morning to night customers sit on the roof and we never had any incidents with bees, as you can see on all the other reviews.
If you are not satisfied or have any complains please write it down on our feedback paper or contact me, Michael Schmid 9792420450.
Thank you for your review, we always try to do our best to satisfy our customers
Micha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Had Breakfast and dinner here several times. Great Nepali staff , Food is very very good , value is ok, service a little slow on some things but who cares. Must go. I prefer the roof to inside but the music is groovy inside at night if your into that.
Be aware there is a copy cat setup a few shops DOWN the lane on the other side. The real one has a clothing shop beside it with an entrance into it from inside the stair well. You understand when your there. Enjoy!

Thank timphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Bread Bakery also viewed

Varanasi, Varanasi District
Varanasi, Varanasi District
 
Varanasi, Varanasi District
 
Varanasi, Varanasi District
Varanasi, Varanasi District
 

Been to Brown Bread Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing